Question about Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

How do you reset the inspection light - Cars & Trucks

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Master:

    An expert who has achieved Level 3.

  • Master
  • 444 Answers

If it is on there is a problem,End it will have to be check out, If you mean the check engine light. It just can,t be reset.

Posted on Oct 26, 2012

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

When i Turn my BMW 318i on i will see inspection on the dashboard can anyone explain to me what it means and what i should do.


Newer or luxury vehicles have reminder sensors for routine check ups on vehicles after so many miles like oil changes and air filters you will need to find the sequence to reset the light. Also I am not sure about the air bag. Might be a loose,wire connected to the air bag

Apr 03, 2015 | 1998 BMW 318i Automatic

1 Answer

How to reset inspection lights on a r reg 316i auto


if you dont have a rest tool then , go the engine comaprtment look for the round diagnostic plug , with the ignition turned on , put a wire on pin 7 pin conecting to the earth should reset the inspection lights

Jan 14, 2013 | 1993 BMW 3 Series

1 Answer

How to reset inspection light on 2000 bmw 323


You need a tool that plugs in to the computer connector under the dash above your left foot. The most popular brand is Peake, but there are several brands that will work. This tool will reset the oil change light, the inspection light, and the check engine light, and will read out engine control system error codes.

Feb 19, 2011 | 2003 BMW 325

2 Answers

How do you reset the check engine light for my 1997 Honda Accord? My catalac convertor is bad and I don't have the money to replace, but I need to get it inspected. I was told I could reset the lights so...


Even if you reset it you will still fail the test because the emissions monitor testing will not be complete. Once the monitors are complete the check engine light will turn on because the cat is bad. Its a catch 22.

If its just a safety inspection you may be able to get away with resetting the light. You can try disconnecting the battery for about a minute. or you can remove the back-up radio(clock) fuse from the under hood fuse block for about 30 seconds.

If you live in the continental US and your catalytic converter is bad your vehicle is not eligible to be licensed for on road use per Federal Emissions Laws.

Jan 11, 2011 | 1997 Honda Accord

1 Answer

Maintance Monitor states Code B 12. How to reset.?


Got B12 service minder.
B12:
B:
Replace engine oil and oil filter, Rotate tires, Inspect front and rear brakes, Check parking brake adjustment, Visually inspect tie rod ends, steering gear box, and boots, Visually inspect suspension components, Visually inspect driveshaft boots, Visually inspect brake hoses and line (including ABS), Visually inspect all fluid levels and condition of fluids, Visually inspect exhaust system, Visually inspect fuel lines and connections

1:
Rotate tires
2:
Replace air cleaner element (If you drive primarily in dusty conditions, replace every 15,000 miles (24,000 km).
Replace dust and pollen filter
If you drive primarily in urban areas that have high concentrations of soot in the air from industry and from diesel-powered vehicles, replace every 15,000 miles (24,000 km).
Inspect drive belt

Hold trip reset button down then turn key on but do not crank engine over light maint. light will go off after a couple of second

THIS IS HOW YOU RESET IT HAPPY HOLIDAYS

Dec 15, 2010 | 2006 Acura TSX

2 Answers

How do you reset the inspection light for a 2003 bmw 325i


Autozone will do it for free with their device.

Sep 04, 2010 | 2003 BMW 325

1 Answer

Check Engine Light came on.....code was O2 sensors.....replaced myself..... mechanic cleared codes.....Said I had to drive at least 100 miles for reset to register inspection with DMV......Drove nearly 550...


were this oem sensor (original) or after market? some times the after mark are not as good. the miles you did are this stop and go (city) or higwh ,there a certain procedure to reset this computers some cars take longer than othersget your mechanic to do it him self with the scanner or just keep driving it until it resets itself or gives a code.

Aug 05, 2010 | 2002 Dodge Caravan

1 Answer

How to turn the sevice warning light off after oil change ?


BMW Model E39 built from 1996~2000 will have a port like the one shown below. A Reset tool like a Peake R5 or R5-FCX is needed to reset the oil service or inspection service lights after required service.

1) If you have a reset tool then turn your car key to Position II but do not start the car.
2) Turn the cap counter clock wise on the Data Link Connector and insert the Reset Tool
3) Follow the instructions of your reset tool, different models may have different functions however they all create a short in PIN 7 to PIN 19 for a given amount of time.

  • OIL Service Reset requires pin 7 and 19 to be closed for 3+ seconds
  • INSPECTION Service Reset requires pin 7 and 19 to be closed for 10+ seconds


  • 4) Once done, remove the reset tool and close the cap .
    5) Your dash should light up with green lights at this point.
    If the light did NOT reset after the above steps then you might be resetting Oil Service however an Inspection Service is needed.

    Aug 04, 2010 | 1998 BMW 7 Series

    2 Answers

    I am not very mechanical and i don't have time to go to a dealer. i live in germany and i am selling my car. the abs light is on and in order to pass inspection to get the car registered, there can be no...


    On each wheel, there is a sensor with some wires attached to it just behind the wheel assembly. Odds are one of the wires is worn out from the elements as they're all exposed.

    Please don't just pull the bulb because a faulty abs system can cause serious injury

    Sep 09, 2009 | 1996 BMW 318

    1 Answer

    Service air bag light is on in 2005 tahoe


    the only light that matters on the dash for inspections is the check engine light for emissions purposeses, you can un hook the car battery for five minutes and let the codes reset in the computer, how ever i would wait till after u got the car inspected before you did this because it will reset the monitors as well, and that will fail you on the emissions test, if you havent completed the drive cycle yet. if it comes back on take it to an auto garage that has a snap-on modus scanner should be able to take car of it with that, and find out why it is coming on. let me know how it goes

    Mar 31, 2009 | 2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

    Not finding what you are looking for?
    Cars & Trucks Logo

    Related Topics:

    43 people viewed this question

    Ask a Question

    Usually answered in minutes!

    Top Cars & Trucks Experts

    yadayada
    yadayada

    Level 3 Expert

    75822 Answers

    Colin Stickland
    Colin Stickland

    Level 3 Expert

    22156 Answers

    Randy Ohler

    Level 3 Expert

    14585 Answers

    Are you a Car and Truck Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

    Answer questions

    Manuals & User Guides

    Loading...