Question about BMW R 1150 RT (ABS Motorcycles

3 Answers

What is recommended pretrip inspection

Planning a 600 mile ride and want to know where to look and what to look for to eliminate potential breakdown, Just installed new rear rotor and disc brakes front and rear, 21,000 miles on the bike.

Posted by on

  • sgtbax May 08, 2014

    Well hopefully you have a competent dealer that will check all the various things of concern as a normal part of routine service check. Be sure that it includes oil, filters, valve clearance (if due) ,change of rear end lube, greasing any fittings,inspect tire condition and check pressures, etc. 600 miles is really no big deal for a bike like this and 21k is low mileage too. You should have no problems at all. Good luck!

  • 83GR650
    83GR650 May 09, 2014

    Thanks, I plan to have the 24000 dealer service just prior to the ride.

×

3 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

There is very little you can check for when doing this prep. i say this because any problem will be internal, ie. your engine. The only thing you can do is breaks, inspect chain for "clonking" or seized links, if chain driven. SPARK PLUGS, this is a must if it has not been done in sometime. your spark plugs are the all seeing eye into your engine. they will tell you if your engine is running hot, cold, rich, lean, and if it is burning oil. and check wear on sprockets, a broken tooth will set you back on a trip.

Posted on May 08, 2014

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 3 Answers

What bike do you have and when was it last serviced?

Posted on May 08, 2014

Testimonial: "2003 BMW R 1150 RS, Last dealer service at 16,500."

  • 83GR650
    83GR650 May 08, 2014

    "2003 BMW R 1150 RS, Last dealer service at 16,500." Plan to dealer service just prior to trip.

×

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Problem Solver:

    An expert who has answered 5 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 7 Answers

Hi
I would add to this a check on the two large water pipes that come down from the radiators, I check mine regular and can see wear from rubbing. I would hate these to break and ruin a trip. I always check and sometimes carry a spare large hose on cars when I go on long trips, pretty much another show stopper.
Also, a quick check around the rear of the gearbox for any leak on the clutch cylinder.

Posted on May 27, 2014

  • Simon Tyler May 27, 2014

    Sorry, sorry, sorry. I thought you had a 1200gt, it's an 1150 twin isn't it? try to look for water pipes if you can but you'll find none I'm sure :-)

×

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

What is recommend pretrip inspection - what to check look for


Tire pressure, check oil, put can of seafoam fuel treatment in first tank of gas, will keep you running fine for your trip...

May 08, 2014 | 2003 BMW R 1150 RS

1 Answer

Where is the oil plug to my honda 600 1993 shadow i want to change the oil. shoul i change the oil after riding 500 miles @ 75 miles per hour it was changed before i took te trip?


the drain plug is under the motor in left front of the crankcase it faces the out side not straight down, and it is behind the radiator hose. riding the bike at 500 miles at 70 mph will not hurt the oil you only need to change the oil every 3000 miles.

Aug 03, 2010 | 1993 Honda VT 600 C Shadow

1 Answer

I have a 2006 gsxr 600.The bike starts up and rides perfect.When I ride it hard on a long run the bike wants to shut off at the stop sign and red light.When it shuts off I got to hold the throttle when I...


It has injectors.Does it display any "C" codes when you crank it up? Did you ever tinker any Fuel Injection modules or sensors? Have you inspected/ or visual checked or try to replaced your fuel filter?

Mar 27, 2010 | 2006 Suzuki GSX-R 600

1 Answer

Mrs. lok is planning a 600-mile trip. her car has an 18-gallon gas tank and gets 29 miles per gallon.will 1 tank full of gas be enough for the trip


No, she will be able to make the trip with only 1 tank of gas.

Solution:
She has an 18 gallon gas tank.
1 gallon = 29 miles

The 18 gallons / tank multiplied by the 29 miles / gallon
= 522 miles / tank

She will run out of gas in 522 miles.

Oct 12, 2009 | Computers & Internet

2 Answers

Comercial vehicle pretrip inspection picture diagram


http://www.daytonacpr.org/DriverSolutionsPre-TripInspectionPreparationGuide.pdf

Jun 25, 2009 | J River CDL Commercial Driver's License...

1 Answer

I am planning to cannibalize two broken Saeco espresso machines


Check out this page it has a breakdown of the Vienna. groups.google.com/group/espresso_worlds

Jun 22, 2009 | Coffee Makers & Espresso Machines

1 Answer

What to look for when buying a gsxr 600


stva controls secondary butterflys, nothing really major to worry about, until it dies. It has some bad solder points on it which work loose, and have to be re soldered. It is covered un a warrenty for up to 5 years, and 18,xxx miles or something i bellieve. Other wise no real major problems, just the normal wear and tear, and way previous owners have treated the bike

Nov 10, 2008 | 2002 Suzuki GSX-R 600 M

1 Answer

Engine oil question


I was down 1/2 quart. Is it usual to burn that much oil in 700 miles or did the mechanic forget to change the oil at the 600 miles service? Husband bought a duplicate bike and he wasn't down at all. I can see being down 1/2 quart with a total mileage of 1100 miles (maybe) but not in the 700 miles since the oil change. Like a dummy I didn't check the fluids after the initial service. It looks clean, but I'm planning a 1200 mile trip next week and am not quite sure if this is normal...if you experienced guys think its okay, I guess I'll have to make room in my bags to carry oil! Any opinions appreciated...,1. Sounds like the mechanic didnt do his job right. 2. Just have your hubby do it. cheaper and you know its done right.......,,,

Nov 10, 2008 | 2008 HM CRE F450XI

1 Answer

Valve Inspection


Let us know what measurements you will find. BTW I am planning to check the valves of my Cappy only at the 25k miles mark.also look here-http://www.geocities.com/sl_mille/valves.html ,

Nov 10, 2008 | 2004 Aprilia Caponord Rally Raid

Not finding what you are looking for?
Motorcycles Logo

Related Topics:

106 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top BMW Experts

Arnie Burke
Arnie Burke

Level 3 Expert

4514 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75005 Answers

phil cuzins
phil cuzins

Level 2 Expert

79 Answers

Are you a BMW Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...