Question about GMC Sierra

1 Answer

My 2004 K1500 4.8 4x4 won't pass inspection, codes 420, replaced cat bank 1, code 455 now? I had GM dealership do service bulletin on heater blower motor relay and now "service air bag" light is on as well. Just did a tune up, plugs, wires, tranny,etc. It helped rough idle a lot but still will stall at strange time. I feel it's partially electrical because of bulletin on instrument panel cluster which I learned about after I don't qualify for free replacement due to mileage,(118000) and age. It displays different issues with no specific pattern except for "replace fuel cap" at approx 4-5 miles of driving from a cold start and after tank gets below 1/2 tank. I can't afford to replace/repair I need to troubleshoot 1st. I've asked many mechanics and none of them have heard of my symptoms. Where can I can a detailed diagram of the vacuum and fuel lines so I can check for leaks?

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    New Friend:

    An expert that has 1 follower.

    Corporal:

    An expert that hasĀ over 10 points.

    Problem Solver:

    An expert who has answered 5 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 5 Answers

The only solution I can offer is temporary and could help you at least pass inspection.

  • When you fuel tank is near empty.
  • Fill your car with 3 Gallons regular gasoline and 3 Gallons E85 gasoline.
  • Erase the error codes and drive around for a little while.
  • Then get the inspection done.
  • After you pass inspection fill the car the rest of the way with regular gasoline.


WARNING: This is a last resort effort. Prolonged use of Ethanol (E85) in engines not designed for it can deteriorate rubber fuel lines, oxidize aluminum, and dry gaskets causing them to crack.

Posted on Nov 16, 2013

Ad

4 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad
eitan
  • 291 Answers

SOURCE: Rough idle

Jeep has been having a problem with this. i take it u have a 4.7L or a 3.7L. when the when to fix this problem they should of replaced all the valves (intake and exhaust). theres a tsb on this and the dealer can look it up. even if you paid for the service they will fix it for free cuz it wasn't fixed the first time. take it back to the them and tell the to read the tsb and fix it right.

Posted on May 15, 2008

  • 1 Answer

SOURCE: 95 GMC Jimmy 4.3l W vin rough idle

My problem was solved when I repaired my 4 wd activation dash switch. The switch was contacting on 2WD & 4HI at the same time. The front differential activation is vacuum activated possibly creating a tug of war that didn't actually engage it but drained off vacuum from the engine? A theory at best but stumbbled across it because I knew the switch wasn't working properly I repaired it and low and behold rough idle disappeared and all is good for 3 weeks running.

Posted on Dec 10, 2008

  • 1 Answer

SOURCE: 1989 Corvette starting and idle problems

my 89 corvette is hard to start when it is cold, and runs very rough for about a minute. replaced the IAC and Maf sensors had the throttle body cleaned, now it idles very high and emits the same problems. i also had the injectors cleaned.

Posted on Sep 19, 2009

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

P1884 code 2005suzuki forenza P0420 P0134 P0138


code p 420 refers to cat converter system , bank 1--efficiency below threshold ===causes ---cat converter faulty---wiring --heated oxygen sensor (HO2S), 2 faulty
code p 0134 refers to HO2S 1 bank 1-no activity detected ===causes --wiring open circuit -- heating inoperative --- HO2S
also refers to oxygen sensor ( O2S) 1 bank 1--no activity detected == causes wiring ---O2S
code p 0138 refers to HO2S 2 bank 1--high voltage === causes ---wiring short to positive ---HO2S--- ECM
also refers to O2S 2 bank 1 high voltage === wiring short to positive O2S -- ECM
I do not have a listing for code p 1338 but I suspect that it will refer to the other codes in some way
first fix is to check the cat converter is operational ( not cracked and blocking the exhaust system)
next replace the HO2S sensor ( one before the cat converter ) and then the O2 sensor (the one after the cat converter)
all the codes will relate to problems in that area

Sep 01, 2016 | 2005 Suzuki Forenza

1 Answer

How do I troubleshoot code P0420 and pass emissions


code p 420 refers to catalytic converter system bank 1--efficiency below threshold ===causes--- catalytic converter,--wiring---HO2S 2 sensor
could be a bad HO2S sensor or a failed cat converter
try the sensor first as they are cheaper than a cat

Nov 13, 2015 | 1997 Ford Explorer AWD

1 Answer

2004 Cadillac deville with the 4 O2 Sensors. P0141 is code I need to replace (bank 1 sensor 2 - pre cat on Y pipe) . My question is: What is AC Delco part numbe? The dealership says


Your question is incomplete. However, the numbers should be GM 12569429, AC Delco 213-1568. For AC Delco, check part pix at Amazon.

