Question about 2004 Kia Spectra

Open Question

Emissions Inspection I have 2 incompletes for the emissions test. I need to remove one of them to pass PA emissions test.

Posted by on

Ad

6 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of.(from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones)
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad
PyroPCMan
  • 405 Answers

SOURCE: 2002 kia optima wont pass

Reseting the cpu will clear the check engine code however it will not fix the problem that caused the check engine light to come on. The most common cause of failing emissions is the O2 Sensor. This sensor will trigger the check engine light when it is failing. The good news is that the Oxygen senser is pretty cheap and is mounted on your exhuast so it is fairly easy to replace yourself. I suggest replacing your O2 sensor the clear the computer by disconnecting the negative battery terminal and leave it disconnected for a few moments, hook up the negative again and it's all clear. Take your car back threw emmisions and you should be all set.

Hope this helps

Posted on Jun 27, 2008

Ad
arauzvictor1
  • 466 Answers

SOURCE: knock sensor replacement

Turn ignition off. Disconnect knock sensor 3
-
pin harness connector. Locate knock sensor, on cyli
nder block.
On Optima 2.7L engine, sensors are located on both
sides of cylinder block. . Remove knock
sensor from cylinder block. To install, reverse rem
oval procedure.

Posted on Mar 19, 2010

  • 1915 Answers

SOURCE: 2 monitors are showing "not

You need to replace your O2 sensor, that should clear pretty fast-does it switch slowly (talking about the upstream O2 sensor)?

-as to the evap, on some cars they won't test unless the tank is between 1/4 and 3/4 full for an extended period of time, but you might just need a gas cap.

Posted on Dec 23, 2010

  • 100 Answers

SOURCE: Coding P0501 and have spent 800dollars on

What have you replaces so far to try and resolve this problem?

Posted on Jan 07, 2011

simplesol907
  • 22 Answers

SOURCE: My check engine light came on and it's been

On the 2001 Optima you can reset the light by disconnecting the battery for about 15 minutes. If the cap was installed at a shop they should have turned off the light so if it came back on you may have another problem. Do you know hte fault code that was stored?

Posted on Jan 13, 2011

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

How many readyness codes are need to pass inspection on a 97 Ford thunderbird


Most emissions inspections will allow one incomplete monitor as long as the check engine light is off.

May 28, 2017 | 1997 Ford Thunderbird LX

1 Answer

What is the drive cycle of a 2003 grand am


The drive cycle is a series of conditions that you drive a vehicle to prepare the emissions systems for an emmisions test.

the drive cycle that is most common to GM vehicles is the following;

1. cold start vehicle and allow to warm up to driving temperature, then set a load on the engine, ie. turn on radio and A/C MAX and headlights.
2. reverse vehicle for approx. 15-20 ft.
3. from a stop, drive vehicle at 35mph @ 25% throttle for 15min
4. allow vehicle to slow to a near stop without using hte brake pedal.
5, begin driving vehivle again 45mph @ 50% throttle for 15-20 min.
6. check for emissions status and test.

***OBDII vehicles (95-99) can have up to (2) two emissions monitors at unready status for PA and can sucessfully submit a "pass" status.
vehicles that are 1988 (OBDI) are emissions exempt.
067 Pa Code 177 204 Basis for failure

Apr 07, 2014 | 2003 Pontiac Grand Am

2 Answers

Engine Check light


Take it to autozone or another place like it and have them read the codes and tell us what they are.

Jun 19, 2013 | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Sport

1 Answer

2002 Suzuki heat shield


I have never had a problem after removing heat shields. Shouldn't make a difference to any test.

Aug 02, 2012 | 2000 Suzuki Grand Vitara

2 Answers

Does the 89 lincoln requirer emissions testing?


Hi and welcome to FixYa!

Every vehicle is required for emissions testing. I strongly suggest that you have the car conditioned before proceeding. By doing so you'll surely pass it.

Hope this helps and thank you for using FixYa! Have a good one!

Feb 19, 2011 | 1989 Lincoln Town Car

1 Answer

Service emissions system


That will not pass a PA state emission inspection. Don't know what state your in. Take the car to Auto Zone and they will read the trouble code for free. They will let you know what part probably needs to be replaced. You can then buy the part and do-it-yourself or take it to a mechanic knowing what is most likely wrong with it.

May 02, 2009 | 1996 Cadillac DeVille

1 Answer

What can i do without


Everything but the catalytic converter. I live in TN, the emissions test that I have to pass is a sniffer test. I have absolutely no emissions controls on my car, but when it comes time to pass emissions , i bolt the converter back on. Does fine.

Nov 10, 2008 | 1983 Pontiac Firebird

1 Answer

Won't pass due to emissions


O2 senser usually fail.
anything else fail??? did the inspectionstation tell you what need to be done to pass.??
do you have the print out of the inspection????
any machanic should be able to fix what ever the problem is.

Sep 25, 2008 | 1997 Nissan Sentra

Not finding what you are looking for?
2004 Kia Spectra Logo

Related Topics:

30 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Kia Experts

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22219 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76682 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

8531 Answers

Are you a Kia Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...