Question about Buick Cars & Trucks

Open Question

2004 Buick Regal failed inspection in Sept. due to water leak in module which had to be replaced to pass inspection. Since then I now have water sloshing in dash but not leaking onto floorboard. Is

When module was replaced, the suspect seemed to be the vinyl boot that seals the windshield upon manufacture of automobile. It seemed logical that rainwater had gotten down into dash and found its way into module under passenger seat. The heat and humidity was suspect in the warping. It has since been sealed off temporarily with duck tape and is as tight now as when tape was put on immediately following module fix. Tape was temporary fix until money became available to order and install new vinyl boot. I drove 12 hours to NY during the nor'easter and encountered constant rain and downpours. I now have this water in my dash and it only started after that trip to NY in October. I am almost afraid to drive it for fear it will just quit after shorting out all the electronics in the dash. Please help.

Posted by Anonymous on

Ad

6 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of.(from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones)
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad
emissionwiz
  • 76848 Answers

SOURCE: A/C Still Leaking water on the passenger floorboard

You need to clear the plugged condensate drain on the AC box, it is down low on the passenger side inside the engine compartment..

Posted on Aug 21, 2008

Ad
  • 2692 Answers

SOURCE: 2001 VW Jetta Leaking Water

Th cowling let in fresh air for the heateer and defroster, Their is a drain in the bottom of the cowling or heater ductwork which allows the water to escape before going into the car. I woudl gues that the drain is stopped up..

Posted on Dec 28, 2008

mosthated357
  • 91 Answers

SOURCE: Rain water leak

Yes Ive had this happen to my Toyota corrola and my dodge there are 2 different reasons why this is happening 1 of them it depends on if you have a sun/moon roof if so theres a vent in there so if any water or anything goes in it reroutes it too the outside of the car if its cloggeed water will spill into the car like that and just leave puddles the second thing is if you have it parked outside with trees all around theres vents up on the hood where the windsheild meets the hood they clog up so if you look along the back firewall which is under the hood all the way in the back theres a hole that gets clogged you need to clean that out and the easiest way to do that is get someone with a air compressor and blow air in that holke to push it all out it should fix all your water problems and if you have any questions let me know ill be glad to help, also please rate me.

Thanks,
Steve

Posted on Jan 04, 2009

  • 1 Answer

SOURCE: fluid leaking onto the front passenger side floorboards.

2004 TB 60,000 miles. i was just told that the leaking fluid in my passenger side floorboard was do to a clogged up A/c hose. An A/C works by drying/ removing the moisture from the air inside the vehicle and cooling it. The accumulated fluid is usually evacuated under the vehicle which is what you see when people are stopped at a red light and there is dripping under their car. when a hose is blocked there is a vent that from some reason flows directly into the passenger side floor board. If you can not manually knock loose the block your probably going to have to take it to a mechanic.

Posted on Jun 14, 2009

  • 1 Answer

SOURCE: Have a leak under passenger side dash when it rains. I think the door under the cabin air filter isnt closing is it an easy fix

Having just repaired this problem in a 1998 Buick Regal, I can tell you that fixing the water leak is actually quite easy. It took me quite a while to track down the source of water, but I have discovered that it comes through the cabin air filter. There is a seal on the passenger side of the cowl (A two piece unit, black plastic, against the windshield) that seals it to the windshield to prevent water infiltration. It is very small and somewhat hard to miss. I took the cowl off to change the filter when I discovered this.

You can make a diverter to go over the air filter under the cowl, or even easier is to use some clear RTV silicone (avalible at any automotive and most hardware stores) and put a good bead on the old seal. When you re-install the plastic cowl, be carefull where it goes against the windshield to make sure you don't "smear" the silicone. After you re-install the plastic retainer hardware, smooth out the bead and clean up the excess silicone(a wet finger and some old cardboard works great). Let it dry and clean up the water in the passenger compartment.

Cleaning up the water is the hard part. Removing the plastic trim around the door (if you grasp the trip peices firmly they just pull up off some metal clips,but they can be quite stubborn) you will notice the carpet just pulls up. At the bottom front corner of the front doors the carpet has a plastic hook that is around one of the trim clips. Lift it off that and the rest of the carpet towards the firewall just pulls up. If it has been a long problem, your carpet may be moldy. Also, the carpet edges and some of the more hidden panel clips are very sharp and may cut you while you are poking around, so be carefull.

