Question about 2007 Mercedes-Benz R500

1 Answer

Opinion about the car

What is this car like?

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Master
  • 1,010 Answers

Whenever I am tasked with driving the Mercedes-Benz R500, I am reminded of the Dennis Miller phrase, "I rant, therefore I am." I try so hard to have something nice to say about this car, but I simply can't. It drives like a building, it's as cute as a warthog, and mostly , it tries to do too much and doesn't do any of it particularly well. I have mentioned this before, but it bugged me last night. It's the damn hatch in the back. Opens via key fob (presumably designed for target-demo mother whose hands are presumably too full of cell phone, lipstick and possibly a young'un to actually open the thing itself). Then you push the red button and it closes automatically. Problem is, roughly 2 out of 3 times, it doesn't close tight, the dash warning light goes on, you have to get out and open it again (to the sound of that incredibly loud industrial-dump-truck-backing-up beep) and slam it again.

Posted on May 14, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Engine is old


My personal preferrence would be to swap or get another car. This particular car in my opinion doesn't hold the value of cost to rebuild the engine. Just my opinion.

Nov 12, 2013 | 1999 Saturn SL

1 Answer

The check engine light went on in my 2003 Toyota Camry XLE 4 cylinder. The dealer says I need a new main cumputer since it won't communictae with their scanner...should I get a 2nd opinion? Thanks.


yes you can go to autozone advanced auto or pepboys and they will hook up a diagnostic for free and they tell you what you need-second opinion is always good-just like with a doctor-cheers Denny

Nov 02, 2013 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Is it good to put redex in my car


Put it this way - if diesel fuel additives were really essential, they would be added at the refinery, and that is what does happen.
Although wide published opinion is divided I believe you will find that well informed opinion is against it. I would not bother.
If you do decide to give it a try, make sure it is Redex for diesel, not petrol.

Apr 08, 2012 | Ford Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

99 super beetle = 2 oil leaks. Ticking sound, which the mechanic stated reveals engine damage. He commented he can fix the 2 oil leaks, but cannot guarantee the life of the car stating it could be 2...


Second opinion needed.

Based on your wallet and second opinion..used engine replacement. They fetch around $500.00 to $800.00....think + $600.00 for install.

Jan 13, 2011 | 1999 Volkswagen Beetle

1 Answer

The rear fog lights are not workin on my peugoet 406


In my opinion you have already checked and cured the most common problem zones. In my opinion take it to a car electrician and let him find out the problem. May be the wiring is faulty.

Sep 01, 2009 | 2005 Peugeot 405

1 Answer

Best Replacement Tires for 2007 Tahoe?


Michelin All terrain are In my Opinion the Best Choise for Your Tahoe

Mar 04, 2009 | 2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

2 Answers

Replaced radiator leaking from bottom of engine checked hoses ok


check the lower radiator hose clamp and also if it has drain plug for the radiator make sure it is closed and if it is coming out of the back of the engine it could be the intake gaskets but check the hoses and plug first

Jan 25, 2009 | 1997 Cadillac Catera

1 Answer

I just paid $5ooo for a 1998 Subaru Forester 2.5 L. very clean,


That is always a matter of opinion. You can get a professional opinion at Kelleybluebook.com. That is where a lot of dealerships get there prices.

Dec 24, 2008 | 1998 Subaru Forester

2 Answers

Wheel bearings, front & rear struts


In my humble opinion, I would say this is not normal wear and tear. If it were me I would get a 2nd opinion. I have been driving for over 40 years and I do not remember the last time I had to replace a wheel bearing. I'm not saying it can't happen but another opinion would be worth the nominal cost.

And if the answer is a strong "it's not needed" I would find another mechanic than the one that gave you the estimate

Hope this helps Loringh

Oct 19, 2008 | 2004 Toyota Corolla

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

123 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Mercedes-Benz Experts

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

21949 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

61168 Answers

Michael Contreras
Michael Contreras

Level 2 Expert

164 Answers

Are you a Mercedes-Benz Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...