Question about 1996 Nissan Maxima

1 Answer

I failed inspection because of code 500. If I replace my sensors will that automatically cure the problem? It also failed for code 734 which I have no clue what that means...

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Master
  • 2,841 Answers

PO500 First off if you have replaced your tires with an incorrect size then that is your problem. If not the PO500 possibly means the Vehicle Speed Sensor (VSS) may be bad or the wiring is frayed or loose. I would reset the code and see if it comes back while at the same time inspecting all the wiring. PO734 Transmission 4th gear slipping. This may be why you have code PO500. You need to immediately seek out a transmission expert and have this looked into before the transmission is toast.

Posted on Mar 18, 2011

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

P0734 Gear 4 Incorrect Ratio Suzuki Reno 2008


This is called a RDI.. Remove, dissemble and inspect. I did notice you have other codes. 1 of 8. Those other codes could be a problem with the 734 code. Year make and model helps...

Jun 07, 2016 | Suzuki Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I have a 2006 jeep liberty with a p0016 code i have replaced the cam sensor and still have an engine light. it idles fine adn runs fine, but cuts out at 3500 rpm


This code refers to Crankshaft sensor primarily, and camshaft secondarily, but both need to work together, and either one may cause the light to come on. I'd clean and check all connectors to both first and inspect wires for any bad spots, and if none found, replace Crankshaft sensor. Without putting it on a scope and checking pattern, your kind of limited to replacement to cure it.

Apr 07, 2012 | 2006 Jeep Liberty

1 Answer

Check engine light was on...replaced O2 sensor, light is now off. drove about 500 miles and car failed inspection even though check engine is not on.....WHY?


You should have asked it could be lights brakes front end parts or depends if they checked the emisions and they failed they should have told you.

Jan 07, 2012 | 1998 Toyota Corolla

2 Answers

What are the automatic transmission problem codes PO 751, PO 761, PO 734 indicate


PO 734 GEAR 4 INCORRECT RATIO
PO 751 SHIFT SOLENOID A PERF OR STUCK OFF
PO 761 SHIFT SOLENOID C PERF OR STUCK OFF

Jul 05, 2011 | Ford Focus Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I changed the battery (May 30th) in my 2007 dakota and now i need an inspection completed. Two systems (Catalyst and O2) have not reset and i have driven 500 miles (highway and city); it is now Jun10th. ...


HAVE GARAGE CODE SCAN VECHICLE.IF YOU ARE GETTING CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAULTS OR OXYGEN SENSOR FAULT CODE.YOU HAVE FAILED SENSORS OR VACUUM LEAKS. SOMETHING IS UPSETTING THE EMISSION CONTROL SYSTEMS.

Jun 10, 2011 | 2007 Dodge Dakota Cab SLT

1 Answer

99 dodge caravan code po 734 what does it mean


P0734 is a transmission code. The code description is: Additional gear ratio in fourth gear. The most likely cause is the input speed sensor on the transmission, a common problem. The sensor is located on the side of the transmission facing the grill right above the solenoid pack. You need to check the resistance of the sensor. It should be between 500 to 700 ohms. If it tests open, the sensor is bad. If not check the connection and the wiring.

Apr 08, 2011 | 1999 Dodge Caravan

2 Answers

1997 4Runner failed inspection. The trouble code reported: P0420 Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank1).


you will need to change the catalitic converters. Very common issue and if at all possible do not use after market cats. They will likely cause the same code and cause it to fail inspection.

Dec 27, 2010 | 1999 Toyota 4Runner

2 Answers

My 2003 Yukon has 110000 miles. I know the plugs and wires need replaced. What else should I do.


PCV valve if it has one, some GM trucks do not. air filter, use some strong fuel injection cleaner, not much else, other parts in this system are replaced as they fail. (cam position sensor, coils etc.)

be sure to grease the wire boots to prevent moisture and corrosion, and you might consider anti-seize on the plug threads.

Sep 03, 2010 | GMC Yukon XL Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

What are codes 700 715 731 733 734


I can tell you what the codes are but I afraid I don't have an answer as to how to fix it.
700 - Transmission Control System Malfuntion
715 - Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction
731 - Gear I Incorrect ratio
733 - Gear 3 Incorrect ratio
734 - Gear 4 Incorrect ratio

Jun 06, 2010 | 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Not finding what you are looking for?
1996 Nissan Maxima Logo

435 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Nissan Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

74896 Answers

Phil Lovisek
Phil Lovisek

Level 3 Expert

705 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

Are you a Nissan Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...