Question about Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

2006 Solaria: went for annual inspection. They said "not ready" and couldn't read computer. No problems with battery; haven't replaced since last inspection. They FAILED me but no idea what the problem is.

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Top Expert:

    An expert who has finished #1 on the weekly Top 10 Fixya Experts Leaderboard.

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

  • Cars & Trucks Master
  • 21,873 Answers

It depends on what actually happened at the inspection station.
If the scanner showed the computer was "not ready" the engine was not warmed up or had not been driven far enough.
If the scanner could not communicate with your computer, you could have a blown fuse for the ALDL connector the scanner plugs into.

Posted on Apr 23, 2013

6 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

lesabre1972
  • 474 Answers

SOURCE: failed inspection cause two diagnostics are not ready --

a lot of systems on OBD2 need to have a week of stop and go plus highway driveing to set the monitors.If they tried to change those items(The belts) to correct the OBD issue then I feel that you did get cheated.

Posted on Aug 16, 2008

  • 6982 Answers

SOURCE: Computer "not ready" for emmissions testing

Your computer will re-set and be "ready" after a certain number of restarts and miles, depending upon how much you use the car it should take from a few days to a week. Surprised the tech didn't tell you that!

Posted on Mar 22, 2009

onyxvu
  • 74 Answers

SOURCE: Computer readiness will not reset. Will not pass insepection.

check all your fuses, there may also be a code about to set. the timeframe depends on your driving habits. or it could be the garage you are taking it to. ask them for a "drive cycle" printout. this is a form that explains the exact driving conditions for your vehicle to reset the monitors. you could also try taking it to autozone- they can tell you if it is ready or not.

Posted on May 26, 2009

  • 172 Answers

SOURCE: What is the drive cycle or vehicle break in for

There isnt any drive cycle or break-in for a battery being changed out. You will need to take your fail slip to a service shop and see what caused the vehicle to fail inspection.

Posted on Jan 06, 2010

  • 1 Answer

SOURCE: on-board computer not ready for emission

This is the biggest flaw in emissions testing. It takes 4 tanks of fuel and 1000 miles of wasteful driving to reset the computer on the FORD TAURUS (I've got a 2000). So much for pollution control!

Posted on Jan 20, 2010

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Random blinking of lights on dashboard, then battery out


Could be a weak or failing alternator. Have it tested.

Jul 15, 2013 | 2006 Hyundai Sonata 2.4

2 Answers

I put a new battery on my 2008 Chevy Equinox. I took it to get the inspection done and I was told that there has to be so many miles on my new battery before it passes inspection. I was told to drive 60...


It's not the battery itself that's the issue. When you disconnected the battery to replace it, you cleared all the data from the computer. The computer then runs a self test of all systems to determine that they are functioning properly. There are several systems to be tested, and until they pass the test, each system is classified 'not ready'. Some system tests are done very quickly, with only one 'drive cycle', and they become 'ready'. Some systems require multiple drive cycles, and take longer. For some vehicles, specific criteria have to be met. On my vehicle, before the vapor recovery system can be tested, the fuel tank has to be between 1/4 and 3/4 full.

Some testing stations (depending on state) require all systems to be 'ready'. Some require a specific number to be 'ready', e.g., seven of nine. Find out what the requirements are, and which systems still need to complete testing, then check with a dealer for your make/model to see what is required to complete testing for that (those) systems.

Apr 25, 2017 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

'01 Audi A6 Quattro wiring problems. Big problems.


all electronics need a good ground point
so all that I can offer is to clean the battery terminals and battery posts to shiny clean and make sure that the battery ground wire is tight on a clean ground point on the chassis or engine
next suggestion is to have the fault codes read and if there are any bad modules , they will show in the codes
if you take it any where and they do not read the fault codes first go some where else as the codes are there to make diagnosing a problem easy.

Feb 28, 2017 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Dead battery, replaced battery and alternator but still no charge!


if its not charging while running at14.5 volts or so you have a charging problem mabey no power to the alternator if its charging at 14.5 or so and the batery load tests good and its going dead over night you have a draw from some component in the system.

Dec 19, 2011 | 1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera

1 Answer

2009 Impala won't start. First message "Service Battery Charging System" Then "Battery Saver Active" Now message reads "Service Traction Control."


turn on your car and remove the ground cable from the battery, if the car dies it's time for a new alternator, if not take your battery in to be checked. The other message(traction control) may be just due to a faulty battery/alternator.

Jul 12, 2011 | 2006 Chevrolet Impala

1 Answer

Our 2006 Chrysler 300, with 45,000miles, had PA and emissions inspections in April - all okay. Last week, engine light came on. Chrysler dealership wouldn't even "computer-check" it for us...


that code has something to do with the intake manifold, and its expensive,, they can do a couple of things which i s why they might have said to make an appt,, first is to update your computer in the vehicle,, second is to fix the parts in question, most people I have talked to say this is still a warranty fix on most cars due to federal emission

Jun 14, 2011 | 2006 Chrysler 300M

1 Answer

I cannot inspect my car because it reads is not ready yet. I used a actron code reader and I had one code that turn out to be the ox sensor by cat. I changed it. When I went back to autozone to get codes...


Basically take the car for a long drive .
Stop off get gas , drive to a shopping center( need a few on/ off starts). Few hard braking , few not so hard braking. reverse when possible . Gotta figure about 30- 50 miles of driving.

May 10, 2010 | 2002 Mazda Protege

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

67 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Cars & Trucks Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75066 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

Randy Ohler

Level 3 Expert

14585 Answers

Are you a Car and Truck Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...