Question about 2002 Nissan Altima

Open Question

Can't get my 03 Nissan Altima to pass NYS Inspection

It all started back in September, my car was shaking and sputtering all the time, then the check engine light (CEL) came on. The dealer ran the code and it came back that the Crank Position Sensor need replacing, picked the car up and it was still having the same problem spitting sputtering stalling, then CEL came back on the next day, ran the computer again and it came back #3 spark plug misfiring, changed all spark plugs on the vehicle, 1 day later back to square one again, then computer read #3 coil pack, replaced, and same problem, now computer is reading Cam Sensor, dealer replaced that and I dont have vehicle back (its still in there possesion however problem still there, CEL back on and now there saying that there replacing the Coil pack AGAIN. Its now 9 days into 2009 and I cant seem to get my vehicle to pass NYS Emissions. Does anyone out there know what could possibly be going on here???? I mean its pretty bad when a dealer cant even get this figured out.
Desperate???? PLEASE HELP :_(((((((

Posted by on

4 Suggested Answers

j_del
  • 1586 Answers

SOURCE: wont pass nys emission inspection. check engine

Have the computer scanned (see my tips and tricks section for a free way to do so - click my screenname and go to Tips and Tricks). There are either latent codes (codes which are set but are not tripping a check-engine light) or you have an issue with a readiness code.

Once the codes are scanned, post them here as a reply/comment and I can work with you on solving the issue.

Posted on Dec 16, 2009

  • 3640 Answers

SOURCE: Service Engine Soon light on

as of when they put emission tests on vehicles,if the check engine light is on for any reason, they will not pass it in n.y.s. until the problem or light is off. have the car scanned to find the problem, if no scanner any auto parts will scan it for free.

Posted on Feb 01, 2010

cardenderek
  • 783 Answers

SOURCE: P1320 code appeared and we replaced the cam

i just had the same problem in my bmw 325i. Probably vaccum leak or exhaust leak. Check that nothing came loose in these areas. It takes time for your car to learn the new CPS (cam pos. sensor) so give it a few days and reset the code again and see if it works.

Posted on Mar 12, 2010

  • 136 Answers

SOURCE: the cam shaft code comes up .will it still pass

No.! Specifically say base on what I read. Any warning on dashboard they won't even bother doing the test. Work best if you could erase it and show up there to take the test.

Posted on Nov 02, 2010

Testimonial: "thanks for the information"

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

NYS inspection, the vehicle will pass 6 out of 9 checks but will not do the others, with no pending codes. How can I get it to pass the other three to complete the inspection?


What vehicle do you have and what are the monitors that will not set? Also, in NYS you can have one monitor that is not ready.

Mar 03, 2016 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Secondary vacuum leak


If the check engine light is on it will not pass inspection.

Nov 11, 2013 | 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix

1 Answer

Obd not working 2006 chevrolet malibu maxx unable to have car inspected


OBD2 works for getting codes causing check engine light.
Cannot communicate to NYS DMV to receive inspection.
It will pass inspection. No check engine lights or codes. Problem is communication with inspection machine.

I still do not know the answer to the problem.

Jun 23, 2012 | 2006 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx

1 Answer

I have a 1997 altima. The engine sputters and stalls at times. It will cause the car to buck and shake when stepping on the gas.


Sounds like U have fuel /injecter problems , One faulty fuel injecter will cause the others to do the same.. try replacing U might try replacing ur gas filters first if u haven"t already...

Dec 19, 2010 | 1997 Nissan.5 Altima

1 Answer

Wont pass nys emission inspection. check engine light wont turn off.


Have the computer scanned (see my tips and tricks section for a free way to do so - click my screenname and go to Tips and Tricks). There are either latent codes (codes which are set but are not tripping a check-engine light) or you have an issue with a readiness code.

Once the codes are scanned, post them here as a reply/comment and I can work with you on solving the issue.

Dec 16, 2009 | 1997 Nissan Maxima

1 Answer

I have a 95 nissan altima, its battery went dead two days ago and we jumped it and it started fine and ran fine. Last night it started sputtering and stalling. now everytime i try to start it it runs real...


Make sure the battery and alternator is working. Get battery and alternator checked. It did not jump timing. Autozone will do it free and Walmart will check your battery. Lets try this and get back with me

Dec 11, 2009 | 2005 Nissan Altima

2 Answers

1999 Nissan Altima problem... Today my car had a strange scent. Possibly rubber burning. The next thing my car started sputtering and cutting out. When I pulled off the road, It would not start but seemed...


This could be any number of things, check all of your belts and make sure they are there. Do a visual inspection of the wires under the hood and make sure none look burned. The last thing to check would be the timing belt on the car under the cover behind the rest of the belts. If this has stripped the car could have jumped time and will not let the car run and could cause more damage the more you try to run it.

Sep 11, 2009 | 1999 Nissan Altima

1 Answer

I have a '93 Altima an it starts up fine, but as it runs it-


starts to shake really bad an acts as though it wants too cut off; and as I begin to drive it takes for ever to pick up speed, but as I get pass 40 it starts to run as it's suppose to. Any suggestions of what's the problem?

Dec 15, 2008 | 1993 Nissan Altima

Not finding what you are looking for?
2002 Nissan Altima Logo

Related Topics:

154 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Nissan Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

63242 Answers

Phil Lovisek
Phil Lovisek

Level 3 Expert

705 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

21981 Answers

Are you a Nissan Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...