Question about 1992 Aprilia Europe 125

1 Answer

Valve Inspection Completed

For those of you who were interested in the outcome... all the exhaust valves had a clearance of 0.010

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 500 times.

  • Master
  • 2,712 Answers

And all of the intake valves had a clearance of 0.006. Each measurement was recorded when the feeler would go in with a little effort and I could feel it grab on the way back out. The next size feeler (0.011 and o.007) could not be inserted. All measurements were within spec. For anyone attempting to do this themselves it wans't too difficult. The biggest problem was removing enough to easilly get at the cams! I removed both front side panels the left side panel the tank, the airbox, and the bracket at the very front of the compartment that routes the throttle cables and holds some electical doohickies.... I also disconnected the throttle cables to make room to remove the front valve cover. Only one bolt was difficult to get to, the front left one on the front cylinder. I was able to loosen it from the front of the bike (through the gap between the radiator and the frame) and then remove it from the top like all the others. I was able to get the cams in the correct position by putting the bike in top gear and rotating the rear wheel (thanks Ian). Everything buttoned up pretty easilly, except the airboox. I first connected all the hoses and then tried to get it in the right place; no go... I then pulled the hoses back off and loosened the front bracket and got her into place with only minor effort. We went for a ride and all is well. I'm definitely glad I did it. I feel so much closer to her now....,I had 9700 on the clock. Almost all of my miles are commuting, but I've got a good mix of backroads and superslab... As far as riding style, I'm a gentle rider. I mostly shift around 5k rpm and only rarely bring it up to redline. I'm always amazed at how much I can enjoy riding without really pushing it! With that said, last night I had a minor accident on the way home.... The results of that I'll post in another thread.,,,

Posted on Nov 10, 2008

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

What is the valve clearance for intake valve and exhaust valve for mitsubishi engine 4D32?


Please follow link to complete instuction's on the Correct way to set valve clearance on the 4D32 engine type.
6 INTAKE AND EXHAUST VALVE CLEARANCE INSPECT AND ADJUST

May 15, 2016 | Mitsubishi Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

What is the correct intake and exhaust valve clearance of kawasaki wind 125


Perfecto, .006 mm intake,.008 mm exhaust.
Check the attached links,
"I hope this helped you out, if so let me know by pressing the helpful button. Check out some of my other posts if you need more tips and info."

Kawasaki Wind 125 Part 7 BR125

Manual Kawasaki Bajaj Wind 125

How to adjust motorcycle valve clearance

Valve noise adjustment cam chain Kawasaki Forums

Mar 11, 2016 | kawasaki Motorcycles

1 Answer

Kawasaki zzr1100c what is the valve clearence


hi there,
this table will help you. I used to own one.. beautiful bikes easy to work on too!
Valves:
Valve clearance: Inlet 0.13 0.19 mm
Exhaust 0.18 0.24 mm
Valve head thickness: Inlet 0.5mm 0.25 mm
Exhaust 0.8mm 0.5mm
Valve stem bend 0.05 mm TIR
Valve stem diameter: Inlet 4.975 4.990 mm 4.96 mm
Exhaust 4.955 4.970 mm 4.94 mm
Valve guide inside diameter 5.000 5.01 2 mm 5.08 mm
Valve/valve guide clearance
(wobble method): Inlet 0.02 0.07 mm 0.18 mm
Exhaust 0.06 0.11 mm 0.21 mm
Valve seating surface:
Outside diameter: Inlet 30.8 31.0 mm
Exhaust 26.3 26.5 mm
Width 0.5 1.0 mm
Valve spring free length: Inner 35.5 mm 33.6 mm
Outer 40.5 mm 38.6 mm
Valve seat cutting angle 32 degrees, 45 degrees, 60 degrees


Hope it helps.. Ken

Aug 18, 2014 | kawasaki ZZR 1100 Motorcycles

2 Answers

Valve clearance 4g13


make the engine runs for about 30minutes before adjusting the valves,
valve clearances:
intake valve = 0.20mm(0.008 in)
exhaust valve = 0.25mm(0.010 in)
for reference only when the engine is cold,
valve clearances:
intake valve = 0.25mm(0.010 in)
exhaust valve = 0.30mm(0.012 in)
engine specs: mitsubishi 4g13 1.3L (if you have same engine)

Feb 29, 2012 | Mitsubishi Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I need to know how to go about the second procedure for valve clearance on my 1.5l mitsubishi lancer. ive started on TDC AND COMPLETED THE FIRST STEP BUT LEADING ON TO THE SECOND STEP IS TROUBLE?????? HELP


the easiest way is to start at the first valve,first you need to know if the inlet & exhaust valves have the same clearance, starting from the left side of the engine ( standing at the front ) the first valve exhaust, the next two are inlet, the next two are exhaust, the next two are inlet & the last one is exhaust, what you do is turn the engine over by hand ( this might be easier if you remove the spark plugs ) until the valve opens & closes, after it closes turn the engine a little more & adjust the clearance on that valve, repeat this action on every valve until they have all been adjusted.......hope this helps......cheers.

Sep 03, 2011 | Mitsubishi Lancer Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

How do you change the oil pump in a 1995 Lumina van with a 3.8?


