Question about 1996 Oldsmobile Aurora

1 Answer

I just put a rack&opinion on and control arm still sounds like its rubbing

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that gotĀ 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 20 times.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Expert
  • 127 Answers

Are you sure tire isn't rubbing on inner finder? Very common...

Posted on Mar 21, 2011

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of.(from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones)
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

3 Answers

My rack and pinion is starting to go bad. Now it makes a popping sound when I turn sometimes. What causes that?


Unless the rack is moving side to side due to loose bolts or warn bushings it is almost impossible for it to make any type of noise at all,
if poping noises can be heard turning the wheel while the car is parked you have one of a few different problems,
1, worn ball joints
2, warn control arm bushings
3, worn tie rods
4, worn upper strut mount bearings

The rack and pinion can usually be rejuvenated by flushing the system and adding Lucas rack and pinion sealer, this seals it internally also making it work much better.



rack-pinion-starting-go-bad-now-makes-iv5yhqpktypbvunjtpsp2olz-5-0.jpg

Mar 06, 2015 | 2005 Pontiac Bonneville SE

1 Answer

05 Maxima squeeking from front. changed control arm and 2 motor mounts and still


The steering column shaft mounts to the rack and pinion steering gear with a type of u-joint and a pinch bolt to hold the steering column shaft tight on the rack and pinion stub shaft. This coupling may have gotten loosened, so you should check it. It is all hidden by the boot over the steering column on the floor. If you can get the boot to slide upward a bit, I think you can see the coupling. Or, you may need to look at it from underneath. The rack's stub shaft is on top of rack right where the steering column would come from the floor.
Here's an idea: put the front up on jack stands or blocks. Then you could watch and listen while someone turns the steering wheel back and forth.

Jul 24, 2013 | 2005 Nissan Maxima SE

1 Answer

When i drive, it feels like i have little control while the steering wheel feels loose. I also have to turn my steering wheel about 15degrees to the left to go straight. Any ideas?


Sounds as if you have bent some control arms Or even broken the steering gear rack both front wheels must be off the ground to ***** the situation The best way to recognize a bent part if you are not familiar with it is to compare to the opposite side

Mar 02, 2012 | Saturn Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

1998 cavalier, front brakes I just had new front brakes and rotors. They asked to install Control arm bushings and lower control arm bushing. I declined. Now the car pulls to the left when I brake. Why?...


I would say your brake work wasn't done correctly,wouldn't you

Did it pull with the old brakes? Doubt it

Control Arm Bushings -- I would resolve the brake issues
first & need a really good reason to do the control arm bushings

Visual Evidence & Technical Service Bullettins & an Alignment
Only Shops opinion

Aug 02, 2011 | 1998 Chevrolet Cavalier

1 Answer

The front of the car squeeks when you push up and down and makes the same noise when you turn the steering wheel either way.


If your car is about 10 years or older chances are that the front rubber suspension components are worn and rubbing agaings their housing. There are at least 4 areas for each front tire that could be worn: Strut housing, control arm bushings, center control arm bushings, or stabilizer bar bushings. There are ball joints that can wear too, but usually do not make noises at a standstill. My suggestion is to go to any tire store and have them look put the car up on a rack for a thorough inspection. Most people let these parts go for too long and the cost gets high to replace. You obviously are very careful with your car so this should be a routine suspension fix for the garage. Good luck.

Jan 23, 2011 | Ford Lincoln Continental Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

MY CAR SHAKES AND THEY TOLD ME ITS SOME PART CALLED ROCKIN PINIEN SOMETHING CALLED LIKE THAT BUT IM NOT SURE ANY SUGGESTIONS!


It's called a rack and pinion, the main steering component. Lots of things can cause a car to shake so try and get a second opinion before doing any work on your car.

Jan 06, 2011 | 2000 Mitsubishi Mirage

2 Answers

I have a olds aurora and it has a anti freeze leek that dose not leek all the time and I can not find any leak points


Have the system pressurized with a coolanr t pressure gauge with the engine off of course. The pressure that is applied to the engines cooling system will show where the leak is coming from.

Dec 02, 2010 | 1996 Oldsmobile Aurora

1 Answer

1994 Beretta: When I turn my car something sounds like it is rub...


1) Have you snapped the pulley belt, the power steering pump is powered by this? 2) check the track rod arms and where they enter of the steering rack. Sometimes the bearing that keeps the rack central breaks and the rack then rubs the outer tube causing a dragging noise and heavy steering

May 07, 2010 | 1994 Chevrolet Beretta

2 Answers

The front suspension of my 2002 kia spectra is making a loud squeaking sound, "What might be the cause of the noise?


a few reasons but check the anti-sway bar bushings--upper/lower control arm bushings they are the usual areas where most squeaks come from

May 05, 2010 | 2002 Kia Spectra

Not finding what you are looking for?
1996 Oldsmobile Aurora Logo

Related Topics:

14 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Oldsmobile Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76846 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22246 Answers

Jeffrey Turcotte
Jeffrey Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8548 Answers

Are you an Oldsmobile Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...