Question about Geo Prizm

2 Answers

Cannot pass inspection. emissions.

Will not pass emissions test. has new Catalic converter, spark plugs. no engine lites on. cannot find egr valve. What do I need to do?

Posted by on

2 Answers

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that gotĀ 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 20 times.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Expert
  • 139 Answers

Go to a place like autozone or pepboy autoparts
tey will the code retriver myth have a factory code
that service is free,if they are code they will explane
wath next

Posted on Apr 20, 2009

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Where is the EGR Valve on a 1993 Geo Prizm Lsi - 1.6L

Posted on Feb 12, 2011

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

Why would my car not pass Georgia Emissions testing?


Can you remember how many miles you have driven since the engine was installed? What I mean is that if you have a good running engine and have a new converter, sometimes the easiest things are the ones overlooked. Check your air filter to make sure it isn't dirty and restricting air flow. Also check your spark plugs to see what kind of shape they are in and if they are burning clean. Spark plugs can tell a lot. If you had transfered any emission related parts from the old engine to the new, maybe one of those items has an issue or is clogged. I hope this helps. Good luck.

Jul 01, 2014 | 1992 Pontiac Sunbird

2 Answers

Fail emission high nox


what is the make ,model and year please

Nov 29, 2012 | Chevrolet Suburban Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

How to install a EGR valve on a 2003 Nissan Xterra


EGR is for NOX

Too Rich a fuel mix is HI CO

Are the front or upstream oxygen sensors over
100,000 miles?
Air Filter new?
Always change oil before inspection & use full synthetic
Spark plugs over 2 or 3 years,won't pass insp
Clean MAF Sensor

Nov 23, 2012 | 2003 Nissan Xterra

1 Answer

95 cougar 4.6l wont pass emissions heavy smoke out tailpipe but runs fine spark plugs are new,no misfires, rechecked plugs and are not oil or fuel soaked. all fluid levels are staying the same. have egr...


YOUR EGR VALVE IS A PRESSURE FEED BACK ELECTRONIC VALVE.IF YOU USE A HAND VACCUM PUMP AND PUMP 5 HG TO EGR VALVE THE IDLE SPEED IS NOT SUPPOSE TO DROP AND ENGINE SHOULD NOT STALL OUT,YOUR EGR VALVE PAST THE VACUUM TEST.PROBLEM COULD BE PRESSURE TRANSDUCER OR THE EGR VALVE INTAKE PORT HOLES WHERE EGR VALVE SIT IS STOPPED UP WITH CARBON.CLEAN CARBON HOLE IN THE INTAKE WHERE EGR VALVE MOUNT TO.YOU CAN USE SMALL SCREW DRIVER OR PIECE OLD CLOTHES HANGER SEE WHAT HAPPENS.

Oct 12, 2011 | 1995 Mercury Cougar

1 Answer

I have a 1998 Ford Expedition 4.6L and I have changed the spark plugs, wires, egr valve, catalic converters including muffler, but my car will still not pass inspection? I also replaced the thermostat and...


I have the same problem few days ago and found my solution on Fixya Expert Sources website. Here you will get all the top sources of your problem. All the sources of this site provided by top Fixya Gurus. Have a good look at the sources of the page. Go through the sources to find your solution. Hope it will help.


View Count:4

Aug 12, 2011 | 1998 Ford Expedition

1 Answer

Will an engine bought from a 1999 Silverado originally sold outside of California pass California emissions


There are two type of emission classes.

Federal and California emissions.

Look under the hood for the emission class sticker.
Smog check station's machine in CA are programmed to handle both types.

You do not need to change anything before the inspection.

==== Side notes: You should check the service record for the last Catalytic converter,O2 sensors and EGR valve change.
Service interval for
Catalytic ~180,000 miles O2 ~150,000 miles EGR ~160,000 miles


If you can locate the last smog test (even from out of state) Check for the
CO NOx


Aug 10, 2011 | 1999 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

2 Answers

My 1997 Honda Civic failed it's Emissions Test. See below the ASM Emission Test Results. What do you suggest I do to get the car to pass the smog test? ASM Emission Test Results: 15mph - RPM = 1587...


Jose, I don't know if this will give you the answer you are looking for because there are many things to consider here. The exhaust gas recirculation valve (EGR) is one of the main things involved in reducing NO emissions. This valve is controled by the power control module. (PCM) This is your vehicles computer. The PCM monitors the vehicles speed and will command the EGR to open when the vehicle attains a certain speed, which is why the ASM test being done is recorded at two different speeds. At 25 MPH your vehicle failed the hydrocarbon (HC) emissions limit and this could be for a number of reasons. When is the last time you car was tuned up? Old spark plugs, wires, clogged air filters, oxygen sensors, leaking injectors (personal experience) or the PCV valve could be contributing to the results of the test. I guess that the easiest way to go is to tune up the engine replacing the spark plugs, wires, air filter and the PCV valve and don't forget to have the oil changed at the same time. Only then should have the vehicle retested and see what the results are. Should it fail again you may have to consider having the EGR or the catalytic converter replaced depending on what portion of the test fails. If the NO fails I would consider the EGR. If the HC fails then I would consider the catalytic converter. Good luck with this.

Apr 05, 2011 | 1997 Honda Civic

3 Answers

Wont pass emissions Co to high new air pump tune up made little diff


Fuel mixture too rich. Is that carbureted or fuel injected?

Sep 26, 2009 | 1985 Dodge Ram 3500

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

516 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Geo Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75822 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22156 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8195 Answers

Are you a Geo Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...