Question about 2003 BMW R 1150 RS

1 Answer

What is recommend pretrip inspection - what to check look for

Plan a july 600 mile ride and want to know to what to check to eliminate breakdowns. Just installed new disc brake pads front and rear. Thanks

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

    Corporal:

    An expert that hasĀ over 10 points.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 40 Answers

Tire pressure, check oil, put can of seafoam fuel treatment in first tank of gas, will keep you running fine for your trip...

Posted on Jun 25, 2014

6 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: my 2003 1200 gt warning

Rene - the manual recommends having the break system checked immediately if the reservoir drops below MIN. It has happened to me once were the warning light was staying on and after carefully riding it down the street in my subdivision the warning light went away.

However if it does not go out after the self diagnostic - there is a possibility the ABS is not functioning and you are only left with a RESIDUAL BRAKING FUNCTION which helps slow the bike but not safe for riding. I would take it to the dealer if the warning stays on and for safety sake -- have it towed.

Posted on Mar 15, 2009

dmsr63
  • 2050 Answers

SOURCE: do i need to open the brake resevor lid for Rear Brake pad replac

You shouldn't have to remove the cap, as it should have been full when the pads were new, and, unless you added some brake fluid, should return to full with new pads. You can take off the cap after the brakes are replaced and the pedal depressed a few times to clean up the filler area and reseat the rubber bladder in the cap. Then the level should be at "full." You also can clean around the seal, just take care, and no grease on the rubber boot.
Your uneven pad wear, could be caused by a pad "stuck." They should be a ble to wiggle a slight bit in the holder, without pressure on them. Make sure the contact area around the pads is clean, and not rusted.

Posted on Oct 01, 2009

  • 79 Answers

SOURCE: how to fix rear brake pads on a BMW 1150RT

You'll have to disassemble it and move your piston in and out of the caliper to make sure it gets full stroke. Sounds like it's not compressing all the way into the caliper. Also some break fluids can expand, You may try bleeding it down a little first.

Posted on Oct 10, 2009

Testimonial: "Thank you for your help all done working well."

  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: how do I change brake pads on a bmw r1100rt year

I asume form the question you are handy but maybe not experirenced in this repare project If you have never done this before I would take it to a tech days training meeting. serch the web for rallys and other groups. It is fairly easy to do this job as like all disc brakes systems, but the setails are important and this is nothing to mess with unless you are very confident.

Posted on Dec 31, 2009

sisadsl
  • 1508 Answers

SOURCE: I'm experiencing a sponge like feeling when

yes new fluid and proper bleeding will make the brake feel normal, the sponge feeling is air in the brake system compressing

Posted on Apr 12, 2010

Testimonial: "Thanks for the advise, will replace fluid and check out the performance. Regards"

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

Tip

Death Valley Run


This is for motorcyclist only...if you plan on doing any long distance riding like i just did, dont ride on Dot race rubber...unless under a 1000 miles, if you plan on going 1500 to 2000 miles like i did your tire will be totally shot. take it from me..my tire was almost brand new, i put a couple hundred miles on it at the track and then decided to do an iron **** 1500 bun burner, i almost have cord showing now! another tip! if you plan on riding the BEST ride of your life and you have the Balls enough to do it ...i took my 88 Hurricane with 21000 miles up to "Death Valley" !! Death Valley was a 10 on a road racer scale,it was 120 degrees at elevation 5 feet.. like i said if you have the balls enough and you trust your bike, mine wasn't really running that good at the higher elevations eg. 8000 at Bryce Canyon but when i got down into the Valley from Beatty Nevada to Lone pine Ca. (a great ride, you'll never forget it) it ran great, tip! keep going and dont stop to sight see, i did this and within two minutes i was overheating, i got on it and it started cooling down to Normal range , tip! wear full Perforated leathers and buy a flipup Helmet it makes it easier to drink from bottles that will be on your tank bag... you pay ten bucks for motorcycle but nobody even checked but buy it anyway for piece of mind and to help keep those roads nice repaved roads to get in and you just about have the whole place to yourself..it has long sweepers, short sweepers, long up hills and down hill straights for many many miles with ocassional two story whoop dee doos be carefull though if you do this on a liter bike! you may accidentally catch air and sometimes theres three to four in a row, and then leaving towards Lone pine.. its like Canyon carving for a good 1/2 hour and only two decreasing radius turns that almost got me, watch out for a couple of narley blind hills.. one that has like a "four" story drop off, it caught me by surprise, at first it scared the **** out of me, but then it was better than any amusement park ride i've ever been on,..it was mostly dark almost hit a few single rocks if it had totally dark i would have hit them, so make sure you do it in daylight! then you can go into Lone pine gas up and relax and treat yourself to a well deserved cool refreshment of choice, cool off and know that you did something that no sane person on this planet would ever do, and the adreniline i swear will last for days after!. This is a must for all Hardcore Bikers only "no newbies" you will die if you make a mistake, this is the most unforgiving piece of God forsaken land i've ever ridin on..but please make sure you check radiator levels put in anti-freeze, i only had water because i race and you cant have antifreeze in your bike when you race so i forgot about that... also there are three gas stations in the park, Furnance creek, Stovepipe Wells, and Panimint Springs, but its $4.20 a gallon so fill up in Beatty Nevada or Lone pine like i did only $2.90 gal in Beatty NV.. i think it was $3.20 in Lone pine and have fun and be extra careful and i would not recommend that anyone with less than two years canyon riding even attempt this..put it this way, if you can handle the 33 or the 74 then go for it! Drop me a line and let me know if you enjoyed it...just remember i wasn't kidding about wearing full PERFERRATED leathers it will keep you cooler than an Aerostitch suit will, and DEFINITLY a full face helmet..if you dont you'll get third degree burns on your face after about 2 minutes. I think i should start my own club the "Death Valley Scorchers" but to be an official member this run must be done in the months of July, August,and September the run has to include the routes 136, 190, and 374, i made it on a full tank with room to spare! and make sure you hold on to that park map just incase you get lost, i almost did..thank god for a map because theres no cell towers out there...Got Balls! try it!
let me know if you made it!
when i stopped at the sand dunes by Stovepipe Wells on a motorcycle with loud exhaust and wearing full leathers i got all 20 or so peoples attention...whats this crazy man wearing a space suit doing out here in 120 degree weather..??
Answer having the ride of my life!

