Question about 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee

1 Answer

Failed inspection Car failed for emissions high co%, think problem is Oxygen sensor, should i go ahead and replace?

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Jeep Master
  • 2,039 Answers

If there old for sure be carefull for a damaged catalytic convertor cheers pierre

Posted on Jun 27, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

What does it mean when it says co


CO? That means Carbon Monoxide - it's a rather toxic and poisonous gas emitted from the exhaust system.

When they check emissions on cars CO is one of the gases they measure. If the level is too high .. your car fails the emissions test. I believe in the USA the emissions test is known as the 'smog test'?

If you have a problem with excess CO emissions on a car the cause is often an incorrect fuel/air mixture or a faulty sensor called the lambda/oxygen sensor in the exhaust system

May 12, 2016 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Emissions failure 1986 nissan 300zx


MAP sensor needs cleaning or is bad ?

Jul 12, 2013 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

C15001993 truck 4.3 v6 Failed Emissions HIGH CO again


Sounds like you lost O2 Control

Check fuel trim & data with professional
scanner & such

You done as far as working at home, you did all
you can

You have a rich condition (CO)

Seems as though the coolant sensor is not working &
your in open loop

Mar 05, 2013 | Chevrolet C1500 Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I failed emissions test. The HC and CO both failed. I was told by a family member that it sounds like the catalytic converter and I wanted to know how much that would cost or estimated cost to replace


Rich fuel mixture is leaking fuel injectors,failed oxygen sensors

Need clean air filter,new spark plugs

An Exhaust Converter is only good for 12 to 14 years max then
it has to go

This is a social web site we use as you do so prices are are over the internet less labor of coarse

Mar 02, 2013 | 1997 Mercury Cougar XR7

2 Answers

1986 CHEVY CK20 FAILED EMISSION TEST HIGH HYDROCARBONS


mccartlidge. are you serious?? high HC is the result of a headgasket problem??? do everyone a favor and dont give advice when you clearly dont know a damned thing about emissions. as far as solutions to your high HC output, someone else mentioned the possibility of a worn out cat along with carb problems and or a simple air fuel adjustment. this car if i remember correctly has a feedback carb which means it has an oxygen sensor and a mixture control solenoid on the car to fine tune the air fuel mixture. it is not uncommon to have a oxygen sensor not functioning at all or out of normal calibrated range. easy test for oxygen sensor(single wire oxygen sensor ) is to hook up a voltmeter at 0 to 1 volt range(positive lead to oxygen sensor wire, negative lead to any good ground source) and watch the voltage. a perfectly working system the signal should look like a wave constantly rising and falling from .9v-.1v. test at 2500 rpm as well as at idle on a hot engine.if the oxygen sensor doesnt rise and fall, add fuel(spray small amount of carb spray) into carb while at idle or high rpm and the oxyen sensor should go full rich(approx .8-1v) that is point 8(.8v) not eight volts. you will usually see a reading of .9v . if the oxygen sensor doesnt put out a rich reading than its no good. on the other end you can remove a vacuum line(brake booster hose, half way removed as to not stall the engine) the oxygen sensor should go lean which means around .1 volts. if the oxygen sensor does not respond correctly replace it. beyond that, the engine first and foremost has to run on all cylinders to run clean and efficient. if it has a missfire or dead hole that will cause high HC along with high CO as unburnt fuel is going out the tail pipe. i could go on and on about possibilities but figured i would give you a couple basics to go on. Good luck.

Aug 12, 2012 | Chevrolet Chevy Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

My 1991 4runner failed emissions test with high CO and HC levels.


Not sure, but did you replace the oxygen sensors. Is your catalytic converter still good?

Aug 21, 2009 | 1991 Toyota 4Runner

1 Answer

96 tacoma failed inspection because O2 sensor was ''missing bolt''


i heard failing inspection if your HC AND CO emissions is high.not bolts.take it some where else.

May 29, 2009 | 1996 Toyota Tacoma

2 Answers

Emissions failing with high NOx


Change the lambda/oxygen sensor in the exhaust.

May 21, 2009 | 1994 Mitsubishi Galant

1 Answer

My chevy s10 failed emissions


Have your cat. converter checked out. I just had one of these for the same reason in my shop today.

Jul 09, 2008 | 1991 Chevrolet S-10

Not finding what you are looking for?
1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee Logo

Related Topics:

152 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Jeep Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

60867 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

21949 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

6811 Answers

Are you a Jeep Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...