Tip & How-To about Office Equipment & Supplies
You send a print job to the printer and it asks for your user ID which you forgot or threw in the trash. Now the printer will not print, the job cannot be deleted and the computer will not cancel the job.
If the print job is not that important shut the printer down and remove the power cord for about 30 minutes. When you turn it back on the unit will reset and erase any print jobs. This is your easiest solution but only if you do not have to be concerned about the print job.
As far as the computer, you can reboot it also which will erase any print jobs.The unit may not reboot because it cannot shut down the print job. In this case it may require using control + alt+ delete (all at the same time) if any of the programs say that they cannot shut down. You will get the Windows Task Manager and will have to make a selection on the software you want to stop from running. Obviously it will be the print driver.
If you threw the ID into the trash and have not emptied the trash yet, open the trash icon and see if the user name is still there. This may save you some problems and you can retrieve it by moving it back to the original location by clicking on restore all items. This may restore more than you want but any unwanted files can be put back in the trashl
Thanks for using FixYa and for the great rating.
Posted by Kim... on
NOTE: Overusing permanent resources or downloading them while the product is printing might affect product performance or the ability to print complex pages.
Sep 08, 2016 | HP LaserJet Office Equipment & Supplies
Jun 28, 2015 | Computers & Internet
Jan 29, 2015 | Facebook Social Network
Apr 17, 2010 | Ricoh Aficio 1232C Color Copier
Apr 23, 2008 | Office Equipment & Supplies
159 people viewed this tip
Usually answered in minutes!