on Aug 03, 2010 | Motorcycles

3 Answers

What is recommended pretrip inspection


What bike do you have and when was it last serviced?

May 08, 2014 | BMW R 1150 RT (ABS Motorcycles

1 Answer

What kind of maintenance should i do to my 1989 cbr 600 f to keep it in tip top running condition


  • Change gearbox oil every 3000 miles. Change oil filter every 6000 miles. Use 10w40 motor oil. NEVER use synthetic lubricants as they can mess up the clutch.
  • Oil the chain every two weeks. Lube the control cables every oil filter change.
  • Keep the gas tank full in the cold months. This lessens internal tank rusting due to condensation in the tank. Drain the carbs when the bike will sit over the winter unless you plan on starting the bike every two weeks and letting it run for 15 minutes each time.
  • Be sure the gas valve is turned off when the bike is not in use.
  • Get a 2 amp trickle charger and charge the battery once a week for 4 hours in the winter. Be sure to keep enough water in the battery to cover the top of the plates in each cell. Know that batteries only last two years or so.
  • Check the chain tension once a month during the summer riding season.
  • Please rate my answer. Thanks.

Sep 11, 2010 | 1989 Honda CBR 600 F Hurricane

1 Answer

No problem yeti just wanted to know when to check the valves on a 2008 250GZ suzuki? I have 2800miles on itnow.


Manufactures suggest initial inspection at 600 miles, and at every 4000 mile service.

Jul 03, 2010 | Motorcycles

1 Answer

I have a 2006 gsxr 600.The bike starts up and rides perfect.When I ride it hard on a long run the bike wants to shut off at the stop sign and red light.When it shuts off I got to hold the throttle when I...


It has injectors.Does it display any "C" codes when you crank it up? Did you ever tinker any Fuel Injection modules or sensors? Have you inspected/ or visual checked or try to replaced your fuel filter?

Mar 27, 2010 | 2006 Suzuki GSX-R 600

2 Answers

Comercial vehicle pretrip inspection picture diagram


http://www.daytonacpr.org/DriverSolutionsPre-TripInspectionPreparationGuide.pdf

Jun 25, 2009 | J River CDL Commercial Driver's License...

2 Answers

Do i have to use synthetic oil on my 2006 lexus ES330?


U do not have to use synthetic oil but I recommend u do if u plan to drive the car for 100,000 miles or more, syn oil almost eliminates engine wear, if u use it change the oil and filter every 5,000 miles

Jan 24, 2009 | 2006 Lexus Es 330

2 Answers

Timing Belt


Safe bet on a timing belt is every 60k miles. Remember it's not just the belt - it's the tensioner also, as well as the water pump, thermostat, spark plugs, spark plug wires, all fluids, all filters, brake inspection, tire rotation, and an inspection of lighting and suspension parts. Plan to pay quite a bit if you don't do it yourself.

Aug 14, 2008 | 1998 Toyota T100

Not finding what you are looking for?

Open Questions:

See all 2003 BMW R 1150 RS Questions

2003 BMW R 1150 RS Logo

68 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top BMW Experts

Arnie Burke
Arnie Burke

Level 3 Expert

4514 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75817 Answers

phil cuzins
phil cuzins

Level 2 Expert

79 Answers

Are you a BMW Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...