Question about 2005 Hyundai Sonata

2 Answers

Has Hyundai had any complaints on 2005 Sonata's with a standard transmission

Posted by on

2 Answers

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Hyundai Master
  • 2,984 Answers

The only thing I see in bulletins and recalls for that year/model/transmission is gear oil...that's it. What's the problem?

Posted on May 12, 2010

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Brigadier General:

    An expert that has over 10,000 points.

  • Master
  • 7,353 Answers

What is YOUR complaint?

Posted on May 12, 2010

6 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

  • 94 Answers

SOURCE: 2005 hyundai sonata

It is very possible it is the reverse switch that has failed. If you look down between the air filter housing and radiator hoses the reverse switch can be found in the transmission case. The switch has a pink wire that should have 12 volts with the ignition on, and a light green that has 12 volts in reverse only. If the pink wire has power and there is none on the light green in reverse, the switch has failed.

Posted on Jun 23, 2009

  • 850 Answers

SOURCE: 2005 Hyundai Sonata cranks, no spark

usually the distributor MODULE
they are renound for this sort of drama
get the wiring checked aswell as it may be due to faulty charging & causing computor errors [I hope you didnt short out the battery when you changed it!!!! ]

Posted on Jul 17, 2009

ghost45
  • 1280 Answers

SOURCE: driver's side headlight in a 2005 hyundai sonata

Go to www.hmaservice.com and register( Vehicle by VIN). Afterward, you have access to shop manuals, service bulletins, wiring diagrams, etc. about your vehicle.

Posted on Nov 04, 2009

  • 1348 Answers

SOURCE: 2000 hyundai sonata auto transmission removal?

Disconnect the battery.remove the front tires.disconnect the lower control arms from the hubs.Remove the axle nuts.Swing away the hub until it clears the end of the drive axle spline.Keep it to the side.Remove the drive axles. remove the starter.remove the torque converter bolts on the flywheel.disconnect the gear linkage and all electrical connectors.disconnect the transmission cooler lines. undo the transmission mounts. use a transmission jack to lower the transmission.Installation is the reverse of the above.Be sure to torque all bolts and nuts to spec,pre load the mounts and replace the cotter pins with new ones.it should take about 5 hours to re and re the transmission.

Posted on Apr 13, 2010

  • 4793 Answers

SOURCE: How to shut the alarm on 2005 Hyundai sonata

no valet switch,you will have to replace batteries/keypad to make it work and you CANNOT bypass the system......otherwise whats the point in fitting it??

Posted on Jun 26, 2010

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I need to know how and where to check the transmission oil (standard) for a 2005 hyundai sonata


There Is a fill plug on the side of the transmission, you need to raise the vehicle and access it from under the car, correct level is that the fluid is just below the edge of the threads of the fill plug.

Oct 21, 2016 | Hyundai Cars & Trucks

Tip

What you need to know about Hyundai


I am a mechanic ..most people ask questions about these foreign hyundai motors ..below is an example of engines that basically if you ask about a Hyundai Xg 350 ,xg300 ..well allow me to hammer 90% of your questions in case you want to grab another motor ..these motors listed will work on 90% of all hyundai products ...Look at the starter sizes ,,all the same for the selected models ..then look at the motor sizes ..This will help you in solving some problems most do not give the specific questioning
100% NEW REPLACEMENT STARTER
FOR
STARTER

12 VOLT / CW ROTATION / 8 TOOTH DRIVE

REPLACES:
MANDO M62957
VALEO TM000A14401
BOSCH REMAN SR4118X
BOSCH NEWMAN SR4118N
HYUNDAI 36100-37210

FITS ON:

HYUNDAI
2001 SANTA FE 2.7L ENGINE
2002 SANTA FE 2.7L ENGINE
2003 SANTA FE 2.7L ENGINE
2004 SANTA FE 2.7L ENGINE
2005 SANTA FE 2.7L ENGINE
2006 SANTA FE 2.7L ENGINE

2003 SANTA FE 3.5L ENGINE
2004 SANTA FE 3.5L ENGINE
2005 SANTA FE 3.5L ENGINE
2006 SANTA FE 3.5L ENGINE

2002 SONATA 2.7L ENGINE
2003 SONATA 2.7L ENGINE
2004 SONATA 2.7L ENGINE
2005 SONATA 2.7L ENGINE

1999 SONATA 2.5L ENGINE
2000 SONATA 2.5L ENGINE
2001 SONATA 2.5L ENGINE

2003-2008 TIBURON 2.7L ENGINE

2005-2008 TUCSON 2.7L ENGINE

2001 XG300 3.0L ENGINE

2002 XG350 3.5L ENGINE
2003 XG350 3.5L ENGINE
2004 XG350 3.5L ENGINE
2005 XG350 3.5L ENGINE

KIA
2004 AMANTI 3.5L ENGINE
2005 AMANTI 3.5L ENGINE
2006 AMANTI 3.5L ENGINE

2001 MAGENTIS 2.5L ENGINE

2002-2006 MAGENTIS 2.7L ENGINE

2001 OPTIMA 2.5L ENGINE

2002 OPTIMA 2.7L ENGINE
2003 OPTIMA 2.7L ENGINE
2004 OPTIMA 2.7L ENGINE
2005 OPTIMA 2.7L ENGINE
2006 OPTIMA 2.7L ENGINE

2002-2005 SEDONA 3.5L ENGINE

2005 SPORTAGE 2.7L ENGINE
2006 SPORTAGE 2.7L ENGINE
2007 SPORTAGE 2.7L ENGINE
2008 SPORTAGE 2.7L ENGINE

on Oct 24, 2013 | Hyundai Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

No reverse in my 2006 Hyundai Tiburon hatchback 5 speed what could be problem


"Car won't go in reverse" - New Tiburon Forum : Hyundai Tiburon ...

