Question about 2000 Saturn SL

2 Answers

99 saturn sl1 wont pass inspection

I changed the battery almost 1000 miles ago and the inspection guy says the computer hasn't reset itself i have gone three times already and its starting to hurt my pockets. i have driven at 60mph for 100miles and still nothing. please help

Posted by on

2 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Change the thermastat,cost about $15.00. My Saturn SL would not pass either They keep saying the computer isn"t ready. Changed that and drove it around and it worked. Passed with no problems.

Posted on Sep 02, 2012

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Corporal:

    An expert that hasĀ over 10 points.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 2 times.

    Problem Solver:

    An expert who has answered 5 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 9 Answers

Try disconnecting the negative batt wire let sit for 3 mins.reconnect batt should reset the comp.if not pull the pcm fuse from the inside batt box.and i would think that they would be nice enough to hook it 2 the comp and erase the code for u.but if ur light is on go 2 auto zone or advanced auto and have them hook it up 2 there comp and see if they could erase it for u.dont worry if your lights on they do it for free.if the above doesnt work have them check your alt.thers not many more things it could be put your wires.so check your wires .start the car and discont the negative wire from batt while running and if the car stalls its your alt.also make sure all ur wire terminals to and from batt to al are clean

Posted on Jan 30, 2009

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

2002 Saturn SL1, 72K miles. Hasn't been driven in


Single click? More battery is needed. Id change the battery, or slow charge it.
Might also be the security system shutting down the starter. Common on GM vehicles. Heres a link on that. http://vatspasslockpasskeysecurityhelp.yolasite.com/

May 27, 2011 | 2002 Saturn S-Series

1 Answer

I think that my timing chain may be missaligned on a 99 saturn sl1 how do i check that and fixt it with out removing the timeing chain cover


I do not think that is possible, you must remove the cover to see and align the marks. I just replaced timing chain on a 99 SL1 I sold to a friend, and it was off one tooth from the factory. That assumes that no one ever changed it before, has 175,000 miles.

Jul 21, 2010 | 1999 Saturn SL

1 Answer

2001 Saturn Sl1 wouldn't pass smog because computer won't reset


You will need roughly 5 drive cycles for the obd2 to allow you to pass emissions. If you have no other issues with the car I see no reason to get rid of it.

Here is a link of what constitutes a cycle.

Mar 05, 2010 | Saturn SL1 Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

My 1997 saturn SL1 wont pass a smog test..was told when I changed the battery it messed up the computer and I need to reset the computer. How do I do this?


Only service station can reset.If your check engine light is on go to a Pep Boys or auto barn most will read the computer diagnostic for free.( $ 5-10 ) tip might get them to reset it,might.I don't know what a service station charges $ 75 ? good luck

Sep 05, 2009 | 1997 Saturn SL

1 Answer

Computer readiness will not reset. Will not pass insepection.


check all your fuses, there may also be a code about to set. the timeframe depends on your driving habits. or it could be the garage you are taking it to. ask them for a "drive cycle" printout. this is a form that explains the exact driving conditions for your vehicle to reset the monitors. you could also try taking it to autozone- they can tell you if it is ready or not.

Apr 21, 2009 | 2001 Saturn L-Series

1 Answer

RESET COMPUTER SATURN ION 2003


Try disconnecting and then reconnect the battery this just might reset your computer.

Mar 31, 2009 | 2003 Saturn ION

1 Answer

2000 Saturn SL1 started stalling after rear brakes replaced.


check and see where he jacked the car up. he could have smashed the fuel lines

Mar 11, 2009 | 2000 Saturn SL

1 Answer

99 saturn sl1 wont pass inspection


Louis, Heres what you need to do. The "system not ready" is indicating there is an emission device the ECM can't control.
Take your car to Auto Zone or Advanced Auto Parts and ask them to scan for codes, they will do it for free.
Any other issues, like low coolant temperatures, engine missfires, high idles?
Let me know.
Regards,

Jan 23, 2009 | 2000 Saturn SL

Not finding what you are looking for?
2000 Saturn SL Logo

346 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Saturn Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

69244 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22026 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

6817 Answers

Are you a Saturn Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...