Question about 1996 Chevrolet S-10 Pickup

3 Answers

Can't get my 96 chev s-10 to pass inspection due to Not ready codes. I recently change the battery and have driven the veh about 200 miles. Autozone checked and said it was all good but the state inspection machine still shows a couple not ready's. Need to know what defines a drive cycle so I can get the computer to reset to ready?? Or any other suggestions. Thank You

Posted by on

  • pfowler29 Sep 13, 2010

    I will give it a try. I really appreciate your help!!!!!

×

Ad

3 Answers

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 500 times.

  • Master
  • 834 Answers

Here is the drive cycle procedure for that vehicle, and let me know if you require any further assistance.


Running an OBD-II Drive Cycle

The purpose of the OBD-II drive cycle is to run all of the onboard diagnostics. The drive cycle should be perfomed when any trouble codes are erased from the PCM or if the battery was dis-connected. Performing the drive cycle will reset the monitors so that any further trouble codes can be detected.

The OBD-II system drive cycle begins with a cold start with the coolant temperature below 120 degrees F. and the coolant and the air temperature sensors within 10 degrees of each other. (The ignition key must not be "on" or in the "Run" position until the cold start or the heated O2 sensor diagnostic might not start)

1. As soon as the vehicle starts up, idle the engine in drive for two and a half minutes with the AC and the rear defrost on if equipped with a rear window defroster. The OBD-II will check the O2 sensor circuits, the air pump, and the EVAP purge.

2. After the two and a half minutes turn off the AC and the rear window defrost, and then accelerate to 55 mph at half throttle. OBD-II checks for any ignition mis-fires, fuel trim, and canister purge.

3. Hold steady at 55 mph for three minutes. OBD-II monitors the EGR system, the air pump, the O2 sensors and the canister purge.

4. After the three minutes decelerate down to 20 mph without using the brakes or the clutch. OBD-II checks the EGR and the purge functions.

5. Accelerate back up to 55 mph at half throttle. OBD-II checks for mis-fires, fuel trim, and purge functions again.

6. Hold steady at 55 mph for five minutes. OBD-II will monitor catalytic converter efficiency, for any mis-fires, EGR function, fuel trim, O2 sensor operation, and purge functions.

7. Decelerate to a stiop without using the brakes or the clutch. OBD-II makes a final check of the EGR system and the canister purge functions.

Posted on Sep 12, 2010

Ad
  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

    Corporal:

    An expert that has over 10 points.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 2 times.

  • Expert
  • 122 Answers

WHAT DID NOT SET?AND WHAT CODES SET. AT 200. MILES SOME THING IS GOING ON . I HAD A CHEVY FRONT WHEEL DRIVE THAT WOULD NOT SET THE MONITORS BUT HE WENT 40 STREET OF THE SOUTH OF 202 EMISSION PLACE AND THE GAVE HIM THE OK .NEVER FOUND WHAT THEY DID .

Posted on Feb 12, 2013

Ad
  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

I need to know the set up drive cycle for a chevy cheyenne 1996 pick up with a 2 wheel drive 5.7 motor

Posted on Feb 11, 2013

  • Ray Jones
    Ray Jones Apr 04, 2016

    How the hell are you supposed to accelerate to 55 and hold steady then decelerate without braking to 20 mph in the real world?????

×

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of.(from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones)
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

1999 Mazda B2500 won't pass inspection


Generally speaking, the not ready issue means the truck has not been driven enough since the battery was disconnected or the codes were cleared to have a new history. The cycle drive needs to include about 50-100 miles of both city and highway driving with the engine at normal operating temp. The distance does not have to be done in one trip.

Feb 20, 2014 | 1998 Ford Ranger SuperCab

1 Answer

No information reading on scan tool when connected to aldl plug on jeep wrangler


Yes. Or one of the circuits back to the computer.
Even tho you have driven 200 miles the drive must include several things including stop-n-go and various speeds to be ready for a test.
You should be able to connect a scanner to the connector and read the current data flow from the sensors even if the system is not ready for a test.

Mar 06, 2013 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

How many miles do i need to drive to have the computer re-ready to accept obd codes?


200 miles is more than enough. p0420 is a cat code meaning the cat in the exhaust is not doing its job. you need to make sure there are no exhaust leaks before the downstream (last one) o2 sensor. if you can get all but 1 monitor to set without the check eng light coming on, you will pass pa emmissions.

Jun 30, 2012 | Suzuki Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Building emissions history to pass smog test


if you are failing emmissions test your evaporator canister is expired replace it and then you and your car will get a green light

Dec 31, 2011 | 2000 Ford Escort

1 Answer

1999 chev malibu - went for inspection today but would not pass. Car has not be driven much over the past year. Was told that we needed to reset the driving cycle. We were told this infomation could be...


Hi, I found this answer online for you.
"Just drive the car normally for about a week (50-75 miles various driving conditions) and the ready status should be complete to the point where the smog check will show ready. You can ask the smog check technician to check the readiness status before the test is redone to be sure."
Good Luck,
Wayne

Jan 25, 2011 | 1999 Chevrolet Malibu

4 Answers

Need to reset 2007 equinox after replacing battery to pass inspection... Any ideas?


i took the battery out of an o7 Eqinox to check the washer pump. when i put the battery back in, the car won't start & now the key is stuck in the ignition. i took the battery to be tested & it is good.

Nov 11, 2010 | 2007 Chevrolet Equinox LS New Cars

1 Answer

I cannot inspect my car because it reads is not ready yet. I used a actron code reader and I had one code that turn out to be the ox sensor by cat. I changed it. When I went back to autozone to get codes...


Basically take the car for a long drive .
Stop off get gas , drive to a shopping center( need a few on/ off starts). Few hard braking , few not so hard braking. reverse when possible . Gotta figure about 30- 50 miles of driving.

May 10, 2010 | 2002 Mazda Protege

2 Answers

My 2002 Grand Prix GT 3.8L Won't pass emissions. Testing center's scanner says car was recently worked on and that the mileage driven since is not enough to recycle check engine light. The ck eng. light...


Nope, you just need more miles. When the car's computer has been disconnected from power (such as when the battery is unhooked), it'll set what are called "readiness codes" when power is reapplied. It takes a certain number of miles to clear these - some cars require 50 miles, some 100 miles, and some (such as some Isuzu models) need very specific drive cycles to clear them. Once the requisite number of miles have been driven without issues, the readiness codes will extinguish and your car should pass.

Dec 10, 2009 | 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix

Not finding what you are looking for?
1996 Chevrolet S-10 Pickup Logo

1,632 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Chevrolet Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76846 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22246 Answers

Ronny Bennett Sr.
Ronny Bennett Sr.

Level 3 Expert

6924 Answers

Are you a Chevrolet Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...