Question about 1999 Ford Escort

Open Question

Cant get my 99 Ford Escort ZX2 to pass inspection because of not ready codes.

I went to get my car inspected and was told that all of my systems were showing "not ready" Mechanic had the audacity to tell me that I reset them which is ridiculous because I just learned how to check my own oil for goodness sake! I really need to get a quick solution to this problem because if I can't get my car to pass inspection, I cant renew the registration which is coming up very soon. Please help!!!

Posted by on

3 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

  • 341 Answers

SOURCE: not ready computer codes

did you try disconnecting battery to clear codes

Posted on Oct 21, 2008

  • 5481 Answers

SOURCE: 2002 ford taurus check engine

I am going to paste a list of potential causes for a p0460. There is a cure for a dirty reader card and Ford recommends CHEVRON TECHRON fuel system cleaner. Run tank low, put in cleaner, use best gas you can find,avoid your frequent brand.

02-06-2006 06:19 PM #2 TXFO user-offline.png Not Special Enough txfo.gif?dateline=1249691143 Join Date Jul 2002 Location New Braunfels, TX Posts 13,976 icon1.png Re: Fuel level sensor circuit malfunction (P0460)? P0460 - Fuel Level Sensor Circuit Malfunction The PCM monitors the fuel level input (FLI) circuit for electrical failure. The test fails when the signal moves outside the minimum or maximum allowable calibrated parameters for a specified fuel fill percentage in the fuel tank. Empty fuel tank
Fuel pump (FP) module stuck open
Incorrectly installed fuel gauge
Damaged instrument cluster
CASE GND circuit open
FLI shorted to VPWR
Damaged PCM
Overfilled fuel tank
Fuel pump (FP) module stuck closed
Damaged fuel gauge
FLI circuit open
FLI circuit shorted to CASE GND or PWR GND
CSE GND shorted to VPWR
Monitor FLI PID and FLI V PID in key ON engine RUNNING. FLI PID at 25% fill (with non matching fuel gauge) and FLI V PID less than 0.90 volts [for FLI PID at 75% fill (with non matching fuel gauge) and FLI V PID greater than 2.45 volts] indicates a hard fault.

Posted on Jul 14, 2011

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

Serpentine belt diagram 2002 Ford escort zx2


The picture is for a zetec. Let me know if wrong diagram?
26017169-0d1su300qx55v1h5u01lpo5r-3-0.jpg

Dec 21, 2015 | Ford Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Me and my boyfriend just bought a 98 ford escort se. The owner told us that the smog pump was going out and that we would need to buy a new one. The only problem is we can't find one anywhere. We even...


Not sure what state you live in, but if smog systems are not inspected there have all the smog equipment removed. The parts are mostly obsolete because of lack of demand, once they go bad most people simply remove them.

Please take a moment and rate my answer............ Thanks

Nov 30, 2010 | 1998 Ford Escort

2 Answers

I have a 2002 Ford Escort ZX2. The Auto store


This CODE is Indicating that ENGINE COOLANT TEMP is NOT Reaching TEMP HOT Enough to >CLOSE LOOP < This is when ECM takes over ALL ELECTRONIC CONTROLS, . It Basicly Points at A Coolant Temp Sensor that is Faulty or Thermostat that is RATED too LOW. Engine Must Reach 200 - 220 degrees

Aug 28, 2009 | 2002 Ford ZX2

3 Answers

I have a 1999 ford escort zx2 2.ol i got a p1745 code what do i do


Hi,

p1745 - Transmission system problems.

The code for this concern is related to the EPC solenoid in the transaxle.

P1745 EPC EPC solenoid circuit failure EPC solenoid, circuit or PCM shorted or open. Soft/harsh shift feel

The wire to the EPC solenoid is a Yellow and violet wire.The code indicates that the problem is strictly caused by this solenoid circuit. I would suggest inspecting this wire from the trans to the PCM.If there are no obvious faults, replace the wire with a new wire ,eliminating the faulty circuit. Hope i helped you.

Thanks for using ' Fixya ' and have a nice day!!



Jul 12, 2009 | 2001 Ford Escort ZX2

1 Answer

Location of timing pin plug 99 ford escort zx2 2.0 dohc


A p1383 code stands for (Variable cam timing over retarded Bank 1) Hope this helps.

Jun 14, 2009 | 2002 Ford Escort

1 Answer

2002 ford escort zx2 camshaft sensor fit a 99 zx2?


Yes, All the years of the ZX2 utilize the same engine. 1998-2003 are all the same except for ECU programing and the MAF wiring. You should not have a problem.

Apr 07, 2009 | 2002 Ford ZX2

1 Answer

P0171 Ford escort ZX2 2001


to clear the codes, just disconnect the battery (negative) & hold the brake a few seconds, just to drain all power. Hook up the battery.
To do a retest for emissions though - 1st drive it about 40 miles or it will fail again saying the computer isn't functioning right or something. This is what happened to me anyway & still had to pay for another test. Hope this helps.

Mar 17, 2009 | 2001 Ford Escort ZX2

1 Answer

Emission system problem


fill your muffler with SOS pads just before your test a wire coat hanger can remove them after the fact..
good luck its how i got my prelude to pass inspection in vancouver bc canada

Jan 16, 2009 | 1998 Ford Expedition

1 Answer

Not ready computer codes


did you try disconnecting battery to clear codes

Oct 21, 2008 | 2000 Ford Mustang

Not finding what you are looking for?
1999 Ford Escort Logo

Related Topics:

75 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Ford Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75197 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

fordexpert

Level 3 Expert

5481 Answers

Are you a Ford Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...