Question about Nikon LS-9000 Film Scanner

1 Answer

No thumbnail preview

The 9000 scanner won't show the thumbnails, when i place a negative in the machine - it just shows a green arrow which says switch thumbnails display mode and then doesn't show any when u click on it! i have been using this machine now with photoshop for about 3 years and never had a problem before and i have checked all the settings in the prefrence section and they appear to be the same.
does anyone know how i can fix this problem?

Posted by on

  • mark296 Nov 10, 2008

    we fixed it temporarily - ie for a week - by de installing the scanner and then re installing it which worked - now its gone wrong again.

    But it may work for you on a more permanent basis?

    you could try that

    Mark

  • mark296 Nov 10, 2008

    thanx for that brian - will keep you posted on it

    ciao

    mark

×

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Sorry , I don't know the answer to your problem , But I am experiencing sort of the same problem. When I place an image in the scanner , I do not see any preview thumbnails at all. I also do not see any of the preliminary questions as to the film format size or single or batch scanning. Nothing like that at all. I have called the tech's at Nikon and the scanner passes their over the phone examination. It appears my scanner is not been recognized by my computer ( I have tried both ) . Nikon suggested replacing the firewire cable which I did and still no preview thumbnails. I believe the problem is in the firewire interface panel ( where you plug the scanner in ) and I think this is where your problem lies also. It is a simple fix 5 maybe 6 screws. Getting the part number has been my problem. Nikon wants you to send in the entire scanner and have a flat $400 service charge . I'm sure the part is less than $400. Any ideas as to where to get the parts catologue ?? Let me know.

Posted on Nov 10, 2008

  • asianbeer Nov 10, 2008

    Thanx for the thought. I tried that several times . I even deleted any existing Nikon 9000 scanner software and downloaded everything as I did when I first hooked up the scanner when I purchased it. It still didn't work. My electronics expert described the manner in which these circuit boards are made. They are melted together and over time , these very light solders can break resulting in a non functioning unit. To have it tested costs about $100/hr and it may take 2 - 3 hours to locate the broken solder and then try to repair it. The cost of a new board is ???? but considering the machine cost $2000 , I can't see it costing any more than a couple of hundred dollars and , ... it is such an easy fix - 6 screws. The problem is getting the part from Nikon - they like to fix all their scanners inhouse and have a minium charge of $400 plus shipping. My scanner is not on warranty anymore - if yours is sending it to Nikon may be the answer. Have u tried a new forewire cable ?? And a new computer or different computer to see if the problem still persists. Finally , call the Nikon service department and they may be able to ID the problem. Keep me posted. Brian


×

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Thumbnail not showing in vista


http://www.technipages.com/vista-enabledisable-thumbnail-preview-icons.html

Feb 28, 2011 | Computers & Internet

2 Answers

How do I remove a tumbnail from a photo?


Once you've added you're photos, you can set a different photo to act as thumbnail (the programme automatically chooses the first photo/slide, indicated by a little green ticked box sign).
To change the thumbnail to a different photo, highlight the photo you want as thumbnail by clicking it - the frame will change to yellow - and then click on the green ticked box command ("Set Thumbnail") at the top of the window.
You cannot alltogether delete the thumbnail, because every slide show you create needs to have a thumbnail to link the slide show to the menu screen at the start of your DVD. So, on your menu screen there will always be at least one thumbnail. (The black thumbnail that appears in the middle of your screen when you first open the programme, is a "place holder". It needs to be there and it cannot be deleted. Once you've created a slide show, it will be replaced with the photo you have chosen to be the thumbnail. Every time you create a new slide show, a new thumbnail will be added to your menu screen. The position of thumbnails can be changed, using the second ("Edit") Tab.

You will find a User's Guide on the install disc. It can be accessed by inserting the install disc and clicking on the relevant link, or you can right click on your CD/DVD drive (in "My Computer") and then click on "Explore" to look for it on the install disc - it's a pdf file.

From: 11407336.

Jan 27, 2011 | Individual SlideShow Expressions

1 Answer

I am having problems scanning 35mm slides, I seem


you have chosen normal preview
1. change it to thumbnail preview
2. or click on "All" button in normal preview
so you would scan multiple negatives.

increase your dpi setting or your target area or both
I am also scanning color negatives at 3600dpi and 48bit. file is large but quality is very very good...
Mehboob Riaz, SIPA, Lahore-Pakistan

Jul 08, 2010 | Epson Perfection V700 PHOTO Flatbed...

1 Answer

My aperture 2 library wont load, HELP! I have


This article on the apple website may help you

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2945

Mar 09, 2010 | Apple Aperture 2.0 for PC, Mac...

1 Answer

When I try to scan one 4x5 positive sheet film it gives me 6 thumbnail pieces rather then one image?


Open Epson Scan and select Professional Mode. Turn off the Auto Thumbnail option which if it is not on the main page then check the small drop down menus next to the Scan/Preview options. Once that is off do a preview and the in the preview window manually draw a marquee around the area you need.

Feb 02, 2010 | Epson Perfection 4870 PHOTO Scanner

1 Answer

Canon 8400F scanner refuses to scan 12 negatives at a time. Preview shows them all, but the "select all frames" is grayed out, and refuses to function. I can scan manually one negative at a time among...


Check to see if the "Thumbnail Display" is on or off (first icon on the toolbar in the ScanGear CS window). If it is on, a colored border will appear around one of the images in the preview display, but you will not be able to select all frames. If you click on the Thumbnail Display icon to turn it off, only a dotted line will appear around one of the images, but you will be able to click on the "select all frames" Apply button.

Dec 09, 2008 | Canon CanoScan 8400F Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Windows previews(thumbnails)


Garcia, I can help you, but you need to make your question clearer.

what do you mean by "windows preview"?

Dec 28, 2007 | HP Pavilion dv4000 Notebook

1 Answer

Scanner won't scan full frame med format neg 2.25"x2.25"


ll you do is click on the arrow next to preview, and select normal instead of thumbnails. It took me a while to figure that out as well. Also, you will want to scan the film rightside up (opposite of what they say) and flip it in photoshop. When you scan it they way they say, the film touches the scanning bed, creating rings in your photos.

Dec 07, 2007 | Epson Perfection 4870 PRO Flatbed Scanner

2 Answers

Nikon coolscan 9000


Close the scan program --turn off and unplug the scanner---plug the LS9000 back in and turn it on----reopen the scan program--this is my method on my LS-8000--It does this quite often !

Aug 30, 2007 | Nikon LS-9000 Film Scanner

Not finding what you are looking for?
Nikon LS-9000 Film Scanner Logo

152 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Nikon Office Equipment & Supplies Experts

Doberman

Level 2 Expert

254 Answers

Jerry Greenberg
Jerry Greenberg

Level 3 Expert

1667 Answers

Ric Donato

Level 2 Expert

225 Answers

Are you a Nikon Office Equipment and Supply Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...