Question about 1999 Ford F150 Regular Cab

3 Answers

My 1999 Ford F150 wont pass inspection because the "service engine soon" light is on. Isnt there a reset button I can hit to resolve this, so I can at least get it inspected.

Posted by on

Ad

3 Answers

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Genius:

    An expert who has answered 1,000 questions.

  • Master
  • 1,098 Answers

You would have to get it on a diagnostic machine to have it turned off, cost about $25 to be honest you could just take the bulb out until after the inspection, thing is mostly they come on for no valid reason, its just another way the car makers squeze money out of us.

hope that helps
Regards
Dan

Posted on Nov 08, 2010

  • Steve S
    Steve S Nov 10, 2010

    The inspections on 1996 and newer cars plugs into the DTC port, and reads the codes. Most test stations won't bother if the light is on ( they already know it will not pass ), but with the light off, they would find the code, and you will still fail.

    There is not a reset button for this, only fixing it. If you disconnect the battery and get it to the test station prior to 2 complete drive cycles, the PCM will still report a DTC P1000 ( tests not completed). Your state might not track this too close, but most states' EPA test stations will find this, and tell you to go drive the car for 30 min, before bringing it back.

    Go to an Autozone and get the code scanned. Get the actual code number ( i.e. P0171 ) and create a new problem here with the number, so it can get fixed. Could be as easy as you need a new gas cap, or the oil dip stick was not in all the way, both of those will illumiante the CEL indicator lamp.

  • Dan Doherty
    Dan Doherty Nov 10, 2010

    I know it would still show a code, but that is only if it was plugged into the DTC port! the point is without the light on they are not going to know, this is for "inspection" for road worthyness so they will not be plugging anything in to the cars computer.

×

Ad
  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 20 times.

    Scholar:

    An expert who has written 20 answers of more than 400 characters.

  • Expert
  • 137 Answers

Most states that have annual inspections (and yes, there are a few that don't, believe it or not!) will not pass a vehicle that the "Check Engine" light doesn't work on. You need to have the problem diagnosed and corrected by someone (a knowledgeable friend or a good shop) to get rid of the problem.

Posted on Dec 03, 2010

Ad
  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

You can try disconecting the battre but if the problem is still there it will come back.

Posted on Nov 09, 2010

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of.(from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones)
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Tried getting ford f150 4.2 2003 inspected. Replaced air filter and fuel filter already. Check engine lit was on before replacing them . Now check engine light is out . But won't pass inspection.


As for your codes p1131 and 1151: Ford - Lack Of Heated Oxygen Sensor Bank 1 Sensor 1 Switches - Sensor Indicates Lean


Last week I had the very same catalyst, evap and ECG codes come up on my 1999 Mercury Mystique which is like a Ford Taurus. A friend was able to find a hole or leak in the hose connected, replaced it and it runs fine. I havent run it a full and straight 50 miles yet to clear the check engine light but that repair alone changed the entire way the car was poorly driving. Im sure that hasnt fixed all the probs but thats a good starting point.

Mar 04, 2013 | 2003 Ford F150 Regular Cab

1 Answer

I just changed the oil in my 2010 ford explorer and the change engine oil soon light wont go off. how do i get it to go off help please thanks.


To reset the oil life to 100%
Hit set up button through all menus to the last menu item
Hit reset button when propted to reset oil life to 100%.

If you hit the reset with out being in the menus the change is only temporary

Aug 01, 2012 | 2010 Ford Explorer

1 Answer

I need to reset to SERVICE ENGINE SON light on my 2002 F150 to pass inspection.


the only way you might be able to get past that is to take it into some hole in the wall inspection place and disconnect the positive battery terminal and it will turn the light off temporarly. but when they plug the computer up to it, its gonna say that it needs to be drivin to get new readings from all the sensors. i would go to some auto part stores and they sell the obd scanner and some of them will turn the light off and hide the issue. but that could cost anywhere from 80-200 dollars...or you could just fix the issue, its just a bad sensor somewhere. prolly an o2 sensor

Nov 12, 2010 | 2002 Ford F150 Regular Cab

2 Answers

1994 ford f150 no reverse lights.wont pass inspection, where is reverse switch located so i can test and what other steps can be taking. thank you


The reverse switch is on the left side of the transmission. Exact location depends on which engine/trans you have.

Sep 29, 2010 | Ford F-150 Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

Have a 2002 Ford F150. Service engine light soon is on. Is there a way to manually pull the codes?


On my 02 ford pu, if you have the digital odometer, I hold the odometer/reset button down while starting engine, it goes thru test and gives error codes. Disconnecting negative battery cable for a minute, then reconnecting, will turn off the light if there are no issues.

Mar 05, 2010 | 2002 Ford F150 Regular Cab

1 Answer

Check Engine Soon


and........what? What do you want to know? Bring it to a mechanic or Ford dealer service dept to troubleshoot what caused the indicator to light. Another possible is, on the last time you filled up with gas, did you make sure to put the gas cap on securely; this can cause a "Check Engine" light.

Oct 20, 2009 | 1999 Ford F150 Regular Cab

1 Answer

I have a 1999 ford f150 with a 4.6l engine. My od


When you get that, it means you are nearing transmission failuer. If you have warranty on the truck, take it to the dealership. If not, swing on by AAMCO and have them inspect it....this is a free service and they will not perform maintenance on it without your consent. It also lets you know what item can be fixed.

Mar 15, 2009 | 1999 Ford F150 Regular Cab

2 Answers

Service Engine Soon Light


take it to Autozone or Kragen auto for a free check of the trouble code that turned on the check engine/service engine soon light, then post the result here, there are over 100 diff faults that can turn the light on, most common are O2 sensors and loose gas caps.

Dec 30, 2008 | 1999 Ford F150 Regular Cab

1 Answer

Service engine light on dash 1999 s-10 pickup


sir, service engine soon is your emissions light malfunction indicator, meaning your car will not pass a smog test. It will not pass inspection in most places either. It can't be reset and stay off till the problem is fixed. Any auto parts store can retrieve the code for you and most like Autozone do it for free, Most common reason for the service engine soon light tends to be an oxygen sensor. But with the code it will lead you to the problem. Hope this helps.

Dec 28, 2008 | 1999 Chevrolet S-10 Pickup

1 Answer

Service engine light is on


if the check/service eng soon light is on a problem has occurred in one or more of the electronic systems of the emission system/engine management, it is very rare you will feel anything, the system has very good failure mode programming to keep that from happening, at this point the only thing will be that it won't pass a smog test, or the mileage may be affected. Have a test run to see which codes are present in the computer memory.

Nov 30, 2008 | 2004 Ford F150

Not finding what you are looking for?
1999 Ford F150 Regular Cab Logo

203 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Ford Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76691 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22219 Answers

fordexpert

Level 3 Expert

5537 Answers

Are you a Ford Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...