Question about 1996 Dodge Avenger

1 Answer

Can not pass inspection

1996 dodge avenger my computer is saying not ready for everything and the battery was never disconnected

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

?how can i replace the battery in dodge avenger

Posted on Dec 27, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

My 2001 dodge intrepid failed emissions says due o excessive of readiness monitors 'Not Ready'


you must not clear codes or unhook battery after doing what they call a drive cycle which resets monitors to a ready state. http://www.lhforums.net/forums/showthread.php?2755-OBD-II-and-your-Next-State-Inspection
press helpful button

Dec 18, 2015 | 2001 Dodge Intrepid

1 Answer

How to read diagnostic trouble codes for a dodge avenger. the smog technion failed my smog due to system malfution light obd2 not ready?


Was the light on or did the tech say the system was not ready? They can be two different things.

A light would need to get scanned or a code reader attached to the car may do it. Most auto part stores will hook up a code reader for free and let you know what codes are present.

If the light was not on but it stated system not ready on the smog machine that can be due to the battery being disconnected. Its basically saying that the computer needs to go through drive cycles so it can test the its systems.

Oct 19, 2011 | Cars & Trucks

1 Answer

I am replacing my car computer I like to know how to reset the new computer


Before you start, make sure your negative battery cable is disconnected. Once the new computer is installed, reconnect the battery cable. Since the "new" computer isn't connected to a power source, everything in its memory should already be reset, and it will be ready to go.

May 08, 2011 | 1996 Dodge Intrepid

2 Answers

I disconnected my battery now it won't pass smog check


if you didn't have a check engine light on before you unplugged the battery, you'll be all set once you drive the truck for a couple more days. the engine control module on 1996 and newer OBD2 system vehicles run emissions system checks called readiness monitors. each system check requires a certain "drive cycle" or driving condition and situation. for example, your heated O2 sensor check requires you let the vehicle run at idle from cold startup for a certain amount of time. somewhere around 5 minutes. so i suggest you give it 3 days or more to be safe before you go back for a re-inspection. better yet, go to a local parts store and ask to have them check your readiness monitors. make sure they don't clear the monitors or any check engine codes!!!! you'd have to start all over again.

Feb 17, 2010 | 2001 Dodge Dakota

1 Answer

1996 dodge avenger oesnt start after warms up


Go get the battery and alternator tested for free at the auto parts store.  For some reason the alternator isn't charging the battery while your driving.

Nov 18, 2009 | 1996 Dodge Avenger

1 Answer

Emision control does not pass inspection, vaporative system,and secondary air system not ready.


has the battery been disconnected, drained, or computer codes been cleared? all of these will erase readiness monitors in the computer and will have to be driven to reset it's hard to say how far because it varies on different vehicles

Oct 21, 2009 | 2004 Mazda RX-8

1 Answer

Can't pass emissions inspection


TRY DISCONNECTING THE BATTERY CABLE SO THE PCM (COMPUTER) RESETS TO ORIGINAL DEFAULT VALUES. HOPE THIS WORKS FOR YOU. GOOD LUCK

Apr 29, 2009 | 1998 Mazda Millenia

1 Answer

My 1996 tacoma wont pass emmisions because the computer says that it is "not ready" for the test this normally happens after the battery has been removed but my battery has not been touched I've taken it...


Is the engine cold? It will say that if the Oxygen sensors aren't warm yet. Try driving it for 10-15 miles before you have it inspected. If that doesn't work the heating elements might be bad in the sensor and you will have to replace the Oxygen sensors

Feb 27, 2009 | 1996 Toyota Tacoma

Not finding what you are looking for?
1996 Dodge Avenger Logo

Related Topics:

186 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Dodge Experts

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

60867 Answers

Colin Stickland
Colin Stickland

Level 3 Expert

21949 Answers

Jeff Turcotte
Jeff Turcotte

Level 3 Expert

6811 Answers

Are you a Dodge Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...