Question about 2000 Volkswagen Beetle

1 Answer

I need some expert opinions on the following situation with my 2000 VW Beetle. I have had alarm problems with this since I broke the black plastic hood latch and I only have a valet key. I could not even start the car, so I was told by someone that by disconnecting the battery, it would turn off the alarm. It did that, but then the oil light comes on and flashes, and it did not do that before I had changed the old oil, and turned off the alarm. Also, my speedometer and other gauges does not work. Also, my windshield wipers do not work. I have an appointment at a local VW dealership this Tuesday to get a master key made and then programmed. I want to make sure that I priorities what I should have done at the dealership, because I am more concerned about the oil light and gauges not working, because I am able to start the car with the "valet key". I need some recommendations on what I should have done in the proper order, so I can afford it. -Which things should I get down in what order?

Posted by on

  • 2 more comments 
  • chasirvingma Sep 27, 2009

    Hi-Thanks for responding. I did find a 7.5 AMP fuse blown. I only have either a 5 amp or 10 amp fuse to replace it until I go to the dealership or parts place. Which fuse should I use?




  • chasirvingma Sep 27, 2009

    I checked out all the fuses in the fuse box and the only one I said that was bad was a 7.5 AMP and I think it was for the positive battery. For some reason I think there is a ground problem here. The fuses in the engine compartment appear to be fine. The one-30 AMP fuse is fine and then there are 2-solid bar fuses that appear to be ok. If these 2-silver like fuses are bad will they be broken/

    So would you recommend the priority at the dealership of the expensive master key/remote/programming($267 + Tax), and then see if the oil light and gauges work?

    Thanks

  • chasirvingma Sep 27, 2009

    Thanks-I will be having the car towed tomorrow evening to the VW dealership. Thanks

  • Anonymous Mar 11, 2014

    i can use internet and when i go to facebook login it never come up, just give not responding message. Retry, and nothing

×

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 500 times.

  • Master
  • 1,015 Answers

As far as the speedometer and gauges not working...a fuse may have blown when the battery was disconnected and re-connected causing those things not to operate. The oil light might be flashing because the oil change indication was re-set when the battery was disconnected and re-connected or because of the fuse being burned out for the gauges. So I would find the fuse box for the vehicle and pull the fuses and inspect if any are blown before taking it to the dealership. The fuses should be clear and the little metal line inside should not be broken. There will be a diagram inside the cover showing you what fuses are for what part of the car. Look for the gauges fuse and the wiper fuse & check them. You might get lucky just find a couple of fuses blown and replace them to fix the problem. There are usually some spare fuses located in the fuse case. Now disconnecting the battery may have disabled the key code security so you could start the car and it is possible that the gauges/wipers not working and the oil light blinking could be because you are using a non-coded key to start the car & will stop when you use the coded key. Now I suggest you verify that the fuses are all ok but that might be as far as you can go. If all the fuses are good then it will be up to the dealership to fix the problem. Now there will be a fuse box under the dash but there can also be an additional on under the hood. The one under the hood will contain relays and possibly fuses. Electrical issues can be difficult and expensive to fix. Hopefully the dealership is honest and does not try and rip you off. If they give you an outrageous amount to fix the problem I would get a second opinon and if another dealership or mechanic says the same thing then that is what it probably is. If you take it to get a second opinon do not tell that mechanic what the dealership found or quoted you. It sounds like to me just disconnecting and re-connecting the battery should not have done any damage. I would think it is a fuse, relay or simply re-setting the car's computer(the dealer would hook it up to a handheld computer to do this). Good luck and post with more comments if you have any more questions.

Posted on Sep 27, 2009

  • 2 more comments 
  • muebe Sep 27, 2009

    Only replace the fuse with the same amp rating you found. If you do not have one the go to Auto Zone or Pep Boys and buy one then replace it. You might want to by some extra fuses to keep in the fuse box.

  • muebe Sep 27, 2009

    Also verify that the fuse that is in there is the correct amp rating by comparing it with the diagram located on the fuse box lid. Someone may have replaced the fuse with the wrong size. The diagram will say what the fuse should be rated at.

