Tip & How-To about SanDisk Sansa c240 MP3 Player

Why did my Mp3 Player Add/Delete a File I Didn't Want? Manual vs. Automatic Synchronization in Windows Media Player by Tha Mp3 Doctor The difference between manual and automatic synchronization is very important. If you?re ever wondering why you computer added files to your device when you didn?t want it to, or why it deleted files unexpectedly, then there is a good chance that you have automatic synchronization activated. Manual synchronization allows you to only add/delete only those files that you want to keep or discard. To disable auto-sync in Windows Media Player 10: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/knowledgecenter/howto/sync_how_to.aspx To disable auto-sync in Windows Media Player 11: My Directions: 1. Connect your mp3 player to the computer 2. Open Windows Media Player 3. Run the mouse cursor over the Sync tab ? a little black arrow should appear under the word ?Sync? 4. Click on the little arrow and a drop-down menu should appear 5. Select ?Set Up Sync? in the drop-down menu 6. Uncheck the box that says ?Sync this device automatically? Microsoft?s Directions: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/knowledgecenter/howto/mp11/sync.aspx There are many good outside websites out there ? many with videos on how to do everything we have described in these pages. Hopefully, this will give many of you a start into the wonderful world of music transfer through mp3 players and Windows Media Player.

SanDisk Sansa c240 MP3 Player Logo

Related Questions:

1 Answer

how to delete songs


I would use Windows Explorer to delete the files that are on the player - p.11 of the manual will show you how - but be careful only to delete music files, not system files.

-Tha Mp3 Doctor

Sep 03, 2008 | RCA TH1101 MP3 Player

1 Answer

sansa


The difference between manual and automatic synchronization is very important. If you’re ever wondering why you computer added files to your device when you didn’t want it to, or why it deleted files unexpectedly, then there is a good chance that you have automatic synchronization activated. Manual synchronization allows you to only add/delete only those files that you want to keep or discard.

To disable auto-sync in Windows Media Player 10:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/knowledgecenter/howto/sync_how_to.aspx

To disable auto-sync in Windows Media Player 11:

My Directions:

1. Connect your mp3 player to the computer

2. Open Windows Media Player

3. Run the mouse cursor over the Sync tab – a little black arrow should appear under the word “Sync”

4. Click on the little arrow and a drop-down menu should appear

5. Select “Set Up Sync” in the drop-down menu

6. Uncheck the box that says “Sync this device automatically”

Microsoft’s Directions:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/knowledgecenter/howto/mp11/sync.aspx

May 15, 2008 | SanDisk Sansa c240 MP3 Player

1 Answer

File removal


If you are using Windows Media Player 11, go to the sync tab and make sure it is displaying only the files on your Mp3 player, and not every file stored on your Computer's hard drive. Click once on a song you want to delete, and then hit the delete button on your computer's keyboard.

If your not using Windows Media Player 11, then read pp. 17-20 of your user's manual, available at www.mymusix.com

-Tha Mp3 Doctor

Apr 22, 2008 | MyMusix PD-6030 MP3 Player

1 Answer

my av700 albums delete when i reconnect to my computer


Disable the automatic synchronization option in Windows Media Player. Go to www.microsoft.com and enter either "automatic synchronization windows media player" or "manual synchronization windows media player" as you search term for click-by-click directions with pictures.

Short version: Connect mp3 player to computer, highlight sync tab, click on little black arrow and bring down drop-down menu, click on Set Up Sync, uncheck box that says "automatically synchronize blah blah blah"...

-Tha Mp3 Doctor

Apr 21, 2008 | Archos AV700 TV Digital Media Player

1 Answer

philips audio player


You have automatic synchronization set up, and you will want to disable it (set up manual synchronization) in order to prevent this problem from occurring in the future.
Connect your Go Gear to the computer
Open Windows Media Player
Highlight the Sync Tab
Click on the little black arrow and pull down the drop down menu
Click on Set Up Sync
Uncheck the box that says "Automatically synchronzie the device..."
Then, Read Windows Media Player tutorial on ripping from CD to a device
Then,
Click on the Library Tab
Underneath the line that says Philips GoGear, clcik on the songs folder (or go to the Sync tab)
This will list all files on your device.
Left-click a file once - hit delete on your computer's keyboard.
Done.
-Tha Mp3 Doctor


-Tha Mp3 Doctor

Mar 29, 2008 | Philips SA3125\02 MP3 Player

Not finding what you are looking for?

2,004 people viewed this tip

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top SanDisk Audio Players & Recorders Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

Gyula Lacz

Level 3 Expert

482 Answers

Computer Repairing
Computer Repairing

Level 3 Expert

14641 Answers

Are you a SanDisk Audio Player and Recorder Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Loading...