Question about 1997 Mercury Sable

1 Answer

Can't pass state inspection, changed EGR valve already, next?

I can't pass state inspection on my daughters 1997 Mercury Sable, changed EGR valve already, disconnected the battery for 15 min. to deprogram codes, drove it for 50 mil.but check engine light pop back on. Went back to Auto Zone to get another part (EGR Valve Pressure Sensor), trying to put it on, but can't find where the part goes. Can someone send me a diagram to how to fix it?

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 500 times.

  • Mercury Master
  • 1,619 Answers

I suggest quit hunting for maybes and rent an OBD code reader which ends up being free when you return it to the auto parts store. Connect it and find out what is causing the CEL condition. Normal issues are the O2 sensor, or sensors in the system.

Posted on Jul 20, 2009

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya Mechanic can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repair professionals here in the US.
click here to Talk to a Mechanic (only for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Mercury sable 1998 WON'T pass smog. Check engine


PO402--EGR Flow Excessive Detected

There are other components besides the
egr valve in that sytem,so you got things to
diagnose there you skipped over

PO443---Evap Control System Canister Purge

Valve Circuit Malfunction


PO1409--EGR Vacuum Regulator Solenoid
Circuit Malfuntion


PO420 & PO430--Catalyst System Efficiency
Below Threshold---Basically worn out exhaust
converters you will need to replace


Advice--take to a repair shop & go thru the entire
car & resolve ALL Issues

Oct 18, 2012 | Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

Have 2001 mercury sable LS changed plugs, wires, egr valve after the computer said it was egr valve. still have a bucking problem. what could it be?


Computers do not diagnose your vehicle
They do not tell you what is wrong or what
to replace.

Study OBD2 Systems

You just got an EGR Code,that
had to be diagnosed

Feb 21, 2011 | 2001 Mercury Sable

1 Answer

1999 Mercury Sable 24v OHC engine, starts normal but when engine begins to idle it runs rough and dies


this is a difficult one..
check for vacuum leaks by possibly a visual inspection and then spraying starting fluid around hoses , intake and so on..if any change, you might have found a vacuum leak/bad gasket.
otherwise, DO clean the Idle Air Control Valve 1st.
then check and clean EGR valve next..

Sep 30, 2010 | 1999 Mercury Sable

1 Answer

Obd2 scanner code reader indicated a p0401 problem with my 1999 mercury sable. What could be wrong. According to the handbook that is given with the scanner p0401 is an egr with insufficient flow.


your egr valve may be bad or you mite be just clogged. take it off and see if there is any deris in egr vavle or the hole on to mounting service if so clean out. if not replace the egr valve.

Nov 16, 2009 | 1999 Mercury Sable

2 Answers

1996 Mercury Sable with a 3.0L Duratec engine. My scanner shows a PO401 (EGR insufficient flow detected)code. I cleaned the EGR valve and replaced the gaskets but the code still shows up. What is the...


Before replacing anything else, it's important to clear the code before determining any more repairs are necessary. You can take the car to an autoparts store that features free diagnostic tests or you can disconnect the negative battery cable for 10 minutes to clear it. If after clearing the code P0401 still appears, then it comes down to 1 of 2 problems:
  1. Replace the DPFE sensor
  2. Replace the EGR valve
An illustration of both are found at the link below:
http://www.chiltonlibrary.com/content/images/9117/images/91174p58.gif

The DPFE is located at #1
The EGR is #2
Best of luck with your Sable.
Greg

Jun 12, 2009 | 1996 Mercury Sable

2 Answers

My problem is dtc p0402 I fail the inspection stiker because of that, my car is a 1997 mer- cury sable 3.0L engine V6


Try removing your EGR valve & cleaning good with throttle body spray cleaner, as well as clean hole under it. Re-install with new gasket & try. If that doesn't work, you may have to replace it.

Mar 27, 2009 | 1997 Mercury Sable

1 Answer

I just bought a 1997 Mercury Sable it was a private sale. Once I got it home the check engine light was on can't remember the code but it when I looked it up it was the canister purge valve. Spent $80. for...


P0401 insufficient EGR flow.

Possible causes:
  • Fault in vacuum supply to EGR vacuum regulator solenoid.
  • EGR valve stuck closed or iced.
  • EGR valve diaphragm leaks.
  • EGR valve or flow path restricted.
  • EGR vacuum hose off, plugged or leaks.
  • VPWR circuit open to EGR Vacuum Regulator solenoid.
  • EVR circuit to PCM open.
  • EVR circuit to PCM shorted to PWR.
  • Differential Pressure Feedback EGR (D.P.F. EGR) sensor pressure hoses both connected improperly.
  • D.P.F. EGR sensor pressure hoses reversed.
  • D.P.F. EGR sensor VREF circuit open.
  • Downstream pressure hose off.
  • Downstream pressure hose plugged.
  • Damaged orifice tube assembly.
  • Damaged EGR Vacuum Regulator solenoid.
  • Damaged D.P.F. EGR sensor.
  • Damaged PCM.



P0443 indicates an intermittent EVAP canister purge valve circuit failure.
Possible causes:
  • Intermittent EVAP canister purge valve or VPWR circuit open.
  • Damaged EVAP canister purge valve.

Mar 13, 2009 | 1997 Mercury Sable

Not finding what you are looking for?
1997 Mercury Sable Logo

282 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Mercury Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

77544 Answers

fordexpert

Level 3 Expert

5636 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22306 Answers

Are you a Mercury Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...