Question about 1999 Ford Escort

1 Answer

My evap system wont ready for inspection

I have run it 100 miles i have driven it at 50 miles an hour for ten minites with the gas tank at one half to three quartes full it still wont ready there are no pending codes

Posted by Anonymous on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Ford Master
  • 3,218 Answers

How do you know there is an evap problem?

Posted on Apr 12, 2015

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

P0452 emissions failure


They allow one not ready,how many do you have?try to reset and how far you can go before light come back.Maybe two,2002 down allow ?

May 15, 2016 | 1998 Pontiac Bonneville

2 Answers

Why do i get OBD/READINESS, Not ready?


Alan, I f you have had battery disconnected or had some one erase codes recently, the computer has to go through what is known as a drive cycle to complete all monitors cycling, some vehicles complete cycle in 10 miles, where as some could take 100 miles or more.
My Toyota EVAP readiness state will not cycle in cold weather and takes thousands of miles before it gets to readiness state.
I think some shops can force systems to run if they have a good scan tool.

Mar 06, 2016 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

CAR WONT GO IN READY STATUS


broken evap line/port on fuel pump. Or leaking fuel pump o-ring
check the EVAP canister it is right next to fuel filter could be pcm needs update to fix false codes. Here is a old hillbilly trick that may help put saliva on the seal of gas cap when you fill up every time that may work for you.

Mar 26, 2014 | 2002 Oldsmobile Alero

1 Answer

Drive cycle


In general terms, the car has to be driven for 50 - 100 miles in various conditions to allow the engine computer to check emissions.
The distance can be in one trip or several, but the engine must be at operating temp and speeds include both city and highway.

Feb 10, 2014 | Kia Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

2004 CHRYSLER CONCORDE LXI P0441


Did you have the codes erased after the repair ?
The evap system has several parts that could cause the code.
The system applies pressure to the fuel tank every few minutes and checks for leaks. If any are detected, or if the system will not hold pressure, the light comes on. A common problem is a faulty gas cap but I don't know if that will set a code 441.

Jun 25, 2012 | 2004 Chrysler Concorde

1 Answer

I can't get an inspection sticker for my car because it keeps failing inspection because the computer will not reset. Every time it does the same thing. When they test the OBDII Readiness it says the...


Every time you reset the light or disconnect the battery it completely resets the system and it has to go through EVERY test again. The O2, EVAP, and Cat tests are generally the LAST THREE tests that are tested. You're not doing yourself any favors here.

Essentially what these readiness monitors are is the computer's notation that his has run the self diagnostics on each system and that the results feel into the expected results. If it is outside the expected results the computer will generally try to run the test multiple times before setting a DTC and turning on the Check Engine Light. It cannot set the status to "Ready" until it has a successful test within expected results; sometimes multiple successful tests. Sometimes, the tests need to run at different speeds - so the vehicle has to be driven not only at freeway speeds, but also city speeds for the tests to complete properly.

The O2 test MUST complete before the Catalyst test can run. The EVAP test generally requires that you have your fuel level at between 1/4 and 3/4 and that the vehicle sit undisturbed after being driven for a period of time for no less than 8 hours in order to run the EVAP test.

The same can be said for the O2 test sometimes because the computer needs to test the O2 sensors reaction to heating up and cooling down. Eventually they will all complete - unless there is an issue. I have seen where a component was in the process of going out and the computer was getting both GOOD and BAD results when running the tests. As a result it wouldn't set ready status because it wasn't getting the concurrent GOOD test results.

As a Texas Recognized Emissions Repair Facility - my shop sees this kind of stuff all the time.

Good Luck.

Jun 01, 2011 | 2006 Mazda 6

1 Answer

Service engine light on,needed 02sensor,replaced reset light off,drove 100 miles ,went for inspection says catalyst and evaporation sytem not reset


you may have a cat thats on its was out. also whats the fuel system at ? if you have 1/4 tank or full tank it will not test the evap system and there for wont set the monitor. or you just havent met the right condtions

Sep 05, 2009 | 2001 Oldsmobile Silhouette

1 Answer

I have a problem with my 2001 Toyota sienna, took it to inspection yesterday to get inspected and didn't pass results Cat not ready and evap not ready, inspector tell us run the car couple miles and bring...


If the "evap not ready" readiness monitor never clears and you keep getting P0440,P0441,P0446 type codes, then you have a problem with the evap system. You have already tried the gas cap (good start) but there are about 6 other things it can be from electrical VSV air valves (there are 3 of them, 2 under the hood, 1 near the charcoal cannister (behind fuel tank) to 2 air operated valves on the front of the same cannister. There is also an air line that goes to one of the electric VSV valves on the air cleaner under the hood. Several oil change places have been guilty of pullling these off and not reconnecting them.
We have a page with pictures of our experience,

http://www.findonefindall.com/toyota-sienna/toyota_sienna_evap_P0446.htm

Apr 21, 2009 | 2001 Toyota Sienna

1 Answer

Failed Emissions test. OBD II not ready. Code for Low EGR Flow. Found EGR port clogged in intake plenum. Removed plenum and cleaned port, replaced all gaskets, check egr valve with vaccum(OK),...


Rich:

The trick to setting all the monitors is:
Make sure you have more than 1/4 tank of fuel but no more than 3/4.
Clear codes then Do Not cycle key off. Start vehicle and drive,make sure you do at least 2 minutes of steady spead between 40-50 mph and at least 2 minutes at 50-65 mph, usually about a 20 to 25 mile drive will set them..
If you turn the ignition off before the monitors complete then EVAP will have to see a 6 hour cold soak before it will attempt to run again.

Mar 24, 2009 | Mercury Sable Cars & Trucks

Not finding what you are looking for?
1999 Ford Escort Logo

Related Topics:

72 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Ford Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

74896 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

fordexpert

Level 3 Expert

5467 Answers

Are you a Ford Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...