Question about 2001 Ford F150 Styleside SuperCrew

1 Answer

97 ford f150 will not pass inspection

97 ford f150 Lariat will not pass inspection. Any help will be appreciated.

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Ford Master
  • 5,520 Answers

If you have a component problem (plug missfires, run rich, bad O2 sensors, etc.) the "check engine light" should have come on in the dash. Its possible that warning light is burned out.

You need to get a free scan from Autozone or Oreillys or a similar autoparts place. There may be problems a scanner can pick up or the source of all your problem is the onboard computer which is not lighting up the "Check Engine Light". Either way, a scan will let you at least know the computer is working.

If you have a V-8 with the Aluminum intake, there is a groove under the Airhorn gasket that gets sooted up. 8 bolts and a $10 gasket fixes it when you clean it. Also check the plumbing from the "Backpressure pipe", it goes from Exhaust to EGR pipes at back of engine. This can give burnt sulfur smell on accelleration if there are holes in it.

In some states you get a print out of the test and when they fail the mechanic at least will give you an estimate to fix the problem. There is also a liquid sold at Autoparts places to help your vehicle pass the test. It is a gas additive. Then since oil vapors are drawn into the engine to burn, clean semisynthetic oil will have less contaminants. Do an oil change and new Air filter before testing.

I hope these suggestions are helpful.

Posted on Aug 01, 2010

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

97 ford f150 lariat codes PO161 PO171 PO174 & P1450 WHERE DO I START ?


Go here for all your codes and possible issues. http://engine-codes.com/year/1997/FORD/f150/2

Jan 24, 2015 | Ford Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I have no stop or signal lights on my trailer... 2001 ford f 150 lariat ....all trailer lights work on my other truck... any help is appreciated!!!!


I would bet you have a GROUND PROBLEM... IT happens to me and my trailer 2 times a year... Clean the Grounds and you will be ok

Apr 10, 2013 | 2001 Ford F150 Styleside SuperCrew

1 Answer

Tried getting ford f150 4.2 2003 inspected. Replaced air filter and fuel filter already. Check engine lit was on before replacing them . Now check engine light is out . But won't pass inspection.


As for your codes p1131 and 1151: Ford - Lack Of Heated Oxygen Sensor Bank 1 Sensor 1 Switches - Sensor Indicates Lean


Last week I had the very same catalyst, evap and ECG codes come up on my 1999 Mercury Mystique which is like a Ford Taurus. A friend was able to find a hole or leak in the hose connected, replaced it and it runs fine. I havent run it a full and straight 50 miles yet to clear the check engine light but that repair alone changed the entire way the car was poorly driving. Im sure that hasnt fixed all the probs but thats a good starting point.

Mar 04, 2013 | 2003 Ford F150 Regular Cab

1 Answer

1991 Ford F150 xlt Lariat 5.0 engine Fuel pump


Had a problem like this before and it was the computer..But you could faintly smell something like burnt wires..The computer should be down by the kick panel on the driverside..See if you smell anything on that side

Sep 08, 2011 | 1991 Ford F150

1 Answer

I just started to fix up my 1991 f150 lariat, and every time i turn the truck off and walk away it die, when i disconnect the the battery and reconnect it the fuel pump turn on and stays on, some people...


it could be the PCM , but I would check the fuel pump relay first. the relay could be sticking to make the fuel pump run all the time. as far as the dying problem you may want to check the idle air by-pass valve to make sure your idle rpm's are sufficient.

Jul 28, 2011 | 1991 Ford F150

1 Answer

97 F-150 4x4 lariat interior fuse box diagram needed


https://www.genuineservice.com/genuineservice/en/default?page=genuineService Go to this site click on the owner manual link on the left hand side enter info then click on download owner manual fuse diagrams start on page 137

Mar 24, 2009 | 1997 Ford F150 Regular Cab

3 Answers

1997 Ford F 150 Fuse box diagram


You should be able to pick up a manual on a 97 Ford F150 from any of the major auto stores like Auto Zone, etc


Good luck Loringh

Oct 25, 2008 | 1997 Ford F150 Regular Cab

2 Answers

Ford f-150 lariat super crew


hey very frustrating i know mine does the same it looks to me that the problem is revolving around the throttle body or the tps throttle positioning sensor i was looking at all the postings on here sounds legit

Sep 22, 2008 | 2004 Ford F150

2 Answers

1986 F150 lighting problem


Rusty Did you receive the diagrams I sent? Park lights and dash lights are on the same fuse and circuit.

Sep 10, 2008 | 1986 Ford F150 SuperCab

Not finding what you are looking for?
2001 Ford F150 Styleside SuperCrew Logo

128 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Ford Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76109 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22156 Answers

fordexpert

Level 3 Expert

5520 Answers

Are you a Ford Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...