Question about 2000 Chevrolet Suburban

2 Answers

Failed state inspection...front rotors need replaced

How do you remove front rotors from a 2000 Suburban 1500 4wd?

Posted by on

2 Answers

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

    Corporal:

    An expert that has over 10 points.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 2 times.

  • Expert
  • 34 Answers

A repair manual is very helpful koz of torque specs.raise & support truck. remove wheels,remove brake caliper & mounting bracket dont let calipers hang or you will damage flex hose use coat hanger for support. remove bearing cover,cotter pin &nut &outer bearing. lay parts out in order u take em off! if rotors are going to be turned leave inner bearing & seal in place.inspect bearings & spindle for damage, score marks assembly is reverse.when tightening spindle nut til play in bearings is gone. be sure to use hi temp quality wheel bearing grease before reassembly.when play is gone slightly back off nut then snug back up note holes for cotter pin.line up hole to next one closest.DONT BACK NUT OFF! if your gettin new rotors they might come with bearing races already installed. dont forget the seals for inner bearing on rotor. GOOD LUCK!

Posted on Jun 03, 2009

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Vice President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 100 times.

  • Master
  • 253 Answers

Remove the wheels, then on the back side of the rotor will be two bolts holding the caliper on. Remove them, then there will be two more bolts holding the caliper mounting bracket on, remove those, and the bracket. The rotors will slide off. If you have never had the brakes done there will be two metal washers holding the rotor on to the studs, cut them off with a chisel. They are only there to hold the rotors on during assembly line operations. Good Luck

Posted on Jun 03, 2009

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Hello...I have a '95 GMC K2500 Suburban with a 5.7L that failed a recent emissions test. I replaced the spark plugs, removed and cleaned the EGR...cap, rotor wires look OK...truck re-tested worst


Retarding the timing will cool the combustion which will lower the Hydrocarbon number,it will run bad but after a passed e test put the timing back to an advanced state which may help with the stumble.

Jul 22, 2017 | 1995 GMC Suburban

2 Answers

1991 gmc suburban when I break to stop it shakes?


This is a indication that the brake rotors are warped and either need to be machined or replaced.

Mar 12, 2011 | 1991 GMC Suburban

1 Answer

I replaced my front btake(both) 6 month ago when driving loud noise coming from the fronti can feel the brade pad grinding against the rotor when I turn


If you Failed to Tighten Any 1 of the Caliper Floater BOLTS and it Has Fallen Out This Will Cause the Noise you Discribe. Remove the Wheel from the SIDE YOU SUSPECT the NOISE is Coming From and INSPECT the Caliper and Pads, If the Bolts ARE there and Tight Check the Brake PADS and If they are Worn DOWN to Metal The Problem Is LIKEKY the Caliper Has SIEZED UP and Needs REPLACED along With Brake PADS and ROTOR.

Jul 01, 2010 | 2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT

2 Answers

My Suburban steering wheel shakes from side to side at speeds over 40 and gets worse when I brake. Sup with that?


Check for bulge on front tiers /also if when braking it sounds as thou the rotors are warped have a front brake inspection, there maybe 2 situations. if you need any further assistance please feel free to ask Thank you.

Apr 04, 2010 | 1994 Chevrolet Suburban

1 Answer

Replace front brakes and rotors


first take off wheels, then check if it is a star screw or a normal bolt, then remove the bottom bolt, remove the top bolt, and take the caliper off to access the pads and to remove the rotors, then back together the way it came apart with some anti seize on the face and bolts. Sometimes you have to pound the old rotors off...

Mar 08, 2010 | 2005 Chevrolet Suburban

4 Answers

The light ABS is on aND THERE IS A NOICE ON THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL


These definitely sound related. Need to inspect to see if it's something loose (like a wheel sensor) or the brake pads need replacing, etc. etc...

Charlie

Aug 23, 2009 | 2003 Chevrolet Suburban 1500

1 Answer

1999 suburban front brake rotor - need mininum thickness


Call your local parts supply store or dealership. They will have the information you need.

May 21, 2009 | 1999 Chevrolet Suburban

2 Answers

1989 4X4 SUBURBAN FRONT ROTORS


I have had a similar problem on my 82 Jimmy when I wanted to replace my 6 lugs (bolts) on the wheel. I guess, you have to remove the hubs to bring out the rotors. I myself searched on the net for a detailed pic, but did not succeed. I however saw my mechanic do it on mine. You need to carefully remove the pins, sleeves, springs etc. in the hub. Some clippings / locks / pins might seem hard to take out, but little inspection would make it easier. Some special tools such as a pointed tip plier might be required to release certain pins.

Anyway, best of luck :-)


By the way, I am having problems with my 4X4 lately. I got the lugs changed and the mechanic seems to have mis installed the hubs. Now I sometimes have a grinding sound underneath, a couple of times (even when 2 wheeling and hubs released), Today the wheels did not lock and I could not get out of sand. To my embarrassment, a land cruiser had to pull me out. Can some one help ?

Nov 14, 2008 | 1989 GMC Suburban

1 Answer

Engine not starting


check all connections the stater and altenator especially and you may have to replace the cap and rotor on the distributer

Sep 27, 2008 | 2000 Chevrolet Suburban

Not finding what you are looking for?
2000 Chevrolet Suburban Logo

144 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Chevrolet Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75797 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22114 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8140 Answers

Are you a Chevrolet Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...