Question about 2002 Volkswagen Golf

1 Answer

Service inspection counter on vw lupo

Every year service inspection counter switches on to remind service is due, found how to turn off on the internet last year but have forgotten and cant find it again, i know its 2 buttons to press under the mileage counter but cant remember which 2

Posted by on

  • Anonymous Mar 22, 2014

    When I start my engine it makes a beeping sound, then the mile counter displays ISPN. It was counting down to my service a few days ago, then this appeared instead. Ay ideas? Thanks.

×

1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Vice President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 100 times.

  • Expert
  • 345 Answers

Turn key off.press the right hand dash button ,turn key on(dont start)hold in for 5secs let go and turn the left hand button to the right ,turn key off and service reminder should have gone....

Posted on Oct 18, 2008

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Engine service light is on and all codes are cleared


hi engine service light is different from error codes, this is a system generated thing so its just reminding you that you have a service either due, or one is coming up, its on a countdown via the mileage counter, when it gets close it just reminds you to get it done, this will have to be reset in a different way here is how
  1. With the car started (ignition on), set the LCD odometer readout to total mileage(not trip A or B).
  2. Turn the car off (ignition key to the OFF position).
  3. Push in AND HOLD the button/knob that switches the odometer
  4. Turn key to ON position without starting the car. You will notice the maintenance light blink and go out.
  5. Release the odometer button/knob.
  6. Turn key to OFF position.
  7. That's it! The "MAINT REQD" light has been reset to warn you to change your oil in another 5,000 or 7,500 miles or so hope this helps, please rate and comment thanks

Feb 03, 2011 | 2001 Toyota Sienna

1 Answer

How to reset service reminder nissen primera 04


for most maxima's .. hold the trip counter in when you turn on the ignition .. a few models have a little rubber cork that you remove .. that exposes a push button ..

Aug 11, 2010 | 2004 Nissan Maxima

1 Answer

2004 vw polo 1.9 sdi twist. when i turn on the ignition,there is electronic ''bong''noise,and a spanner icon appears on the mileometer. lasts for about 10 seconds then goes away. only started happening...


hi,
sounds like the service reminder was not reset during the service.
switch off the ignition. press and hold the button on the dash. switch on the ignition. release the button. now twist the button clockwise . the spanner disappears. switch off ignition.

Jul 20, 2010 | Volkswagen New Jetta Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

Just recently had an oil change and service and now my VW Polo 2001 indicated "Service Inspection". What does it mean?


As in, you recieved a lanp on the dashboard that says "service inspection?" If this is the case, it's likely corresponding to a major service interval, such as 15,000 or 30,000 miles. I honestly do not know the reset proceedure for that lamp, but if you have had all major systems checked recently (brakes, tires, belts, hoses, fluid changes/checks) I wouldn't worry too much about it. It's telling you to see your authorized dealer for a glorified oil change. the Stick

Dec 10, 2009 | 2001 Volkswagen Golf

1 Answer

Service light comes on and I can not shut it off even though there is nothing wrong with the car


That's a reminder light that is based on miles traveled (the idea is that at certain mileage intervals the car is due for some sort of service, whether it's a tire rotation, oil change, brake inspection, or general inspection). It is not an indicator of a problem or failure. I don't know the method to turn it off on your car, but a quick google or ask.com search will probably reveal it.

Nov 10, 2009 | 1999 Oldsmobile Alero

1 Answer

Car requesting oil even after being filled up.


This message does not mean the engine is low on oil, it means the oil change is due. if you have added oil, it may mean it is now overfilled. This could cause as much damage as low oil, VW have a system on the vehicle that tells you when the vehicle requires servicing, the next message should be inspection 1. these are the VW service schedules. They are worked out on mileage and the way the vehicle is driven. Take the vehicle to your local decent repair shop and get the oil and filter replaced, and remind them to reset the service indicator. After this all will be well.

Dec 23, 2008 | Volkswagen Golf Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

Erratic idling


are the leads fitted correctly

Oct 15, 2008 | 1999 Volkswagen Beetle

3 Answers

MY VW LUPO IS HUNTING AND MAKING A CLICKING NOISE UNDER THE ENGINE IM HAVE THE ECT CHANGED ON SATURDAY I HAD JUST HAD A M.O.T IT FAIL CAUSE EXHAUST EMISSIONS WERE TOO HIGH I HAVE SOME TIMES A CHECK LIGHT...


The hunting and clicking is caused by a stuck vapor canister purge valve. The valve is on a vacume line. When it gets stuck open too much air enters the engine at idle or low rpm. This will cause the engine to hunt and stall as soon as any load is put on it if you do not rev it hard. The engine will over-run when coming to a stop and probably stall. It can come and go putting the chack light on. The quick fix is to just un-plug the solenoid. facing the enginebay it is located on the left hand side just infront of the suspention mount it is half balck half blue on every lupo i have seen. unpluging it will mean the car is driveable again but the check light does come on. It is 100% safe as long as nothing else happens that goes undetected because the light is already on. The part is about £70/80 from VW,  they may or may not know what you are talking about but i would not bother going to VW. The part is easy to find at a scrapyards if there are Lupos / Polos.  A number of other VAG cars share the part as well.  Any other problems come along to clublupo.co.uk 

Jul 17, 2008 | Volkswagen Fox Cars & Trucks

2 Answers

1999 audi a6 quattro wagon


No sweat. This is a periodic reminder that your car is due for some sort of servicing, usually based on mileage. It may say "service oil" or "inspection" or some other indication along those lines. This is not related to a check-engine light, which tells you that you have something wrong with your car. The inspection reminders are manually resettable with the small stalks on the instrument cluster, and are meant to be reset each time a service interval is reached and that service is completed.

On my A4, the reset is this way: with the ignition off, hold down the stalk on the right, by the odometer, and turn the key on (don't start the engine). The display goes to "------". Pull out on the other stalk to reset it. Turn the key off, and release the right-hand stalk. When you turn the key back on, the indicator should be cleared. It may be different on your A6, but try it that way and see if that clears it.

Jul 07, 2008 | 1999 Audi A6

1 Answer

Idling clatter on vw lupo


Hi

If this is the 3 cylinder Lupo then it could very well be the timing chain getting noisy.

Its around about a 3 to 4 hour job if I remember rightly, so at a VW main dealer labour costs would be over £200 ($400) plus around about £120 ($240) or so for the parts (chain and tensioner).

These are English prices though, so although I've put dollars in brackets, prices may still differ.

Just as a matter of interest, the main cause of chain stretch is lack of servicing, oil changes to be exact. If the service schedule is kept up then a timing chain will last several hundred thousand miles.

Very best regards

Geordie

Jun 02, 2008 | 1999 Volkswagen Golf

Not finding what you are looking for?
2002 Volkswagen Golf Logo

Related Topics:

1,202 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Volkswagen Experts

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

22082 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

71856 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

7036 Answers

Are you a Volkswagen Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...