Question about 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee

1 Answer

Failed inspection Car failed for emissions high co%, think problem is Oxygen sensor, should i go ahead and replace? I have a 1995 Jeep Cherokee Sport with the 4.0 motor that failed the smog test because of higher NOX. It has a new Cat and O2 sensor. All the other limits are really clean. Any ideas? This year has no EGR valve. What takes the place of the EGR on these later inline sixes? Jim

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Master:

    An expert who has achieved Level 3.

  • Master
  • 382 Answers

Hi,
As it failed in the smog test because of higgher NOX which clearly signifies that the filter is not functioning properly..

So It is highly recommended to change the oxygen sensor after which the emission will be normal!..Thank you ..

Please reply back to say how things turned on or for further assistance..Regards!!..

Posted on Jul 17, 2008

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

1995 Jeep Wrangler 2.5L HC & CO Emissions failed 2nd time. Replaced Catalytic Converter, Oxygen Sensor, Fuel Pump & Filter. It Passes everything else. I need advise please.


Failing HC and CO means the fuel mixture is too rich.
You may need a 4 gas analyzer to figure out why to know when it is fixed. Could be a leaking injector, restricted air intake, ignition problem, or a long list of other things. Even a faulty thermostat could cause it to run rich.

Jan 29, 2014 | Jeep Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Emissions failure 1986 nissan 300zx


MAP sensor needs cleaning or is bad ?

Jul 12, 2013 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

C15001993 truck 4.3 v6 Failed Emissions HIGH CO again


Sounds like you lost O2 Control

Check fuel trim & data with professional
scanner & such

You done as far as working at home, you did all
you can

You have a rich condition (CO)

Seems as though the coolant sensor is not working &
your in open loop

Mar 05, 2013 | Chevrolet C1500 Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I failed emissions test. The HC and CO both failed. I was told by a family member that it sounds like the catalytic converter and I wanted to know how much that would cost or estimated cost to replace


Rich fuel mixture is leaking fuel injectors,failed oxygen sensors

Need clean air filter,new spark plugs

An Exhaust Converter is only good for 12 to 14 years max then
it has to go

This is a social web site we use as you do so prices are are over the internet less labor of coarse

Mar 02, 2013 | 1997 Mercury Cougar XR7

1 Answer

My 1991 4runner failed emissions test with high CO and HC levels.


Not sure, but did you replace the oxygen sensors. Is your catalytic converter still good?

Aug 21, 2009 | 1991 Toyota 4Runner

1 Answer

Failed emissions


a new pcv is only like 3 bucks try having injectors cleaned out

Jun 30, 2009 | 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee

1 Answer

Failed state inspection


there is an EGR valve, its located on the intake manifold, it could be vacuum controlled, it should be closed at idle and open only when driving. do you have a check engine light on?

Apr 07, 2009 | 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee

1 Answer

My chevy s10 failed emissions


Have your cat. converter checked out. I just had one of these for the same reason in my shop today.

Jul 09, 2008 | 1991 Chevrolet S-10

1 Answer

Failed inspection


if there old for sure be carefull for a damaged catalytic convertor cheers pierre

Jun 27, 2008 | 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Not finding what you are looking for?
1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Logo

Related Topics:

171 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Jeep Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

63661 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

21990 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

6812 Answers

Are you a Jeep Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...