Question about 2001 Ford Escape

1 Answer

PCV valve failed visual inspection during smog test, but the car passed physical smog test. How to replace 2002 Ford Escape PCV valve assembly?

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 500 times.

  • Master
  • 1,033 Answers

Remove the hose to the PCV and It simply pulls out and a new one is pushed in and hose is inserted back on. It's kind of like a cork. I can not believe they check for visual inspection. Here in SC, we don't have inspections. But anyways, GOOD LUCK

Posted on Oct 03, 2010

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya Mechanic can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repair professionals here in the US.
click here to Talk to a Mechanic (only for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

White smoke comes out tailpipe when I romp on gas. wont pass smog visual test


Visual test fail is visual white smoke out of the tail pipe?
The engine seems to be burning something it shouldn't, such as coolant, brake fluid, oil. It may have a check engine light on or may not. Give it a leak down test and check for blown gaskets. Look it up in youtube or google it.

Jun 23, 2015 | 2002 Toyota Avalon

1 Answer

Volkswagon jetta 2002. Won't pass smog. All sensor readings are good but visual exhaust gas fails


Check your catalytic converter. If required replace it. In addition check for engine valves. Faulty valves results in partial opening of cylinder volume during burning of fuel and result in dark sooth from exhaust.

Oct 04, 2014 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Why can't I pass smog check engine light won't come on


The smog check requires a visual inspection of your check engine light. It has to come on for a bulb check at startup to make sure it's working. But, the light must go out after starting the engine(it cannot stay on after the engine starts during a smog check). If the check engine light fails either of these two tests, the vehicle will fail the smog check inspection.
You need to have the cause of your inoperative check engine light diagnosed and repaired.

May 31, 2014 | 2004 Chevrolet Blazer

1 Answer

2001 Ford Escape 3.0L V6 Engine Code P1409


Had this code for over 2 years on my 02 escape. FINALLY, found the solution. DONT replace your egr vacuum solenoid (unless you see broken pins on the connector). You can always test the solenoid to see if it still works if you suspect the solenoid is the culprit. Rather, most likely the problem will be in your electrical harness that connects from the solenoid to the pcm. I had no visible broken wires. However, in my case, my female connector harness that plugs into the solenoid was faulty. Replaced it by soldering the wires from a "new" harness that i got from the junk yard. If this fails for you, the problem will be almost guaranteed to be in either your pcm hardware or a broken pin at the pcm connection.

May 08, 2012 | 2001 Ford Escape

1 Answer

I have a 1994 VW Jetta, 2.0 liter engine. My car failed visual inspection at a smog testing site. According to them, there were no hoses attached to the pcv valve. The car had, had previous work done on...


Don't know what you have or don't have. It needs a PCV valve that connects on top of the valve cover thru a rubber gromet, connects to the intake tube, and connects to a pipe that leads down the engine block and connects to the side of the engine block. This tube connects to the engine block thru this other device bolted to the side of the block.
Select Part to View

May 21, 2017 | Volkswagen Jetta Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

My 2007 Chevy Avalanche failed the emission test with the code of P0455 what is the problem?


It is probably the evap vent valve. A new vent solenoid valve has been redesigned to correct the problem you are having. I would recommend purchasing the dealer component.
I hope this helps.

Jul 02, 2011 | Chevrolet Avalanche Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

My 1990 chevy astro van didn't pass smog. Paperwork says it failed the following; Ignition timing: 99 ATDC. Also, ASM Emission Test Results; 15mph HC (PPM) max is 122 measured 127, 25mph max is 102...


the smog test looks like the engine is miss firing, that could cause the timing to be out of whack also, try a old fashioned tune up, new spark plugs, wires, and filters also replace the PCV valve. any time you see the NO that high suspect a miss fire.

Feb 24, 2011 | Chevrolet Astro Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

My 88 ford f250 didnt pass smog the other day. it


one end goes to intake manifold vacuum nipple and the other one goes to the evap [carbon] canister

Apr 24, 2010 | 1989 Ford F 250

1 Answer

86 buick regal pcv hose is loose


3/8 fuel line is heavy enough to use,and the pcv valve is located in the valve cover.

Feb 17, 2009 | 1986 Buick Regal

Not finding what you are looking for?
2001 Ford Escape Logo

466 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Ford Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

77169 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22258 Answers

fordexpert

Level 3 Expert

5572 Answers

Are you a Ford Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...