Since the water entered through the air filter and right over the fan, you will at minimum want to replace the filter. I had mold and moss growing on mine. My fan also squeels and chirps now, so I know it got wet. Not much to do about that but replace it or carefully lubricate the motor.

In your question you mentioned a door underneath the filter not closing. On my '98 Buick Regal there is no door or valve of any sort. The filter sits right above the fan blades. It is the cowel's job to prevent water from entering this part of the vehicle. I hope this helps you fix your problem.

Posted on Jun 22, 2009

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

2000 Buick regal sunroof won't close any suggestions


Could be due to failure of the sun roof switch, the limit switch module, the sun roof actuator, the sunroof module or the 30A PWR WINDOWS PWR SUN ROOF CIRCUIT BREAKER in the I/P fuse block.

Sep 18, 2016 | 2000 Buick Regal

2 Answers

2000 buick regal bypassing the passlock system


You can totally do it. There is a company out there that makes a bypass module that will eliminate everything.


25845208-nd10l5cmlmmhkhcmjpciakmr-1-0.jpg
Do It Yourself GM Security bypass

Sep 01, 2015 | 2000 Buick Regal

1 Answer

What cause my 1995 buick regal to jerk at 55 just before passing gear,i do have a leak in front tranmission line would that be it


Stop any oil leaks as the transmission requires exacting oil pressure to do the job. Any leaks reduces the pressure so gear changing is affected. Besides when do you know if the oil level has dropped below operating level and will be insufficient for the gear box.

Mar 23, 2013 | 1995 Buick Regal

1 Answer

On my 2004 buick regal my number 6 cylinder mis fires i have replaced sparkpluge and wire sill misfire y is his


Spark Plugs should be replaced every 3 years,
in my world

Wires are only replaced after ten years or more, or when they
fail, on a secondary ignition test,not just so you can be sold
something called a tune-up that really is non existant

Plugs seldom misfire,they just wear down & stress the ignition
system

A misfire is caused by ignition coils,modules,vacuum leaks,
egr & such

Just have to go thru all the scan tool data at a repair shop &
on a road test, then component test or look for the obvious

Feb 19, 2013 | 2004 Buick Regal

1 Answer

1983 buick regal water leakage


Is it clear water or coolant ?
Clear water could come from the a/c or a drain for the cowl or roof.

Aug 02, 2012 | 1983 Buick Regal

1 Answer

My 98 buick regal looses coolant I have recently flushed system out, replaced water pump & thermostat but my I keep loosing coolant dont see any leaks i will fill it up & in a couple of days its...


Take look down by the belt tensioner. There are two by-pass tubes that run from the tensioner to the engine. The by-pass elbows have rubber seals on them and after the coolant flush may have damaged or ruined the seals.
The only other option is the coolant is going into the engine oil or transmission oil. Check both oils and see if they look "milky"
Good luck.

Nov 21, 2011 | 1998 Buick Regal

1 Answer

Water leak 1998 Buick Regal front passenger side soaks floor board


Your heater code is leaking. This is located behind the glovebox. You will see the core is rusted through and will require replacing.

Aug 31, 2011 | 1998 Buick Regal

1 Answer

Why do my fog lamps fill with water on 2003 buick regal


Hi, the reason your fog lamps is filling up with water is that the seal between the outer lense and the backing part has failed, now their is no way of repairing this as once the water gets in its to difficult to get out and seal again.
The only option you have is to buy new fog lamps they are not expensive to buy and are easy to replace.

What causes them to leak like this is when they get hot and cold due to the sun being on them this causes the plastic to stretch and then shrink when it cools again, this then causes the bonding between the two halves to fail allowing any condensation and water to form inside the fog lamp.
Failing to change these lights could cause the electrics to short out and then this could cause problems with the fuses and wires in the car so changing this as soon as you can to prevent further damage to your car.

Mar 19, 2010 | 2003 Buick Regal

1 Answer

AC quit working.


Please ensure the system does not have a leak or that the compressor clutch circuit have failed. These two areas are less costly to diagnose then the climate control module you are to replace.
The front facia panels are secured with clips and some screws careful removal will safe the clips for reuse. Good luck!

Jul 08, 2008 | 2000 Buick Regal

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

17 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Buick Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76848 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22246 Answers

Ronny Bennett Sr.
Ronny Bennett Sr.

Level 3 Expert

6927 Answers

Are you a Buick Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...