www.newtiburon.com/forums/.../189049-car-won-t-go-reverse.html

Aug 8, 2010 - 23 posts - ‎16 authors
Okay guys I just sold my 03 tiburon GT 6 speed to a 16 year old. I just got a ... Join Date: Sep 2006. Location: ... "It stalls and just drift forward, no reverse lights" Now did he break somethng or is he putting it in 6th..... Any Ideas. ... To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. Location of reverse light switch? - New Tiburon Forum ...
8 posts
Jul 23, 2014
So who's reverse lights don't work? - New Tiburon ...
25 posts
Apr 11, 2009
More results from www.newtiburon.com
Missing: hatchback

2003 Hyundai Tiburon Manual Transmission Complaints

www.aboutautomobile.com/.../Hyundai/Tiburon/Manual+Transmission
My 2003 hyundai tiburon clutch and flywheel broke on 3 separate occasions since ...into reverse, I had a hard time finding it, it would not let me put it into reverse and I ....2006; Description of the Complaint: I have 2003 v6 tiburon, clutch failed at ... bought 2004 5 speed tiburon (she bought it before my problems started) and ...

Transmission Won't Shift/CEL Due to Failed Speed Sensors ...

repairpal.com > Problems > Hyundai > Sonata

Jan 03, 2016 | Hyundai Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Where's the starter for 2005 hyundai sonata


back bottom or front bottom center of motor or on the transmission side of the motor

May 07, 2012 | 2005 Hyundai Sonata

1 Answer

My 2005 Hyundai Sonata just developed a problem with my brake lights staying on continously when I turn my lights on. And when my lights are off and I push the brakes my parking lights come on. I can't...


2005 hyundai sonata replaced all calipers and rotors and pads and customer came back same day with complaint of car slowing down without applying brakes, when test drove found all brakes to get hot and also to be locked up until cooled off.and when i cracked open a bleeder the brakes released and no fluid came out, i dont understand why!!!

Jan 30, 2011 | Hyundai Sonata Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I am trying to separate the transmission from the engine enough to get the clutch out on my 2005 hyundai sonata.


Pull the drive axles and then the entire transaxle,
so you can work on the back of the engine

Dec 04, 2010 | Hyundai Motor 2002 Sonata

1 Answer

2005 hyundai sonata oil light flickers. oil


Yes there is a sensor located on the front of engine on the transmission side(single wire). It cannot be "reset". Possibly loose connection at the sensor,or a faulty sensor, OR... you could be losing oil pressure inside the engine somewhere(lets hope not) these engines are designed to run on very low oil pressure compared to cars of days gone by. The sonata 4 cylinder runs about only 12 psi. The V6 is 7.6 psi or more.
So if it is an oil pressure issue it is extremely important not to run the car before it is fixed or you will need an entire engine.

Jan 24, 2010 | 2005 Hyundai Sonata

1 Answer

2005 hyundai sonata--car locks itself with keys in ignition


I own a 2005 Hyundai Sonata as well and this has happened to me. All the doors automatically lock as I pull on the door handle to get back in the car. This happened twice in the winter of 2007-2008, then it didn't happen again until this past December 2009 and now today in January 2010.

I wonder if it has something to do with cold temperatures? Or maybe that's when I'm more likely to leave my keys in the ignition with the car running!

But it is a big pain, one time my two year old was in the car and the fire department had to come pry a door open! I started carrying the box with the unlock button in my coat but even this would not unlock the doors this morning. Only the spare key will do.

I am taking my car into the dealer to take a look. And I'm going to write a complaint to Hyundai. This is unacceptable.

Nov 23, 2009 | 2005 Hyundai Sonata

1 Answer

I cant take the alternator off of a 2005 hyundai sonata. i try to take off the bolt, it gets halfway off and hits the motor mount


Not possible. The 2005 Sonata came with two different engines - the 2.4 I4 and the 2.7 V6. On the 2.4 I4, the alternator is near the firewall and on the 2.7 V6 it's in the front near the radiator. Neither one is near any motor mounts. The four (4) motor mounts are located on either side of the transmission and at the engine front top and the transmission rear. Something else is in your way, perhaps the right side engine compartment side rail.

Oct 04, 2009 | 2005 Hyundai Sonata

1 Answer

2005 hyundai sonata


It is very possible it is the reverse switch that has failed. If you look down between the air filter housing and radiator hoses the reverse switch can be found in the transmission case. The switch has a pink wire that should have 12 volts with the ignition on, and a light green that has 12 volts in reverse only. If the pink wire has power and there is none on the light green in reverse, the switch has failed.

Jun 22, 2009 | 2005 Hyundai Sonata

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

196 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Hyundai Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75197 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

7782 Answers

Are you a Hyundai Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...