Question about 2001 BMW 5 Series

3 Answers

EMISSIONS INSPECTION FAILED

JUST GOT THE CAR. IT RUNS FINE. I DROVE IT 50 MI. TO GET HOME. THE ON-BOARD COMPUTER IS NOT READY TO BE TESTED. OBD MONITORREADINESS STATUS..CATALYST,,,& EVAPORATIVE SYSTEM,,,& OXYGEN SENSOR....NOT READY.. THE CAR WAS NOT ON THE ROAD WHEN WHEN I BOUGHT IT AND THE BATTERY WAS FINE.. BUT FOR ALL I KNOW IT WAS DEAD A FEW DAYS AGO..WHAT CAN I DO TO RESET THE COMPUTOR ?? THANKS JIM

Posted by on

3 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

This just means that the OBD was reset recently and the car hasnt been driven enough for readings to be given by the OBDII. Just drive the car a while, and then all should be READY. After any OBDII reset, the car must go through a certain number of "Drive Cycles" before the OBDII will emit any readings. Refer to the manufacturer to find out exactly how many, and how to complete them.

Posted on Apr 22, 2009

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 2 Answers

I had a sililiar problem with my 525i. I had the battery replaced twice and a new alternator but battery would still go dead overnught. My local neighborhood mechanic discovered that the headlight washer motor was not shutting off. So as a temp fix we just disconnected the plug located right next to the resevoir.

Posted on Jul 27, 2011

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that gotĀ 5 achievements.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

    Corporal:

    An expert that hasĀ over 10 points.

  • Expert
  • 65 Answers

You can try this unplug the batt. from ground. let it set for 30min.put it back but still you need to replace the main pproblems if this dont work

Posted on Feb 26, 2009

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

2002 Hyundai Elantra that says my on board computer is not ready to be tested. Emission results are: readiness- fail, monitor comprehensive- not ready, monitor EVAP not ready,monitor O2 not ready.


Did you recently clear the trouble codes or disconnect the battery? Once all codes are cleared, the computer will not display systems 'ready' until they go through an evaluation cycle. Some of the systems require a certain number of drive cycles before they will display 'ready'. A drive cycle is usually starting the engine from a cold start (based on coolant temperature) and driving until certain conditions are met. I don't know what the requirements are for your car, but my 2003 pickup truck requires more than 10 drive cycles before it will make the O2 sensors and evaporative emissions 'ready'. Most states only require that a certain number of systems are showing 'ready' to pass emissions certification.

Oct 22, 2016 | Hyundai Motor 2002 Elantra

1 Answer

My 2001 dodge intrepid failed emissions says due o excessive of readiness monitors 'Not Ready'


you must not clear codes or unhook battery after doing what they call a drive cycle which resets monitors to a ready state. http://www.lhforums.net/forums/showthread.php?2755-OBD-II-and-your-Next-State-Inspection
press helpful button

Dec 18, 2015 | 2001 Dodge Intrepid

1 Answer

Drive cycle


In general terms, the car has to be driven for 50 - 100 miles in various conditions to allow the engine computer to check emissions.
The distance can be in one trip or several, but the engine must be at operating temp and speeds include both city and highway.

Feb 10, 2014 | Kia Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I have a Dodge Intrepid 98 my car failed inspection because the obd test came back not ready for testing they told me I had to drive it to restart the computer I just need reinsurance


What they probably said was the car needs to be driven to allow the computer to reset the sensor readings.
If the battery is disconnected or the computer looses memory, the car has to be driven to allow the sensors to function and the system to complete a full test. The drive normally consists of various speeds, highway and city, and it has to get up to normal temp. 50-100 miles is recommended.
The OBD test looks for any sensors or readings that are out of normal range.

May 16, 2013 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Building emissions history to pass smog test


if you are failing emmissions test your evaporator canister is expired replace it and then you and your car will get a green light

Dec 31, 2011 | 2000 Ford Escort

2 Answers

What does code p2189 and p2187 mean on kia sadona 2006 inspection rejected


code p2189 and p2187 = air/fuel mixture too lean on both cylinder banks which in turn generates excessive emissions = failed inspection.
What can cause a lean mixture:
- Incorrect main charge signal
- Intake air system leaking
- Fuel pressure too low
- Volume supply of fuel pump too low
- Mechanical fault in injectors
- PCV valve leaks
- Leaks in exhaust system
- EVAP canister purge valve mechanically faulty (hangs open)
All these must be checked.

Jul 01, 2010 | 2006 Kia Sedona

1 Answer

Did not pass state inspection (vehicle)


First the fault codes,
U110C is No Fuel Level Bus Message
U0155 is No Cluster Bus Message.
Unfortunatly you have to be able to communicate with the instrument cluster with your scanner to diagnoise and I do not think an aftermarket scanner can do this.




Mar 02, 2010 | 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser

2 Answers

On-board computer not ready for emission inspection 02 ford taurus. replaced battery 1 month ago


This is the biggest flaw in emissions testing. It takes 4 tanks of fuel and 1000 miles of wasteful driving to reset the computer on the FORD TAURUS (I've got a 2000). So much for pollution control!

Sep 14, 2009 | 2002 Ford Taurus

1 Answer

Failed Emissions test. OBD II not ready. Code for Low EGR Flow. Found EGR port clogged in intake plenum. Removed plenum and cleaned port, replaced all gaskets, check egr valve with vaccum(OK),...


Rich:

The trick to setting all the monitors is:
Make sure you have more than 1/4 tank of fuel but no more than 3/4.
Clear codes then Do Not cycle key off. Start vehicle and drive,make sure you do at least 2 minutes of steady spead between 40-50 mph and at least 2 minutes at 50-65 mph, usually about a 20 to 25 mile drive will set them..
If you turn the ignition off before the monitors complete then EVAP will have to see a 6 hour cold soak before it will attempt to run again.

Mar 24, 2009 | Mercury Sable Cars & Trucks

Not finding what you are looking for?
2001 BMW 5 Series Logo

633 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top BMW Experts

Frankie B

Level 2 Expert

65 Answers

Fred Sops

Level 2 Expert

272 Answers

Doberman

Level 2 Expert

254 Answers

Are you a BMW Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...