Question about 2001 Dodge Ram 2500 Truck

4 Answers

Just failed inspection on my 2004 Grand Am (engine light is on) with a fault code P0455. (4C; 2.2L). What kind of damage am I looking at & can I fix this myself? Pretty please help me!

Posted by on

4 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Yes I am going through this issue right now on my 2008 Impala. The gas cap was replaced by the dealer and I still smell the smell and the light just came back on saying the same thing. EMISSION LEAK. Well I have a shop thats gonna look at it on Friday and they say it is a hose more than likely. I hope it is an inexpensive fix.....

Posted on Oct 04, 2011

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 20 times.

    Scholar:

    An expert who has written 20 answers of more than 400 characters.

  • Expert
  • 102 Answers

Http://www.obd-codes.com/p0455 this is a complete list of EVAP leak culprits. Most are very easy to fix. Finding a vacuum leak can be time consuming but is very easy to fix and very cheap.Most small vacuum leaks can be fixed with shrink tubing or a hose joiner of the right size.

Posted on Feb 03, 2010

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Vice President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 100 times.

  • Dodge Master
  • 752 Answers

Just geta new gas cap and drive it for a couple of miles and see if the light turns off.. good luck

Posted on Feb 03, 2010

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 20 times.

    Scholar:

    An expert who has written 20 answers of more than 400 characters.

  • Expert
  • 84 Answers

P0455 definition

Technical Description Evaporative Emission Control System Leak Detected (no purge flow or large leak)
What does that mean? This indicates a fuel vapor leak or lack of purge flow in the EVAP control system. It means a large leak has been detected. The (EVAP) emission control system prevents the escape of fuel vapors from a vehicle's fuel system. Fuel vapors are routed by hoses to a charcoal canister for storage. Later, when the engine is running a purge control valve opens allowing intake vacuum to siphon the fuel vapors into the engine. you shouldn't notice any drivability problems.
Causes A code p0455 most likely means one or more of the following has happened:

  • A loose or improperly affixed gas cap
  • A non-conforming gas cap (i.e. not factory/original brand)
  • Other leak or damaged piece in EVAP system
Try checking the gas cap to see if it is loose. If it is tight then try replacing it. If that doesn't work then there is a hoe somewhere in the evap system. The easiest way to find this kind of leak is with a fogging machine. which means shop which means$$. You can check for yourself. Look for any disconnected hoes,etc. You might be able to hear if there is a vacuum leak when the car is running, it will be a hissing sound. If you can smell gas and the car isn't running, there is a leak somewhere.

Good luck and hope this helped.

Posted on Feb 03, 2010

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

2004 porsche cayenne i reset computer and now it will not start


Clearing Codes, clears all data, then all the emission
monitors have to run again, or you won't be excepted
to inspection

Clearing codes & data,has nothing to do with diagnosing
why you got the fault codes & fixing the problems

How would clearing a dash light help pass inspection?

Before you got down the street two houses, the light would
be back,the car has a failed system ,thus the light on the
dash after the motor is started.

You cleared all data,now a shop can't even work on it
You removed all vehicle history & codes

Flat bed it to a shop & they will make the repairs you neglected
to do, while trying to get hundred miles before the parameters
on a failed system went out of range & the dash light came back

Need to study OBD 2 Systems on the internet & leave the vehicle
work to the pros

Apr 10, 2014 | 2004 Porsche Cayenne

1 Answer

Have 04 mercury grand marquis check engine light is on for code po452 had that fixed and light still on


Well ---PO 452 is still FTP Sensor Circuit Low Voltage Detected
new sensor or not



If the sensor reads less than .22volts with key on /engine off --you get a hard fault (code)


Check Sensor Connector


Sensor with no pressure or vacuum in tank is 2.4 to 2.8 volts
Key On/Eng Off On scan tool PIDS


You just need a shop with a data base & proper test procedure
or a different tech or different dealer.


I have the 2004 gas engine emissions diagnostic manual for all
2004 fords, as I have a Lincoln LS,so I don't know why a pro
couldn't resolve

Nov 25, 2012 | 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis

1 Answer

Engine light on do to coolant system problem.. car runs great...got it tested they said some code for the cooling system..please help if you know.. thanks...


Check engine light means emissions control system problem.
Who came up with the fault code. These codes are kind of
specific and usually indicate which sensor or component has
failed. If you didn't, have Mazda check it out. The only way
to permanently clear the light is to replace the defective part.
Don't advise driving too long with it on, could cause damage.

Jan 14, 2011 | 2004 Mazda 3

2 Answers

Engine light came on and gave me a code 1757 what does it mean


P1757 is a transmission code. This one probably wouldn't have failed you in the emissions inspection. The P0442 will, though. The P1757 is a transmission governer pressure switch fault. Either the switch is bad, or the wiring to the switch is bad. If this was a history code stored in your computer, this may have been a one time occurance. If it's a current code, you will be looking at this circuit. It's easiest diagnosed with a scantool.

Sep 10, 2010 | 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

1 Answer

My 2004 gran prix (gtp) just hit 100000 miles. What maintenance needs to be done now?


Spark plugs, transmission fluid and coolant change, supercharger oil, air filter, fuel filter, tires, brakes, engine mounts, BTSI inspection and power steering fluid. Also inspect the belts, hoses, pulleys and look for wiring damage.

Jul 02, 2010 | 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix

1 Answer

Engine light is on, all fluids, fan belts look good.


you will have to see what the code is for the engine light to turn on. cause it could be anything from a gas cap not on all the way

Jan 08, 2010 | 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

3 Answers

I have a 2004 VW Beetle. I keep getting the engine diagnostic code P2181. This code is not in my manual. What is it?


Trouble Code: P2181

Cooling System Performance Malfunction
Possible Causes:


ECT sensor has failed ECT Sensor (on Radiator) has failed ECT sensor signal circuit is open (inspect wiring & connector) ECT sensor signal circuit is shorted Cooling system malfunction, or the thermostat is stuck Engine not operating at normal operating temperature EOT sensor is damaged or it has failed

Sep 28, 2009 | 2004 Volkswagen Beetle

2 Answers

2004 Pontiac Grand Am SE1 loud noise


It is probably the wheel bearings they have been known for that.

Oct 26, 2008 | 2004 Pontiac Grand Am

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

322 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Dodge Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75824 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22156 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8215 Answers

Are you a Dodge Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...