Question about 1988 Dodge Ram 50

1 Answer

I can not get my truck threw inspection for a high idle

I went threw inspection everything passed but the high idle test i replaced the o2 sensor new plugs new wires new dist cap and router new oil and filer new air filter and then back the screw out for the high idle to were it can go no more took it back threw inspection and they failed it again for the high idle what can i do to fix this and fix it fast

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

You are going to have to take it to a shop so they can calibrate the idle, there's two screws you have to mess with and it's not worthy to try to do it yourself, it'd be very frustrating, sorry. It happened to me and it took me months to finally give up, I paid only $60.

Posted on Feb 24, 2013

4 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: failed e-test

O2 sensor helped me but not enough to pass. Loosen your distributor bolts, one on each side, turn your distributor counter clock wise about 1/4 inch and tighten bolts. This will raise your CO but should reduce the NOX. When the vehicle is passed, undo the changes.

Posted on Nov 16, 2008

  • 636 Answers

SOURCE: i have a 99 ram 1500 5.9L that is running rich and

I have heard that if you run the **** out of it before taking it in it will pass

Posted on Sep 08, 2009

Testimonial: "thanks i will try that."

airjer995
  • 5332 Answers

SOURCE: 97 dodge dakota. 2.5 , 5 speed, 2wd, 110k . I have

How about the pick up coil in the distributor? A trick we used to use back in the day was to tap the distributor housing with a hammer, key word tap. If the engine missed or stalled than the pick-up coil was replaced.

Posted on Oct 27, 2010

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

What could cause my bank 1 O2 sensor to keep going bad


For the code pulled was diagnostic trouble code diagnostics done or was the O2 sensor just replaced > What was the code # P0xxx what . There are a number of codes for the O2 sensors on cars . They don't say replace the O2 sensor . diagnostics must be done , electrical circuit testing , plus other tests

May 16, 2017 | Jeep Cherokee Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

1997 ford thunderbird won't pass inspection


has the cataletic converter been punched out to make it more like a resignator?

Jun 04, 2012 | 1997 Ford Thunderbird LX

3 Answers

1989 Dodge D100 pickup 5 spd manual V6 3.9 won't pass emissions. new o2, plugs, wires, rotor, cap, coolant temp sensor, air filter, oil change, total treatment on fuel, new fuel filter, new canister...


you have done everything except replace the heated oxygen sensors in the exhaust manifold pipe/s and run the fault codes
you have replaced a lot of good parts that were not necessary to replace

Jun 05, 2017 | Dodge Pickup Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I just failed my emissions test due to "High HC"


The simplest thing you could do is inspect the connectors to the sensors. You can also try cleaning the intake and the sensors using carb cleaners or tuner cleaner. Check also for vacuum hoses that may have gone bad or could be loose.

May 31, 2011 | 1999 Isuzu Rodeo

1 Answer

Vehicle inspection, pass primary emissions test but failed high idle test HC ppm 559. standard is 220. man at inspection said was missing at high idle,what can cause that??


First either replace or clean the idle air control valve.You can clean it with a non-chlronated brake cleaner and wire brush.Then take the mass air flow sensor off and do the same but don't use a brush just the cleaner only.

May 12, 2011 | 1999 Chevrolet K1500

1 Answer

1989 f150 302 V8 fuel injected emissions problem. Installed new engine from Ford, blew SKY HIGH on low and high idle emissions. Emission numbers were 10-20x max legal limit (over 3000). Replaced the...


the O2 sensor works on one volt .5 is around the running voltage, i would refit the air hose as it will run the converter hotter at idle.

Apr 26, 2017 | 1989 Ford F 150

1 Answer

Failed Smog Test - 4 codes for 2001 Isuzu Rodeo


Tune it up and replace the 02 sensor that keeps setting the codes bank 2 sensor 1. Have your oil and filter changed right before you go for a retest to. That will clear up 3 codes P0300, 0155 and 0154. You might have to replace the fuel sending unit to get rid of P0463 but if the gauge works OK I'd leave it alone.

Jan 12, 2009 | 2001 Isuzu Rodeo

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cars & Trucks Logo

Related Topics:

78 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Dodge Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75797 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22114 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8140 Answers

Are you a Dodge Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...