  • muebe Sep 27, 2009

    Well the dealership is the only one that can program the key. Yes, I say you get the key coded because the car is designed to use that coded key and may be why everything is screwed up. You could ask them their opinion about it first. They may need to reset/program the computer after the key is coded. I just hope that when the battery cable was reconnected you did not spike the computer with voltage and damage it. Remember to always disconnect the negative battery cable not the positive. There might be other fuses or relays that got damaged when the battery was re-connected. Those should not be to expensive to replace.

  • muebe Sep 27, 2009

    And yes if the silver like fuses are broken then they are bad. Those fuses are High current fuses.

×

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

How do i remove the hub cap on a 2000 beetle


Removing hub cap of the wheel VW - YouTube

? 0:35
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLYlHWtS4Fw
Jul 12, 2008 - Uploaded by rebuli2008
old beetle. ... removing hub cap of the wheel VW. rebuli2008 ... How to Remove or Take Off Plastic Hub Caps - Hubcaps.com - Duration: 2:54.

How to Remove hubcaps from a VW Beetle Volkswagen Bug

vehicle-maintenance.wonderhowto.com/...to/remove-hubcaps-from-vw-...
Sep 4, 2008 - How to Remove hubcaps from a VW Beetle Volkswagen Bug ... the proper way to take off your hubcaps for your vintage VW Beetle. ..... I'm Having Problems Loosening the Adjuster on My Drum Brakes on a 2000 Isuzu Rodeo.

Jan 31, 2016 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Need copy of fuse location card for 2000 VW beetle. Can you send a copy to me. Thanks, Bill


The fuse panel on 2000 VW Beetle is located behind a plastic cover on the driver's side end panel of the dashboard, door open. See pictures below:

tdisline_359.jpg


tdisline_360.jpg
The fuse panel diagram:

tdisline_18.png
tdisline_361.jpg
tdisline_362.jpg tdisline_363.jpg

Mar 25, 2011 | Volkswagen Beetle Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I have a 2001 Vw Beetle. The front bumper grille


Your best bet is to call & speak directly to a VW parts dept & ask them. U can order whatever parts u need online & probably save $ but call & find out what parts u really need. If its needs a certain paint color only the dealer will be able to order the original parts or u may have to have it painted to your want. Good Luck

Mar 16, 2017 | 2001 Volkswagen Beetle

1 Answer

2000 vw beetle went to start car and battery


Take to dealer. Vehicle needs vag-com to be reprogrammed. Bring all keys with you to dealer.

Jul 27, 2009 | 2000 Volkswagen Beetle

1 Answer

Have a 2000 VW Beetle. The alarm won't turn off!


My 2000 Beetle does same thing (although not all the time). Just found an internet post that suggests there is a problem in the door lock sensor. I assume you are using a regular key - not
the keyless entry - like I am. He also said that you can disable the alarm (also disables the
keyless entry - which doesn't bother me) by leaving the front door AND the rear trunk open and
starting the car up. Seems to work so far. I will get the door lock sensor replaced and turn the
alarm system back on (not sure how yet), and let you know if that stops the problem.

Jul 24, 2009 | 2000 Volkswagen Beetle

2 Answers

2000 beetle ecectric window went down will not come up motor works


Personally, I'd leave this one to the experts...go to a friendly local body shop and have them look at it ($50+ parts)
Good Luck

Jun 25, 2009 | 2000 Volkswagen Beetle

2 Answers

AUTOMATIC 2000 VW BEETLE - SPEEDO NOT WORKING!!!!


NOT REALLY FOR SURE BUT I THINK IT HAS A SPEED SENSOR EITHER ON THE WHEEL OR LOCATED ON THE TRANSMISSION I WOULD CHECK THOSE AREAS.

Jun 15, 2009 | 2000 Volkswagen Beetle

1 Answer

Electronics problem


Get a service manual with wiring diagram.
Check your ground wires for good contact.

May 09, 2009 | 2000 Volkswagen Beetle

1 Answer

Vw beetle alarm keeps going off...2000 beetle


rip out the boy racer sunday mechanic alarm and invest in a decent padlock and chain round seat and steering wheel

Nov 20, 2008 | 2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Not finding what you are looking for?
2000 Volkswagen Beetle Logo

Related Topics:

71 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Volkswagen Experts

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75051 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

7726 Answers

Are you a Volkswagen Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...