Question about 1998 Ford Windstar

1 Answer

Car won't past inspection

Hi i have been to many mechanics and they all give differant prices. so the problem is that the codes that show up when they run a diagnostic is 0340 and 0430 so can u please give me an idea of what needs to be fixed and an estimate because the estimates i got where in range from 200.00 to 1,000.00 thanx karima

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Ford Master
  • 5,763 Answers

You have a camshaft code and a catalyst system efficiency code. may need a converter or o2 sensor for bank 2 and a cam sensor.hard to say without some testing,so hard to price out.SORRY!!

Posted on Oct 01, 2009

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

What could be the probable cause(s) of a persistent DTC P0401?


Did you do a reset on it? Easy way to reset is disconnect the battery. It will reset the "brain" to show no codes.

May 29, 2015 | Cars & Trucks

10 Answers

Check engine light flashing on 2002 X-Type


i think you can do this a bit cheaper. cost is too high i feel.

consult with another shop also

Oct 08, 2008 | 2002 Jaguar X-Type

1 Answer

What can I do to past auto inspection?


Because of lack of information (data) about your inspection, it is hard to tell where the failure is.
For more information about changing catalytic converter. The price can be 10 times different.
The highest quota I got was over $1400 (the golden smog station), the lowest was below $200 (found by state division where I asked for compensation due to old car -- since I cannot go there directly, I paid $325 fro an agent to do it). Dealer was asking for $700.
After changed a home genie catalytic converter, which worked better then the original manufactured till car is dead in another 10 years, I brought it back to the golden smog station for free re-test. The technician did not believe that is a new, and inspected to verify that is true.
This homegenie catalytic converter passed a number of smog tests till car is dead after another 10 years.
BTW, the original manufactured catalytic converter failed on the very first smog check at year 6 or 7 after can was bought, so it is possible you had a failure catalytic converter, but inspection result may tell.

Jul 21, 2014 | 1990 Toyota Camry

1 Answer

Check Transaxle Ligh flashing shortly after replacing spark plugs


First --- spark plugs seldom fail to fire & cause misfires,
unless they are badly worn & you also have other issues,
such as ignition coil or module problems or vacuum leaks,
to name two.
Also codes are not needed to diagnose any vehicle problem.
To say they can't diagnose a cylinder misfire or a torque converter lock-up solenoid or codes, means you went to the wrong shop or they misunderstood your intentions to spend any money, to actually perform the necessary testing or diagnostic procedures

Jul 12, 2013 | 2000 Mercury Sable

1 Answer

I have a Nissan Maxima 3.0, 2001front end going over bumps there's a lot of metal rattling !!


Go to Midas,they will inspect and find out what is rattling and give you a quote on the price,but if you can't afford,it won't cost anything to get checked out, I use them and they have a life time warranty.They will also raise up and show you what is wrong.

Aug 06, 2012 | 2000 Nissan Maxima

1 Answer

It is hard to turn left but it will turn right without touching the wheel


1990?? could just be past its sell by date ,in america their is no yearly mechanical inspection so this could be a combination of mechanical faults with the suspension and or also its been curbed and now its crabbing ,ask a local mechanic to have a look and give a verdict then post but i think that you may just need to scrap the vehicle

Sep 07, 2010 | 1990 Honda Accord

1 Answer

Check Engine Light came on.....code was O2 sensors.....replaced myself..... mechanic cleared codes.....Said I had to drive at least 100 miles for reset to register inspection with DMV......Drove nearly 550...


were this oem sensor (original) or after market? some times the after mark are not as good. the miles you did are this stop and go (city) or higwh ,there a certain procedure to reset this computers some cars take longer than othersget your mechanic to do it him self with the scanner or just keep driving it until it resets itself or gives a code.

Aug 05, 2010 | 2002 Dodge Caravan

1 Answer

How much does it cost to fix a water pump in a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix.


The price of the water pump depends on which engine you have in your car. There are three different size engines for a 2005 grand prix. If your not going to do the work yourself, I cant give you an acurate quote as all mechanics charge differently. You'll just have to go to differend mechanics and get some quotes.

Jul 07, 2010 | 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix

1 Answer

My engine light only comes on sometimes. I took to get inspected today and it read code P0133. What is this and how am I going to pay to get this fixed?


PO133 indicates that your front oxygen sensor is not controlling the engine properly .. thats usually a bad oxygen sensor .... in some cars thats easy to change. you could do it if you have any mechanical abilities .. in other cars its nearly impossible, it takes special tools and patients beyond human .. hopefully yours is one of the easy ones .. the part itself might be less than a hundred bucks at an auto parts store but more than that at a dealership . other things that can cause this ... if the wires going to the oxygen sensor are damaged .. and if there is a significant exhaust leak (you should hear that) .. usually changing the oxygen sensor will fix the problem ..it has wires going to it and it screws into the exhaust system somewhere between the engine and the catalytic converter. if you give your auto parts store the make, model, year and engine size of your car then they can probably show you where to find the sensor .. if you are not mechanically inclined then find a mechanic with a good reputation forget lowest price .. i find that often the auto parts store can recommend someone if you ask ..

Jul 03, 2010 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I have a 2000 honda civi and my engine light just came on what is the problem.


that cant be determined unless a mechanic runs a diagnostic scan for trouble shooting codes which bascilly means they hook up a machine under your dash,it scans all electrical components it will tell you with a brief description the problem,or give you the code at the least,then you can repost and get some answers,autozone scans vehicle free oe charge other wise your looking at 65.00 or so.go to a local mechanic stay away from dealers and fancy shops anybody with a scanner can perform this and it requires the same amount of work just the price is going to be different

Dec 18, 2009 | 2000 Honda Civic

Not finding what you are looking for?
1998 Ford Windstar Logo

Related Topics:

102 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Ford Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75807 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22133 Answers

fordexpert

Level 3 Expert

5495 Answers

Are you a Ford Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...