Question about 2001 BMW 330

2 Answers

I would like to reset inspection reminder on the onboard computer

It began to count down at 5000ks and is now at -850.phone the dealer and was told it would cost a minimum os 500$,

Posted by on

  • gucci_female Jun 25, 2009

    thx i was actually thinking of getting the oil changed.. its about 100$..a little cheaper.

×

Ad

2 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

    Corporal:

    An expert that has over 10 points.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 21 Answers

If you have a 2001 BMW 3 Series, it does not take a visit to the dealer to reset the Inspection I or Inspection II indicator. You can locate instructions for how to reset it after it triggers here.

If your OBC needs to be reset after completing your oil change, there are two ways.

NOTE: If you miss a step, just turn the key back off and try again:

A. Model Year 1999 to Mid-2000: You should have the older round 20-pin DLC connector under your hood behind the battery terminal, you need to use a small length of wire to connect (short) pins 7 and 19 for 3-5 seconds with the ignition key in position 1 (Accessory). B. After Mid-2000: You should not have the 20-pin DLC connector. You only need to hold the left odometer reset button while turning the key to position 1 (Accessory). Keep holding the button for 5 or so seconds until any of the following shows in the display: OIL SERVICE or INSPECTION with RESET or RE. Release the button and press it again for another 5 or so seconds until RESET or RE flash. While the display flashes, press the button one more time briefly. If done correctly, END SIA should show up for a few seconds.

That said, its very important to perform the services suggested by BMW for Oil Service, Inspection I and Inspection II. I have a 330 and I would not recommend reseting this indicator without performing the services recommended at the prescribed intervals first. It will greatly improve the longetivity of your car and reduce the likelihood of mechanical failure.

Posted on Jun 30, 2009

Ad
  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 20 times.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Expert
  • 115 Answers

That's how they get you. you need a scanner to reset it. try looking for a small shop possibly one that deals with european cars. they might charge you less to do it. they should reset it for you if you let bmw change the oil for you.

Posted on Jun 25, 2009

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Reset computer disconnecting battery


The fact you say that disconnecting and resetting the computer tells me the following::
This sounds like it is going into "Limp mode" a mode the computer puts the vehicle into when it detects something is wrong , or sometime is programed to do this when the vehicle is way overdue for its service, I would suggest that you take it to a reputable dealer and ask them to read the computer to see what fualt codes are showing , this should help solve the mystery or at least point you in the right direction.
The onboard computer is forcing the vehicle into the "Limp Mode" your dealer yould know this and should have checked the onboard computer first

Oct 13, 2017 | Cadillac SRX Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

How to reset the service message on my 2011 Mercedes E550 Convertible


Dealer or shop with an OBII scanner has to reset service messages. I suspect it's just a service reminder, being it's so new. They probably want to inspect all break-in fluids, etc... Common w/Benz

Mar 06, 2011 | Mercedes-Benz E550 Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

The scheduled maintenance light has turned on. What do I need checked/replaced?


For the above head computer display, press the STEP button until you see the screen indicating that there's 0 miles remaining for scheduled maintenance. Then press and hold the reset button until that value returns to it's default state. This alarm is simply a mileage count down alarm to remind you of oil changes, air filter changes, etc. Resetting it will clear the alarm.

Oct 19, 2010 | 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee

1 Answer

When accelerating dogs down


yes just about any repair shop can reset the computer as long as they have an obd scanner.

Feb 11, 2010 | 2001 Ford Focus

1 Answer

Maintenance light is on. I was told to disconnect


Maintenance reminder light that's all it is, to reset needs to be done with snap-on scaner or OTC scaner. Most repair shop can do this for you for a small fee.

Jan 05, 2010 | 1992 Jeep Wrangler

2 Answers

Just recently had an oil change and service and now my VW Polo 2001 indicated "Service Inspection". What does it mean?


As in, you recieved a lanp on the dashboard that says "service inspection?" If this is the case, it's likely corresponding to a major service interval, such as 15,000 or 30,000 miles. I honestly do not know the reset proceedure for that lamp, but if you have had all major systems checked recently (brakes, tires, belts, hoses, fluid changes/checks) I wouldn't worry too much about it. It's telling you to see your authorized dealer for a glorified oil change. the Stick

Dec 10, 2009 | 2001 Volkswagen Golf

1 Answer

My oil/inspection light is down to two bars, and I do my own oil changes, but I do not have a scan tool, and I would like to reset this light. How do I do it?


Look in your owners manual. Go to the area where it explains each part of your dashboard and what all the idiot lights represent. Whereever your maintenance reminder is should have a explanation to what it means and a page to get more info. Somewhere in those pages there will be a list of things to do to reset the maintenance reminder if someone other then the dealer do the maintenance. Should be pretty easy to do.

Good luck

Oct 08, 2009 | 1993 BMW M5

1 Answer

Service light comes on


This is just a reminder that you need to have the vehicle serviced. It comes on every 5,000 miles or so. Here are instructions on how to reset the light - http://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/2008/12/reset-service-light-volvo-850-s70-v70-c70-xc70/

Jan 06, 2009 | 1993 Volvo 850

3 Answers

2006 Ford Explorer "Oil Change Required" light is still on after changing the oil


IF YOU FIND THIS INFO USEFUL PLEASE RATE ME AS A FIXYA! THANKS

Oil Change Reset
A press of the OIL CHANGE RESET switch will allow you to
reset the oil life feature to 100% (or your Personalized Oil Reset
Percentage). After you have the oil changed, you must execute
the following procedure. Press the OIL CHANGE RESET switch
and hold for five seconds as the M/C counts down for five
seconds. After a successful reset the Message Center will display
“OIL LIFE RESET TO 100%.” If you have established a
Personalized Oil Reset Percentage, the display will show that
percentage instead of 100%. To ensure accurate oil life
indicators, perform this reset procedure only after an oil change.
Your Personalized Oil Reset Percentage allows you to establish a
smaller oil change interval than the manufacturer’s
recommended interval. To establish your Personalized Oil Reset
Percentage perform the following procedure:
1. Press and hold the OIL CHANGE RESET switch and press
the RESET switch while the display is still counting down
the 5 seconds to reset. The display will change to “START
OIL LIFE AT XXX%.”
2. Press the OIL CHANGE RESET switch until the displayed
percentage is the Personalized Oil Reset Percentage that you
desire. Your choices are 100%, 90%, 80%, 70%, 60%, 50%,
40% and 30%.

Oct 15, 2008 | 2006 Ford Explorer

1 Answer

2003 Golf. How do I reset the Service Reminder


Hi.
I think you will find that this can only be done via the onboard diagnostic system. A part of the service procedure will be to check the system for fault codes, and when this has been done the reminder will be reset. You could either go to a VW dealer, or if you are technically minded you could buy a £15 interface cable, download some free "VAG diagnostic software" and run it on a portable computer.

It's always handy to know what the garage is going to tell you in advance!
Hope this helps. D

Jul 19, 2008 | Volkswagen Golf Cars & Trucks

Not finding what you are looking for?
2001 BMW 330 Logo

514 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top BMW Experts

Anthony Jones
Anthony Jones

Level 2 Expert

128 Answers

Chris Bowser

Level 1 Expert

18 Answers

Nyte_Ryder

Level 2 Expert

102 Answers

Are you a BMW Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...