Question about 2005 Toyota Corolla

1 Answer

For inspection ...it reads "not ready"

Brought my matrix for a NY state inspection and the readings came up as "not ready" the only answer the dealership could give me was that I didn't put enough mileage on in the past year and did not exhilarate enough where I drove over 60 MPH. does this make sense? no one I asked ever heard of this.

Posted by on

  • petalrose177 May 15, 2009

    No have had no trouble that wld require battery to be disconnected. That's what I don't understand. They say it is due to low activity...no long distance driving , locally at low speed. only put 4,000k on it this year.

  • yadayada
    yadayada May 11, 2010

    did u disconnect the battery before this inspection to clear a check engine light? system not ready means that the cars self diagnostic electronic control system (known as OBD 2) has not finished running it's internal tests of the various emission system functions, this takes around 20-30 miles of mixed driving

×

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Top Expert:

    An expert who has finished #1 on the weekly Top 10 Fixya Experts Leaderboard.

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

  • Toyota Master
  • 76,164 Answers

They are right, if the right combination of driving is not done the system will never clear out of it's not ready status, the manual calls this the drive cycle test. Have/ask the dealer give u a copy of the page in the factory emissions repair manual that describes the way u must drive the car to clear the system and make it ready for testing.

Posted on May 15, 2009

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Need the correct number and or location for the PCM fuses and the heated O2 sensors,EGR Vaccum regulator, EVR solenoid, camshaft positionsensor fuses on a2003 focus in the interior and exterior fuse b


To start with, if the check engine light is not on, you probably don't need to check any of the components.
The engine and systems have to get up to operating temp and go thru the closed loop program a few times before the exhaust can be checked.
The printout you have says the engine and exhaust have not been hot enough yet.
The correct process to make the components ready to test is - drive at 55 mph for at least 12 min with no stops or variance in speed. Then 0-35 mph at least 4 times, and make sure you make complete stops each time. This should run the emissions system thru a complete drive cycle.
Some state testing is different so check with your state.

Feb 13, 2013 | 2003 Ford Focus

2 Answers

I put a new battery on my 2008 Chevy Equinox. I took it to get the inspection done and I was told that there has to be so many miles on my new battery before it passes inspection. I was told to drive 60...


It's not the battery itself that's the issue. When you disconnected the battery to replace it, you cleared all the data from the computer. The computer then runs a self test of all systems to determine that they are functioning properly. There are several systems to be tested, and until they pass the test, each system is classified 'not ready'. Some system tests are done very quickly, with only one 'drive cycle', and they become 'ready'. Some systems require multiple drive cycles, and take longer. For some vehicles, specific criteria have to be met. On my vehicle, before the vapor recovery system can be tested, the fuel tank has to be between 1/4 and 3/4 full.

Some testing stations (depending on state) require all systems to be 'ready'. Some require a specific number to be 'ready', e.g., seven of nine. Find out what the requirements are, and which systems still need to complete testing, then check with a dealer for your make/model to see what is required to complete testing for that (those) systems.

Apr 25, 2017 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I cannot inspect my car because it reads is not ready yet. I used a actron code reader and I had one code that turn out to be the ox sensor by cat. I changed it. When I went back to autozone to get codes...


Basically take the car for a long drive .
Stop off get gas , drive to a shopping center( need a few on/ off starts). Few hard braking , few not so hard braking. reverse when possible . Gotta figure about 30- 50 miles of driving.

May 10, 2010 | 2002 Mazda Protege

1 Answer

Computer problem


Make sure that you insert the right information in your OBD ll reader such as engine model,type of an ignition system,year of made of the car,model of the car and another information requested from the program.There is no reason to not get access if all the information are correct.

May 05, 2010 | 2002 Volkswagen Cabrio

1 Answer

OBDII COMMUNICATION FAILURE


If your engine light is coming on, then there is a code somewhere in the computer,it may be a pending code.Its possible your computer is bad. Have your computer tested.

Apr 09, 2010 | 2003 Saturn VUE

2 Answers

1990 honda civic


The emissions test may vary from one state to the next. For example in NY the 1990 model would not have to have an emissions test, which for newer vehicles is part of the Inspection.
The safety inspection includes:
front and rear brakes
parking brake for a manual tranny
All lights on vehicle, turn signals, brake lights
Horn needs to work
Wipers need to work
Tires need to have adequate tread
Any cracks in glass (windshield) need to be within safety limits
on older vehicles, mechanic may also look at steering linkage, brake lines for severe corrosion.
And basically any malfunction or damage to the vehicle that would place it in an unsafe condition. That could anything from a bumper that's ready to fall off to a gas leak at the gas tank.

Aug 05, 2009 | 1990 Honda Civic

1 Answer

I did not pass smog due to the amount measured for the hc [ppm] test read to high it reads at 711 at 15 mph and 767 at 25 mph what can i do to fix this?


Well, if you didn't pass a state inspection, I can tell you how you may be able to work around it. Depending on state laws for car inspections.....I'll just give you an example: My fiance's car didn't pass inspection, but as long as she paid AT LEAST $200 to try and fix the problem, they HAVE to give her an inspection sticker for the year. We are in NC. Find out the law in your state, if you can't figure out the problem and need an inspection, spend the minimum trying to fix for now.....you'll have a year to figure it out.

Apr 29, 2009 | Chevrolet Monte Carlo Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Obd not ready won't pass inspection


It usually takes more than one drive cycle to clear all monitors to "ready".The vehicle may take multiple "from cold" drive cycles and hundreds of miles to clear all.Drive normally with varied driving and include long coasting down stops.Buy a cheap scan tool ($35) and check monitors as you drive.
DO NOT CLEAR CODES or run the battery dead or you will have to start over!

May 29, 2017 | 2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE

1 Answer

Check engine light on.


Replace O2 sensor. They have to be really hot in order to read right. Did you ensure to drive around a good 30 min to make it hot?

Aug 22, 2008 | 1998 Jeep Cherokee

Not finding what you are looking for?
2005 Toyota Corolla Logo

353 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Toyota Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76164 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22156 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8273 Answers

Are you a Toyota Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...