Question about 1998 BMW 318i Automatic

2 Answers

When i Turn my BMW 318i on i will see inspection on the dashboard can anyone explain to me what it means and what i should do.

Also there is an airbag warning icon on the dash but i cant remove it.

Posted by on

  • blessing nhende
    blessing nhende Apr 05, 2015

    Thank you very much guys your responses were of much help.

×

2 Answers

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Scholar:

    An expert who has written 20 answers of more than 400 characters.

    New Friend:

    An expert that has 1 follower.

  • BMW Expert
  • 180 Answers

It basically means to change the oil. The reminder cycles between "oil service", inspection and "inspection II". The order is oil service, inspection, oil service, inspection II, repeats. The inspection checklist is in the owners manual and each inspection one or two includes the oil change. It's basically the equivalent of the 30000 and 60000 mile checkups. The service intervals are based on the amount of fuel consumed so the actual mileage will vary. After you change the oil you need to reset the indicator. There is no push button sequence to do that on that early model Bmw. You must do a manual reset. Open the hood. Look for a round screw-on cap about the diameter of a tennis ball. Under the cap you will find a 21 pin connector. The pins are numbered. To reset the indicator use a wire or paper clip to short pin 7 to pin 19 while the ignition is in position 2. Hold for about 10 seconds then remove the wire. Turn the ignition to off then start the car. There will be 5 green lights where the word inspection used to be. The lights disappear one by one to show the the oil life remaining. After the greens are gone then there is a yellow light and then a red light to tell you that you are over due. The lights look like little rectangles. Be careful with the reset to use the correct pins. Touching the wrong ones together may cause serious damage or blow a fuse.

Posted on Apr 03, 2015

Testimonial: "thank you very much your response was very helpful"

  • dafixa Apr 03, 2015

    Also on the airbag light, you will need to have the codes read with an SRS code reader. The dealer definitely can for about 120$ or maybe a local mechanic can at least read the code to tell you what might be wrong.

×

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    New Friend:

    An expert that has 1 follower.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 29 Answers

Newer or luxury vehicles have reminder sensors for routine check ups on vehicles after so many miles like oil changes and air filters you will need to find the sequence to reset the light. Also I am not sure about the air bag. Might be a loose,wire connected to the air bag

Posted on Apr 03, 2015

Testimonial: "thank you very much your response was very helpful"

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

There an orange indication on the dashboard of my bmw 318i shaped like an engine.


That means a fault code has been loaded into the computer memory. You will need to connect a scan tool to the ODBII port and read the code to determine what is wrong.

Dec 11, 2014 | 2001 BMW 318i

1 Answer

I just bought my 2007 bmw 318i, and I just realise


Yes. It's in the speedometer area now. Press the BC button on the steering column to rotate thru the info.

Oct 21, 2014 | 2007 BMW 318i Touring

1 Answer

How do i turn off bmw 318i airbag light


check for code to find the problem.

Jul 02, 2014 | 2001 BMW 318i Automatic

4 Answers

Bmw 318i se e46 airbag light on


you need the scanner to diagnose this problam if no scanner needed then it will be on http://www.vehix411.com all for free how to diagnose the airbag all in video and also how to reset it without a computer cheak it out it might help you

Jan 30, 2010 | 1999 BMW 318 ti

1 Answer

BMW 318i SE Airbag light


something in the airbag system is at fault. it could be the airbag(s) itself or any of the sensors that detect a crash to deploy the airbag. i would really take it into BMW and have it checked & repaired. the airbag(s) will not deploy with this light on so your safety is at risk if you are ever in an accident..

Mar 06, 2009 | 1997 BMW 318

1 Answer

Bad Relay Airbag showing on the Dashboard


Hey,
take a look at www.airbagmodul.com

They're working in Airbag-Simulators and Occupancy Sensor-Simulators.

Regards

Gerrit

Jan 07, 2009 | 1988 BMW 5 Series

1 Answer

BMW 318i SE Airbag light


this problem is most commonly caused by the rotating contact under the steering wheel (also called the clock-spring contact), it has developed and open circuit, the airbag control/diagnostic monitor senses this and disables the airbag system

Dec 09, 2008 | 1999 BMW 318 ti

1 Answer

Battery or radiator light on a 1999 BMW 318i SE


The below is taken from another site written a year ago:
What you are looking at is the Service Indicator. The green, yellow and red lights let you know when service needs to be performed. The green lights mean everything is still good. The yellow lights mean "anytime you're ready." The red lights mean do the service ASAP. There are also two other lighted areas. One says "inspection," the other says "oil change" (or oil service.) An oil change is an oil change. However, there are two inspections: Inspection 1 is normally at every other 15,000 miles; Inspections 2 is at every 30,000 miles. Your local BMW dealer should have a pamphlet listing all duties performed for each of the services. Inspection 2 can run you around $400-$800 depending on the service station/dealership's labor rates. Inspections 1 should be around 1/2 of that. You should have your oil changed about every 5000 miles. Dealership oil changes can range from $35-$65. A BMW that is well taken care of will last a long time. 

FYI, don't be surprised if the SI (service indicator) board decides to **** out one day. I'm surprised to see yours is still working (they usually die within 10 years unless someone went thru the expense to have it replaced.) If/when it does go, just gauge your services by the mileage intervals I've listed above. I'd also recommend when you stop into (or just call) the dealership, go to the parts department and order an owner's manual for your BMW. Should be less than $20 and get to you in about a week unless they have one in stock.
When the service tech has performed the necessary service(s), he will reset your SI board so that only green lights are showing.
  • 1 year ago

Dec 09, 2008 | 1999 BMW 318 ti

1 Answer

Air bag reset 2003 318i


if the light does not go off there is somthing wrong they might have to replace the seat belts the seat belts have triggers in them when you get in an accident the triggers go off and they need to replace

Dec 03, 2008 | 2002 BMW 3 Series

Not finding what you are looking for?
1998 BMW 318i Automatic Logo

153 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top BMW Experts

Frankie B

Level 2 Expert

65 Answers

Fred Sops

Level 2 Expert

272 Answers

Doberman

Level 2 Expert

254 Answers

Are you a BMW Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...