Tip & How-To about Computers & Internet

How to Check Computer's History After Someone Deletes It

If your computers history is delete by someone. But still if you want you can get the

computer's history back. Since the computer automatically backs up all the history even

after someone deletes it. You can simply get the computers history by searching the

index.dat file and you need to open it up with the help of an appropriate software

Follow the steps which i have mentioned below:

1. Go to the start menu and select Search.
2. In the search window click Tools on the menu bar which is at the top of the search window and then select "Folder options".
3. Now click the View Tab.
4. Select "Show hidden files and folders.
5. Uncheck the two checkboxes "Hide extensions for known file types" and "Hide protected operating system files which are checked by default.
6. Click the Apply button to apply these settings and the close the folder option window and return to the search window again.
7. Select "All Files and Folders" and in the Look in box select C: drive After this type "index.dat" into the search bar, and hit the "Search" button. You may get a number of index.dat file.
8. Try Downloading a ".dat" file reader to your computer if you don't already have one and then install it on your machine.
9. Use this Application for reading the deleted history of your computer

Posted by on

Computers & Internet Logo

Related Topics:

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Hi there I cant log out of my facebook page. Im worried that someone is using my page.


I bet you are login automatically from your browser.
Delete all history and saved password in your computer.

Jul 20, 2014 | Computers & Internet

1 Answer

moviestarplanet problems


Hi,
it might be because you've deleted the browsing history = passwords / form data (data you entered into 'text' boxes).
It might be also because the history gets deleted automatically or some kind of other issue.

Jun 04, 2013 | Computers & Internet

9 Answers

How do i recover deleted history on iphone 3g


For us to be able to securely recover deleted call history from iTunes with no data loss, you need to use third-party recovery tools. FoneDog iOS Data Recovery is the popular choice among all iOS users globally because of its user-friendly process and effective methods. It has three recovery methods you can choose from: 'Recover from iOS Device, Recover from iTunes, and Recover from iCloud'. All these three options are very easy to use that this software was tagged as the most customer-centric recovery tool.The lost data can be in any form-contacts, video, voice notes. To learn how to recover deleted call history from iTunes without having to lose your current data, follow these steps:
Step1. Launch FoneDog Toolkit-iOS Data Recovery and Choose 'Recover from iTunes'
Step2. Scan, Preview, and Recover Call History

Retrieve Removed Call Chats from iPhone Without Backup
1. Run FoneDog Toolkit-iOS Data Recovery and Connect iPhone to PC
2. Scan the iPhone Device
3. Preview and Recover Call Chats

Now that you have learned how to recover deleted call history from iTunes, you can now value the importance of having backups especially the iTunes. Yes, backups may seem unnecessary at times but we always remind our users to keep them a habit. You will never know when you need backups unless you are in great trouble. Download the Free Trial version of FoneDog Toolkit -iOS Data Recovery and discover which method works for you!
Completed guide: How can we recover deleted call history from iTunes and iPhone?

recover-itunes-call-history-to-pc-cmbczcnzdkzlzmszqzw41fyq-2-0.png

Sep 28, 2012 | Apple iPhone 3G

1 Answer

I have no sound on U tube


Hi,
In this regards I would suggest you to reset the Internet explorer settings on the computer by following the below steps:- Internet Explorer 7:
? Tools ? Internet Options ? Delete? Delete files ? Yes
? Delete cookies ? OK
? Delete history ? OK
? Close (browsing history window)
? OK and then reboot(restart) the computer.
If Internet Explorer 8:? Tools ? Delete Browsing History
[. ] Preserve Favorites (leave blank)
[x] Temporary Internet files
[x] Cookies
[x] History
? Delete
and then reboot(restart) the computer. If using Mozilla Firefox 3:? Tools ? Clear Private Data
[x] Browsing History
[x] Download History
[x] Saved Form and Search History
[x] Cache
[x] Cookies
? Clear Private Data Now
and then reboot(restart) the computer. If using Mozilla Firefox 3.5/3.6:? Tools ? Clear Recent History
Time range to clear: ? Everything
? Details
[x] Browsing & Download History
[x] Saved Form and Search History
[x] Cookies
[x] Cache
? Clear Now
and then reboot(restart) the computer.

Nov 22, 2010 | Computers & Internet

1 Answer

everytime i turn on my pc the mail is my home page. I never sign out and the button is pushed to remember me, yet i have to sign in everytime.


Make sure your computer's not deleting the browser history and catch doing so erases the password from the computer's memory therefore you'd have to RE type it instead of the computer keeping you login or automatically logging you in

My solution to this problem would be to manually clear the catch/cookies and browser history so the computer doesn't keep trying to do that then RE type your password and username tell the computer to remember you then close the browser and restart your computer then try logging in again the computer should automatically log you in or have kept you login hope this helps

Aug 04, 2009 | Yahoo Mail

Not finding what you are looking for?

286 people viewed this tip

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Computers & Internet Experts

Doctor PC
Doctor PC

Level 3 Expert

7733 Answers

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

David Payne
David Payne

Level 3 Expert

14161 Answers

Are you a Computer and Internet Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Loading...