Question about 1993 Buick LeSabre

1 Answer

What should i do to pass hydrocarbons inspection

I change oil,plugs and wires it read 656 ppm it need to be 220 ppm

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Buick Master
  • 4,977 Answers

You don`t say if this reading is at idle or during the drive portion of the e-test.hydrocarbons is unburnt fuel which could be even an over rich condition such as too much fuel through the injectors or a bad tps switch,map/af sensor,the car could be running too cool indicating it needs more fuel.you don`t say what the other gas readings where during the test as this can help find the problem even if they fall within acceptable readings.you might want to have this checked out at a shop that knows how to diagnoise emmission problems.

Posted on Feb 09, 2012

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Reason for failing emmision hc ppm idle on a 1996 chevy suburban 454 truck


Hi!

First of all, HC (Hydrocarbon) are the residue of petroleum based product combustion. If your HC reading are higher than the OBD2 legal limit (220 ppm), the most common causes could be a leaking fuel injector, abnormal oil consumption, a faulty Oxygen sensor or worn out spark plug / distributor cap / spark plug wire. To be honest, I would need more accurate details such as NOx ppm, CO ppm, CO2 ppm and Oxygen ppm and if there is any repair that have been made on the car recently to give a proper diagnostic.

Warm regards

Mar 16, 2015 | 1999 Chevrolet Suburban

2 Answers

1995 honda civic failed emissions (GA), what needs to be replaced?


Usually changing the spark plugs, air filter and an oil change will fix your problems. If your oil is old, you can get the high carbon. I don't usually change the spark plug wires and I just take the distributor cap off and clean the contacts.

Nov 27, 2013 | 1995 Honda Civic

1 Answer

My 88 buick limited wont pass smog hc is 169 at low idle changed map sensor and oil still wont pass but car runs fine.


Are you burning oil? Does this car still have a catalytic converter? Have you changed spark plugs or air filter recently. There are many causes for a high hydrocarbon reading: burning oil due to rings or valve stem seals; catalytic converter malfunctioning or missing; vehicle in need of a tuneup or air filter replacement. Poor combustion results in high hydrocarbon levels. Good luck with it.

Sep 29, 2013 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I'm barely failing smog due to high hydrocarbons.


Hi Larry, I your position I believe I would take the vehicle for a diagnostic scan and then check the read outs. There could be a problem with any one of a number of sensors but I believe you'll end up with all odds pointing at the cat. Regards John

Aug 25, 2012 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Vehicle inspection, pass primary emissions test but failed high idle test HC ppm 559. standard is 220. man at inspection said was missing at high idle,what can cause that??


First either replace or clean the idle air control valve.You can clean it with a non-chlronated brake cleaner and wire brush.Then take the mass air flow sensor off and do the same but don't use a brush just the cleaner only.

May 12, 2011 | 1999 Chevrolet K1500

2 Answers

My 1997 Honda Civic failed it's Emissions Test. See below the ASM Emission Test Results. What do you suggest I do to get the car to pass the smog test? ASM Emission Test Results: 15mph - RPM = 1587...


Jose, I don't know if this will give you the answer you are looking for because there are many things to consider here. The exhaust gas recirculation valve (EGR) is one of the main things involved in reducing NO emissions. This valve is controled by the power control module. (PCM) This is your vehicles computer. The PCM monitors the vehicles speed and will command the EGR to open when the vehicle attains a certain speed, which is why the ASM test being done is recorded at two different speeds. At 25 MPH your vehicle failed the hydrocarbon (HC) emissions limit and this could be for a number of reasons. When is the last time you car was tuned up? Old spark plugs, wires, clogged air filters, oxygen sensors, leaking injectors (personal experience) or the PCV valve could be contributing to the results of the test. I guess that the easiest way to go is to tune up the engine replacing the spark plugs, wires, air filter and the PCV valve and don't forget to have the oil changed at the same time. Only then should have the vehicle retested and see what the results are. Should it fail again you may have to consider having the EGR or the catalytic converter replaced depending on what portion of the test fails. If the NO fails I would consider the EGR. If the HC fails then I would consider the catalytic converter. Good luck with this.

Apr 05, 2011 | 1997 Honda Civic

1 Answer

1993 S10 Chevrolet Blazer DID NOT PASS THE EMISSIONS TEST FAIL HYDROCARBONS, CARBON MONOXIDE passed NO ppm limit 1500 ,reading 0 , failed CO%limit 0.50 reading 0.84, failed HC ppm limit 90, reading...


what about the air filter is it clean ,silly question i know but you would be surprissed ,does this vehicle have one O2 sensor or two one after the cat as well or is it too old for two O2 sensors ,i know most europeon market vehicles didnt have cats till 1992 and most didnt have two sensors till around 2000 ,also check the two white or two black wires on sensor for 12v these are the heater feed wires for the sensors

Jan 03, 2011 | Chevrolet S 10 Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

Hello 1991 cadillac deville failed for high hc ppm emissions. 973 out of a 220 needed to pass. Egr valve code present. Has original catalitic and oxy sensor too. Runs great when cold but as it heats up...


Your fuel pressure regulator may have failed. See pic below. Find it on top of the engine bolted to the fuel rail. With the engine idling, briefly pull the vacuum hose off the regulator. If gas comes out of the regulator vacuum port, replace the regulator.


download (1)-jnh1p0frnkt3q2fbcpfimq4v-1-0.jpg

0900c1528025ed97-jnh1p0frnkt3q2fbcpfimq4v-1-2.gif

Aug 11, 2017 | Cadillac DeVille Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Failed smog check


How well does the vehicle run?

Assuming that the engine did pass the EGR function test on the emission test results, and the MIL (Malfunction Indicator Light) or check engine light is not on when the engine is running, and if you are not sure when the last time it was that the engine had a complete tune-up, with distributor cap, ignition rotor, spark plugs, spark plug wires, air and fuel filters, then a complete tune-up would certainly help, and if the engine oil and oil filter have not been changed in a while, then they should also be changed before an emission test because long used engine oil traps carbon and it will show up as higher CO on the emission test because the emission analyzer will be able detect the higher CO from the engine oil through the PCV valve.

However, it would seem from those HC readings that there is a vacuum leak, and carefully inspect all of the vacuum lines for any cracks or damage, (especially the vacuum line to the fuel pressure regulator) because cracks in the vacuum lines seem to like to hide underneath the lines.

The emission label under the hood should have the vacuum line routing diagram printed on it, and the vacuum lines should all be checked to be certain that they are all connected correctly.

Here is the firing order diagram for that vehicle to help assist you tune-up the vehicle.


e696e87.jpg

Jul 09, 2010 | 1997 Honda Civic

1 Answer

FAILED EMISSIONS


possible but could be head gasket or valves , or worn rings and is by passing the pistons going straight out the end ...or maby settings are wrong ? try carb cleaner and inspect visually air-filter etc.

Aug 26, 2009 | 1986 Ford Mustang

Not finding what you are looking for?
1993 Buick LeSabre Logo

Related Topics:

57 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Buick Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

75066 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22095 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

7754 Answers

Are you a Buick Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...