Question about Toyota Cars & Trucks

4 Answers

I passed my inspection but failed because check engine light was on have 2003 toyota sequeia can i turn off check engine light to pass inspection without fixing what the codes say are wrong with car

Posted by on

4 Answers

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Master:

    An expert who has achieved Level 3.

  • Master
  • 604 Answers

Just fix it

Posted on Apr 19, 2017

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Toyota Master
  • 1,831 Answers

No. If you reset it it will have to reset everything and will come up as not ready. Why would you not fix it? It will run better, get better gas milage and last longer. Go to pepboys or advanced auto and they will pull the codes and tell you what they mean. Write the codes down and google search the codes.

Posted on Apr 19, 2017

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Toyota Master
  • 2,030 Answers

You can clear the codes and see if the light stays out but it may return the faults and light up again during the test

Posted on Apr 19, 2017

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Sergeant:

    An expert that has over 500 points.

  • Expert
  • 426 Answers

Some errors will come right back. Some may stay out for a while. I knew someone that got his check engine light cleared right before testing. It would come back about a week later. Don't know what it was.

Posted on Apr 19, 2017

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Car failed inspection,bulb was gone for check engine light. put new bulb in,has voltage but the Check Engine light on dash wont come on.


Probably won't pass. The light MUST come on when key is turned to on, or else something is wrong-maybe the engine computer or maybe the wire from pcm to the diagnostic connector or to the dash.
Now I see you say the bulb has voltage? May need to look into possible fault with the pcm.

Mar 05, 2017 | Nissan Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Turn off or rest check engine light to pass smog


It takes at least one "Good trip" stored in the computer before it will pass a smog check. Simply resetting the light did not fix the problem that caused the light to come on to begin with, and attempting to smog it will only result in a failed test.
You must address the fault first, then reset the system and drive upwards of 150 miles before a "Good trip" has been stored in the computer.

Mar 30, 2015 | 2003 Toyota Avalon XLS

1 Answer

Tried getting ford f150 4.2 2003 inspected. Replaced air filter and fuel filter already. Check engine lit was on before replacing them . Now check engine light is out . But won't pass inspection.


As for your codes p1131 and 1151: Ford - Lack Of Heated Oxygen Sensor Bank 1 Sensor 1 Switches - Sensor Indicates Lean


Last week I had the very same catalyst, evap and ECG codes come up on my 1999 Mercury Mystique which is like a Ford Taurus. A friend was able to find a hole or leak in the hose connected, replaced it and it runs fine. I havent run it a full and straight 50 miles yet to clear the check engine light but that repair alone changed the entire way the car was poorly driving. Im sure that hasnt fixed all the probs but thats a good starting point.

Mar 04, 2013 | 2003 Ford F150 Regular Cab

1 Answer

Reset the check engine light to pass inspection


You may be able to disconnect the battery for a couple of hours to clear the trouble codes, but the correct method is to use a scanner or code reader. The light will stay on as long as trouble codes are stored in the computer.

Aug 04, 2012 | 1997 Toyota Camry

1 Answer

Will my 2001 VW Beetle pass inspection if the airbag light is on and the check engine light is on? I live in Texas and dont know if it will pass.


if the check engine light is on it will not pass, the airbag light will not make you fail but if the engine light is on it will not pass an emissions test.

Mar 31, 2011 | Volkswagen Beetle Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Went to inspection yesterday and my Avalon passed then later that day my engine light came on


The inspectors had to remove your fuel cap to inspect it and might have failed to put it back on tight enough. This is a common problem and will cause your "check engine light" to come on. Check the tightness of the cap and then take your car to any major auto parts store and have them read out the stored trouble code that was set when the check engine light came on. They will do this for free. Copy down the code(s) and then have them erased. This will reset the check engine light. Check the code(s) at the store to see if it corresponds to a loose fuel cap. If so, your problem is solved.

If not, you lucked out and passed your inspection just before a problem cropped up! Use the codes you copied down and get code definitions at the auto parts store. This is the place to start for diagnosing the problem.

Mar 29, 2011 | 2005 Toyota Avalon

2 Answers

How do you reset the check engine light for my 1997 Honda Accord? My catalac convertor is bad and I don't have the money to replace, but I need to get it inspected. I was told I could reset the lights so...


Even if you reset it you will still fail the test because the emissions monitor testing will not be complete. Once the monitors are complete the check engine light will turn on because the cat is bad. Its a catch 22.

If its just a safety inspection you may be able to get away with resetting the light. You can try disconnecting the battery for about a minute. or you can remove the back-up radio(clock) fuse from the under hood fuse block for about 30 seconds.

If you live in the continental US and your catalytic converter is bad your vehicle is not eligible to be licensed for on road use per Federal Emissions Laws.

Jan 11, 2011 | 1997 Honda Accord

1 Answer

I have a 2007 toyota corolla automatic.. I have had the check engine light on and cannot get it inspected with the light on i brought it too a garage and the transmission specialist said that that code...


Any code that puts on the check engine light is a failure for inspection. Your mechanic has given you bad information. What you need to do is fix the code causing problem then drive vehicle for a few days to reset all inspection monitors. You will not pass inspection with a check engine light on unfortunately. Hope this helps.

Dec 22, 2010 | Toyota Corolla Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I have a 2003 Toyota Rav4 and the engine light came on. I had the 02 Sensor replaced but that didn't fix it and Stone Mountain Toyota said I needed my Catalytic Converter replaced and that it would cost...


sorry if the cat is getting to clogged there is no way around it you most replace it because in time it will effect the performance of your engine.

Oct 08, 2009 | 2003 Toyota RAV4

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

32 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Toyota Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75197 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

7782 Answers

Are you a Toyota Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...