Apr 02, 2015 | 2004 Cadillac Deville

1 Answer

How do I pass vehicle inspection O2 Cat. Evap for a 2004 Chevrolet Cavelier


What was the code given..
02 will mostly sensors..
Cat code 420 will need new cat
And evap codes can b a couple different parts..need exact codes to tell what all is needed for fix

Sep 22, 2014 | 2004 Chevrolet Cavalier

1 Answer

My 2004 K1500 4.8 4x4 won't pass inspection, codes 420, replaced cat bank 1, code 455 now? Just did a tune up, plugs, wires, tranny,etc.


P0455 Evaporative Emission Control System -Leak Detected (Large Leak)

Would appear you have perished hose somewhere along the line but where ? you would need to do a complete inspection to find it ,no idea even where to look with vehicle as not many here in spain .Now as for airbag light well this is a different ball game here but a lot of vehicles will show the light if the battery goes flat and they need resetting with the right software so consult a local mechanic on this on but do check the wires under the seat as you would be surprissed how many time i have found empty bottles and junk under the front seats which have dislodged the multiplug connection

Nov 16, 2013 | GMC Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I've been reading on po420 po430 codes for all


Bank 1 is side no 1 cylinder is located on bank to is opposite Sensor 1 before cat sensor 2 after

Jan 27, 2018 | 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

2 Answers

I just got the code po 420 how do i fix it


Most likely a worn out exhaust converter

PO 420 -- Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank 1)
that is the right or pass side

Rear or Monitor Sensors could be bad ,if converter is less
than ten years old

Aug 06, 2011 | 1996 Ford Explorer

2 Answers

P0133, P0420 and P0430 i went to MCV for inspection and they rejected the car. gave me the above codes. when i went to authorized mechanic, he told me that both the catalyic converters are bad and cost...


code p 0133 refers to heated oxygen sensor (HO2S) 1 bank 1---slow response ===causes ---heating inoperative --- wiring ---HO2S
also refers to oxygen sensor (O2S) 1 bank 1--slow response ===causes ---wiring ---O2S
also refers toHO2S 1 bank 1--no signal====causes wiring ---HO2S
the HO2S is the sensor in the exhaust manifold before the cat converter and reads the exhaust gas composition to report to the ECM to adjust air fuel mixture
For this code the HO2S needs replacing
the reference to an O2 S is the sensor after the cat converter and reports on the cat performance
code p0420 refers to catalytic converter bank 1-- efficiency below threshold ==== causes cat converter ---wiring ---HO2S
code p 0430 refers to the same as p 0420 but cat converter bank 2 causes the same including the HO2S
I would first get both HO2S sensors ( bank 1 and bank 2) replaced then have the fault codes read
if the cat converters are sill showing as the 420-430 codes then muffler shops have cheaper cats that what you were quoted

Dec 16, 2017 | 2004 Suzuki Verona

1 Answer

Keep getting po155 code even after replacing 02 sensor several times with new one from dodge. Had transmission replaced under warranty and have been chasing 02 sensors ever since. All but 1 has been...


this code is for bank 2 sensor 1 only. You need to inspect the wiring harness. Chances are it was damaged when the trans was worked on. Check both sides for the same signals, Both 02 sensors before the cat. If there not the same on voltage then thats where the problem is.

You should have 12v on on of the heater wire and a ground on the other with the key on.. The wires for the heater should be the same color ones. Or you can go to mitchell1diy and for ten bucks get the diagnostic procedures and wiring diagrams.

May 16, 2010 | 2004 Dodge Dakota

2 Answers

Trouble code 00P38 on a 2004 dodge 2500


Bank 1 sensor 2. Oxygen sensor heater control circuit high. You can try disconnecting at connector to sensor, clean connection good, disconnect battery for a minute or so & retry. If it comes back, I'd look at replacing heater solenoid.

Jun 12, 2009 | 2004 Dodge Ram

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

140 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top GMC Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

80407 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22326 Answers

Ronny Bennett Sr.
Ronny Bennett Sr.

Level 3 Expert

6927 Answers

Are you a GMC Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...