Question about GMC Sonoma

1 Answer

It's time for my annual truck inspection but my horn is not working. Are there any fuses that need to be changed or should I look for other physical problems?

It's time for my annual truck inspection but my horn is not working. Are there any fuses that need to be changed or should I look for other physical problems?

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Brigadier General:

    An expert that has over 10,000 points.

  • Master
  • 3,533 Answers

If you have check all of the fuses and they are good check the wire on the horn itself because the plug in on the horn maybe rusted or the horn is bad i would like to give you this number they sell only GM-parts if you ever need a hard to find part it Schram auto & truck parts the number is 1-800-292-1032

Posted on Apr 24, 2009

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Which fuse is linked to the horn. It is not listed on the fuse map.


Hi Bill, one sure way of finding out is doing a physical check by opening the fuse box and start by removing each fuse at a time. As one fuse has been removed. press the horn. On that fuse that has been removed and the horn does not sound, then that's the one.

Jan 17, 2016 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

How do you install a horn button on the dash of a 2002 chevrolet cavalier? From the fuse box or direct from the horn or at the steering wheel ? It is necessary for vehicle inspection in Texas?


To install a horn, Buy a horn button from any auto parts store. mount it under dash in a good place to use it. run a wire from horn connection to proper post on switch, run the other wire to a good power source, battery or fuse box. its the same principle as hooking up a light switch in a house. as long as it cuts the power to horn. it will work. There should already be a ground wire on horn itself. Good-Day!

Jul 24, 2014 | Chevrolet Cavalier Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

My horn sis not working. There was trouble with my car alarm months ago and the repairman removed the after market alarm. However, my car failed inspection today because the horn will click but does not...


Yes, if a car doesn't have a working horn, it would, in most if not all states fail a safety inspection.
If you hear a click, then it could be the relay clicking or the horn trying to operate. Likely, it's just a bad horn or a bad ground connection at the horn relay.

I would take the vehicle back to the repairman and ask about the horn and repairing it, or have the inspector who failed it repair it for you.

Horns go bad on cars due to corrosion or non use over time. I've had a few go bad on motorcycles which were even stored in a garage. Opened one up one time and found rust on the contacts that made it not work or oscillate to make a sound that is audible.

I think that you could locate the horn, and see if all of the wires are physically there, and try a test light to ground it out, as horns should always have power (as long as the battery is charged up) whether or not the ignition is on.

If you ground out one or the other terminals with a test light, at the horn, then it should beep.
If not, then the horn itself is bad.

Replace with new.
It is really that simple.

I have a 1997 Cadillac Deville that wasn't used for a while and the horn went bad on it and it was replaced as one of the items required for Pennsylvania State Inspection.

Nov 06, 2010 | 2001 Mitsubishi Diamante

1 Answer

I want to install a button for my horn, but horn won't work.


yes thats easy till to do but when you take vehicle for its annual mechanical inspection ,then it will fail because its not original .

Jan 23, 2010 | 2003 Honda Accord

1 Answer

Where is the horn located on an mx3. call me at6179093340


if you think iam calling stateside ??from spain---last one i changed for teh annual vehicle mechanical inspection was behind the front bumper(fender)

Oct 25, 2009 | 1994 Mazda MX-3

1 Answer

My horn doesn't work, neither does my cruise control help anyone i need to get my car inspected ASAP


For inspection you shouldn't need the cruise to work but for the horn have you checked the fuse? or relay? Another thing to look for is are the wires both connected to the horn? if all that checks out check and see if power is getting to the horn and also check in the steering wheel to make sure nothing happened there.

Dec 29, 2008 | 2005 Ford Taurus

1 Answer

Horn is not working, check engine light is on


your horn not working is probably due to the horn switch in the steeringwheel

Jul 29, 2008 | 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

255 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top GMC Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75197 Answers

Freddy

Level 3 Expert

1311 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

Are you a GMC Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...