Question about 2001 Dodge Ram 1500 Truck 2WD

1 Answer

Emission failure at the inspection station

I recently bought a new truck that I knew needed a little help.When I plugged in the OBD2 to the truck.These are the codes i pulled.

PO135-P0300-P0303-P0442-P0305...I plan on changing the plugs,wires and distributer cap(if needed)Any advice on what EXACIALLY to change.I know one code is for a o2 sensor(bank 1 sensor 1) and one is a EVAP EMISSION CONTROL SYSTEM LEAK(small)....the other 3 are misfires in cylinder 3 and 5.Snd one for a multiple.Please if anyone could clear the confusion so I dont spend more then I eed to please do.I primarilly do all my own work But theis has me a little nervous.thankyou

marco

Posted by on

  • yadayada
    yadayada May 11, 2010

    u need to take to the dealer, u have some serious problems that require a dealer level of testing, don't throw parts at it.

×

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Vice President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 100 times.

  • Master
  • 323 Answers

P0135 is a O2 sensor heater failure and if it is a 3.9 or 5.9 there is a PCM software update for that in a technical service bulletin. P0300 is a combined result of the two misfires. P0442 is a medium evap leak (p0456 is a small leak) which should be easy to find. What I would do first if the engine is running fine, is find and fix the medium leak. It is usually a split in one of the hoses where it has to swell to attach to another adapter or tube. Follow the lines from the purge solenoid back to the tank and you should find it. Look close at the lines at the test port along the way, it usually has a green cap on it. After you find and fix the evap leak, disconnect the battery to blow out all the codes and reconnect again. Then drive it to see if any codes come back. Some codes may be old stored codes that may no longer be a problem. Then address any codes if they come back. I hope this helps, if you have any questions feel free to ask.

Posted on Sep 05, 2009

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
New users get 2 Free calls (no credit card required) and instant help on almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, appliances, handyman, and even pets).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

What can I do to past auto inspection?


Because of lack of information (data) about your inspection, it is hard to tell where the failure is.
For more information about changing catalytic converter. The price can be 10 times different.
The highest quota I got was over $1400 (the golden smog station), the lowest was below $200 (found by state division where I asked for compensation due to old car -- since I cannot go there directly, I paid $325 fro an agent to do it). Dealer was asking for $700.
After changed a home genie catalytic converter, which worked better then the original manufactured till car is dead in another 10 years, I brought it back to the golden smog station for free re-test. The technician did not believe that is a new, and inspected to verify that is true.
This homegenie catalytic converter passed a number of smog tests till car is dead after another 10 years.
BTW, the original manufactured catalytic converter failed on the very first smog check at year 6 or 7 after can was bought, so it is possible you had a failure catalytic converter, but inspection result may tell.

Jul 21, 2014 | 1990 Toyota Camry

1 Answer

PO133 oxygen sensor & PO722 emissions codes


You have both oxygen sensor codes
as well as transaxle

Google the codes

OBD2 code PO 722 & read up

I would not be using any vehicle with trans codes
unless you care to spend thousands when it quits

Mar 07, 2013 | 2001 Hyundai Accent

1 Answer

I recently bought a used 2002 Rendezvous, I do not have a keyless remote, where can I purchase one? ALso, the check engine light has been on since day one, are these lights pretty reliable in this type of...


You can buy a remote for this on ebay.

When the service engine soon light (Also called the check engine light or engine management light) is turned on this is to alert you to the fact that Powertrain Control Module (computer) has detected a failure somewhere in the systems it controls you may not feel any difference in the way the engine runs, this can be the transmission or the engine or emission system, there are fault codes set in the modules memory for these faults. What needs to happen now is to have the powertrain control module scanned with a special tool called an OBD2 electronic engine control scanner or a OBD2 code reader. Once the code(s) are read then you must perform the diagnostics for each code and make the appropriate repairs based on the findings of the diagnosis that was performed, this is called doing "Pinpoint" testing.

Sep 07, 2012 | 2002 Buick Rendezvous

1 Answer

Will an engine bought from a 1999 Silverado originally sold outside of California pass California emissions


There are two type of emission classes.

Federal and California emissions.

Look under the hood for the emission class sticker.
Smog check station's machine in CA are programmed to handle both types.

You do not need to change anything before the inspection.

==== Side notes: You should check the service record for the last Catalytic converter,O2 sensors and EGR valve change.
Service interval for
Catalytic ~180,000 miles O2 ~150,000 miles EGR ~160,000 miles


If you can locate the last smog test (even from out of state) Check for the
CO NOx


Aug 10, 2011 | 1999 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

1 Answer

I have recently purchased a preowned escape and today my abs light came on and is staying on, can you tell me what is wrong with it as I have a 2 year extended warranty on the suv


It is an OBD2 Emission System Malfunction,
as are all lights that you get on the dash

You have a possible ABS Braking System Failure

Mar 03, 2011 | 2006 Ford Escape

1 Answer

Can you turn off the srs lights on a 2002 C320 without a cost?


You can't turn off any OBD2 System lights

You have a system failure that needs to be
diagnosed and repaired ( The Air Bags won't
work if you have an accident)

Trying to disconnect check lights will only
cause you to be rejected at the inspection station

Jan 29, 2011 | 2002 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

2 Answers

Daughter just bought 96 cavalier...ran outta gas now engine light on..went to auto zone tested it it read emissions vacuum he reset computer said should be fine 5 minutes later light came back on..i...


Replace the gas cap and then either ask the auto zone to reset the computer again or disconnect the negative battery cable from the battery for 1 min then reconnect it.

Nov 30, 2010 | 1996 Chevrolet Cavalier

2 Answers

Failing NJ State Inspection for Low Idle emissions. Have replaced, EGR Valve, EGR selonoid, O2 Sensor, Idle Air Control Valve, Spark Plugs, Plug Wires, distributor cap & rotor, all vacuum hoses...


Catalytic converter. It heats up and burns off unburned fuel, if it's original, it's probably worn out. Cheap ones are not the answer.

May 19, 2010 | 1995 GMC Sierra

1 Answer

Our bmw 525i has the light on due to low temp of coolant. We need to get the car checked by the state emissions testor. I would like to reset the light and deal with the minor problem later Thanks


When they start the inspection, the states computer
will read that codes have been recently deleted. This
will get you an automatic rejection. I know it will in mass. I would stop by an inspection station and ask
if your engine temp. can keep you from passing.
But if you wan't to clear the codes. Go by an autozone/napa or advance auto parts. They will clear
the code for free. Hope this helps. Good luck.

Mar 26, 2010 | 2007 BMW 525xi Sedan

1 Answer

OBD works with dealer computer, fails with Registry computer


in mass if the tps light is on it will not pass because it is a safety issue.

Jul 01, 2017 | 2004 Volkswagen Touareg

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

232 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Dodge Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76649 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22219 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8518 Answers

Are you a Dodge Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...