REMOVAL

  1. Remove front cover.
  2. Remove oil filter adapter, pressure regulator valve and spring.
Fig. 16 Oil Pump & Housing 42162079

  1. Remove oil pump cover attaching screws, then the cover and gears, Fig. 16 .
INSPECTION

  1. Check pump cover and housing for cracks, scoring, porous or damaged casting, damaged threads or excessive wear or galling. Replace as required.
  2. Check pressure regulator valve for scoring, burrs or sticking in valve bore. Replace as required.
  3. Check pressure regulator valve spring for tension loss or bending, replace spring as required.
  4. Check gears for chipping galling or excessive wear, replace as required.
Fig. 17 Oil Pump Inner Gear Tip Clearance Inspection 42162080

  1. Measure oil pump inner gear tip clearance, Fig. 17 . Maximum clearance should be 0.006 inch.
Fig. 18 Oil Pump Outer Gear Diameter Clearance Inspection 42162081

  1. Measure oil pump outer gear diameter clearance, Fig. 18 . Clearance should be 0.008-0.015 inch.
Fig. 19 Oil Pump Gear End Clearance Inspection 42162082

  1. Measure oil pump gear end clearance with gear dropped in housing, FIG 19. Clearance should be 0.0010-0.0035 inch.
  2. Measure pressure regulator valve for valve to bore clearance of 0.0015-0.003 inch.
INSTALLATION

  1. Lubricate all gears with clean motor oil, then install gears in housing.
  2. Pack pump cavity with suitable petroleum jelly.
  3. Install pump cover and cover attaching screws. Tighten cover attaching screws to specifications.
  4. Install pressure regulator valve and spring.
  5. Install oil filter adapter using a new gasket, tighten oil filter adapter attaching bolts to specifications.
  6. Install front cover on engine. During front cover installation, ensure inner pump gear is properly engaged on crankshaft sprocket.

Jan 29, 2011 | Chevrolet Lumina APV Cars & Trucks

3 Answers

Valve clearance 4hj1 isuzu engine


This is the specs for the 4H Diesel engine:
Intake valves clearance cold 0.4mm(.016inches)
Exhaust valve clearance cold 0.4mm(.016inches)

Jan 28, 2011 | 1995 Isuzu Pickup

2 Answers

Overhead valves making noise like they need ajusting


Valve Lash ADJUSTMENT 1.6L Engines NOTE: Measure valve clearance with the engine cold.
  1. Before servicing the vehicle, refer to the precautions in the beginning of this section.
  2. Remove the valve cover.
  3. Set the engine to Top Dead Center (TDC) of the compression stroke for the cylinder to be adjusted.
  4. Check the valve clearance. The valve clearance specifications are as follows:
    • Intake valves: 0.005-0.007 inches (0.13-0.17mm)
    • Exhaust valves: 0.005-0.007 inches (0.13-0.17mm)
  5. After adjustment, tighten the locknuts to 11-14 ft. lbs. (15-19 Nm).
  6. Repeat for each valve to be adjusted.
1.8L, 2.0L and 2.5L Engines The 1.8L, 2.0L and 2.5L engines utilize automatic hydraulic lash adjusters to maintain proper valve lash at all times. Periodic valve lash inspection and adjustment is not necessary or possible. prev.gif next.gif

Sep 14, 2010 | 2000 Chevrolet Tracker

1 Answer

Hi,im looking for valve clearance specs for the kawaski 23hp fh680v-8s10 motor ??


The adjustment is .003 - .005. You must hold the rocker arm by lifting up on the valve depressing side and pressing down on the push-rod side while making the adjustment. Any other means of adjustment and it will be incorrect.

Below is quoted from the service manual without pictures
(FixYa Note TORQUE on lock screws is 61 inch pounds)

Valve Clearance Inspection
NOTE
?? Valve clearance must be checked when the engine is cold (at room
temperature).
• Remove the rocker cover (see Cylinder Head Removal).
• Place the piston at top dead center (TDC) of the compression stroke
turning the crankshaft clockwise facing the flywheel.
No.1 Cylinder:
?? The left projection [A] on the flywheel is faced with the right leg [B]
on the #1 ignition coil [C] as shown.
?? Check the intake and exhaust valves are closed completely, if not turn
the flywheel one turn (360??) clockwise and face the left projection with
the right leg again.
No.2 Cylinder:
?? The left projection [A] on the flywheel is faced with the right leg [B]
on the #2 ignition coil [C] as shown. Follow No.1 Cylinder alignment.
• Then check the valve clearance.
?? Using a thickness gauge [A], measure the valve clearance between
the rocker arm [B] and the valve stem end.
If the valve clearance is incorrect, adjust it.
Valve Clearance (when cold)
Intake, Exhaust 0.075 0.125 mm (0.003 0.005 in.)

Thanks for using FixYa.

Kelly

May 18, 2010 | Garden

1 Answer

How do i adjust the valves in a ford 1997tarus with a 3.0 ohv


Valve Stem to Guide Clearance · Intake
0.026-0.071 mm (0.001-0.0028 in) · Exhaust
0.038-0.083 mm (0.0015-0.0033 in) Valve Clearance
  1. With No. 1 piston (6108) on top dead center (TDC) at the end of compression stroke (Position No. 1 in the illustration), check the following valves:
    Position 1
    No. 1 exhaust valve (6505) No. 1 intake valve (6507).
    No. 3 exhaust valve No. 2 intake valve.
    No. 6 exhaust valve No. 4 intake valve.
  1. Rotate crankshaft (6303) 360 degrees to position No. 2 and check the following valves:
    Position 2
    No. 2 exhaust valve No. 3 intake valve.
    No. 4 exhaust valve No. 5 intake valve.
    No. 5 exhaust valve No. 6 intake valve. 4cb038f.gif

Oct 19, 2009 | 1997 Ford Taurus

Not finding what you are looking for?
1992 Aprilia Europe 125 Logo

47 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Aprilia Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

70346 Answers

Arnie Burke
Arnie Burke

Level 3 Expert

4514 Answers

Gino Cussen
Gino Cussen

Level 2 Expert

216 Answers

Are you an Aprilia Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...