Question about 1996 Toyota Tacoma

1 Answer

96 tacoma failed inspection because O2 sensor was ''missing bolt''

My 96 tacoma just failed a state safety inspection because the O2 sensor was ''missing bolt,'' as it states on the report. I replaced the O2 sensor myself just recently. There are two bolts and both are there. The sensor cord is fastened in place to the carriage. I have no idea what this mechanic is talking about. Anyway, did I miss a bolt?

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Toyota Master
  • 14,036 Answers

I heard failing inspection if your HC AND CO emissions is high.not bolts.take it some where else.

Posted on May 29, 2009

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of.(from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones)
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I change both o2 sensor but the code is still coming on the wires ok what can be the problem


Usually an O2 sensor code is a result of another problem. Your problem is coming from the motor & the sensors are just reading it. Bad wires,coils, plus, vacuum leaks even low coolant or running hot will give you O2 sensor codes. Sounds likes you should start on wires themselves. Is it running rough? Missing? Check the plug wires & coils first. Disconnect the batt to clear the codes & take it from there. Good Luck

Sep 23, 2015 | 2002 Toyota Tacoma

1 Answer

I got a po136 code when i change the exhaust box can it be the o2 sensor or the exhaust


This code indicates the downstream o2 sensor has failed. Make sure there are no exhaust leaks near the sensor causing false readings. If the connector/wiring is ok replace the sensor

Jul 24, 2015 | 2002 Toyota Tacoma

1 Answer

P0171 bank 1 lean- is this a maf or o2 sensor?


could be several problems:

MAF could be dirty or faulty

exhaust leak between engine and first o2 sensor

low fuel pressure or sticking/plugged fuel injectors

failed o2 sensor

pcv valve failed or stuck open

cracked vacuum or pcv line/connection

vacuum leak downstream from MAF

Apr 19, 2014 | 2000 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner

1 Answer

Mixture rich


what codes do you have could be o2 sensor -mas airflow- ect-iat

May 27, 2013 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Air bag light going off and on. Don't want the


CANT DISABLE AIRBAGS NEED TO HAVE AIRBAGS CODE SCAN AND FIX THE PROBLEM.AIRBAGS IS A SAFETY FEATURE WITH CAR LIKE SEAT BELTS.YOU CANT REMOVE EITHER IF YOU DO YOU WILL FAIL STATE INSPECTION.THEY WONT PASS STATE INSPECTION IF CAR MISSING SAFETY FEATURES OR AIRBAGS AND SEAT BELTS DONT WORK YOU WILL FAIL STATE INSPECTION.

Sep 02, 2011 | 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

1 Answer

My 2000 Toyo. Tacoma Prerunner TRD V6, truck Failed smog due to the part #3 Functional Computer Tests due to an erased MIL. But had passed the Visual Inspection, and Emissions. So i bought a Code reader...


there are 2 sensors in the system
one is a heated oxygen sensor (HO2S) in the exhaust manifold / pipe before the cat converter that reports the exhaust gas composition to the ECM so that fuel/ air ratios can be adjusted
if that one is faulty it is most likely the reason for running lean or rich
the second sensor is the oxygen sensor (O2) which is after the cat converter and reads the results of the cat converter cleaning the exhaust
you may have to replace both the sensors to get a clearance or replace the cat converter as well as the HO2S unit

Jun 02, 2017 | 2000 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner

1 Answer

I got a p0141 code on my 2001 tacoma v6 what is the problem


p0141 indicates that the heater in the upstream (#1) oxygen sensor has failed. It will take longer for the O2 sensor to heat up, taking longer for the computer to go into closed loop, which burns more fuel. Replacing this sensor is pretty easy, I believe it involves removing one plug and two bolts. After it's replaced, any auto parts store with a code reader can turn the check engine light off, for free.

Dec 20, 2010 | Toyota Tacoma Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

Have p0130 and p0133 codes 98 toyota tacoma


check the mass air flow sensor there maybe dirt on the filiment inside the sensor causing false readings. cleaning or replacing it may make the codes go away.

Oct 28, 2009 | 1998 Toyota Tacoma

1 Answer

96 Toyota Tacoma lacks take off power and stumbles


Any trouble light? Sounds like it might be misfiring during acceleration which is more related to ignition quality than timing. Check the spark plugs--if badly worn, replace them. Might need new spark plug wiring. Check the air cleaner. Replace the O2 sensor if the truck has a lot of miles. Look for loose or cracked vacuum hoses.

Jul 14, 2009 | 1996 Toyota Tacoma

4 Answers

I have a 2001 Santa Fe and the Engine light is lit and has been for many years. When I took the vehicle for the State Inspection I was told that the Co2 needed to be changed so the light would come off and...


The best thing to do is go to Auto Zone and get your Hyundai scanned for a DTC code. That would tell us which O2 sensor has gone bad. You have three O2 sensors and one of them has gone bad, the O2 sensor sends signals to the ecm to control the air fuel mixture so it will not run to rich or to lean which is causing you to fail the state inspection. Good luck and keep me posted on what the DTC codes are, be glad to help.

Jun 25, 2009 | 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe

Not finding what you are looking for?
1996 Toyota Tacoma Logo

Related Topics:

211 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Toyota Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76848 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22246 Answers

Jeffrey Turcotte
Jeffrey Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8589 Answers

Are you a Toyota Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...